We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extreme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Extreme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Glastonbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

One of the best locations with some of the nicest people working there too! A great beach with an awesome view of the kiteboarders. A lot of great opportunities to have an adventurous vacation and a lot of fun. I wish I could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collinrisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    61
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
16
54
116
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary with a week long stay at Extreme Hotel. I'll admit that I was skeptical of a place called "Extreme Hotel" and my wife was skeptical of having No A/C. But we loved this place. The rooms were nice and clean and had everything that we needed. The ceiling fans were all we needed, we slept comfortably each night. The staff is so helpful with local information, tips, and advice. The hotel Grounds are beautiful and well kept. The pool, fitness facility and beach front are amazing.

Joel from Texas

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed with a friend of mine at the eXtreme hotel over Memorial Day weekend. I was focused on just regular surfing; she was focused on surfing and kitesurfing. The place is a sort of compound of different sports, including a crossfit gym, kitesurfing, trapeze, yoga studio, and farm. The price was extremely reasonable, the service was efficient and friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable enough, and the people were fun and social. It's a very supportive environment for someone looking for an active vacation, and I look forward to visiting again next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buulozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Staying at extreme was amazing. I've been back twice and am planning my third trip now. The gym is incredible, the yoga loft is the best space I've ever practiced in. besides waking up and surfing regularly, my favorite thing I did in the Dominican Republic was visit extremes farm and go tubing down the river with the other guests. Staying at extreme was amazing. I've been back twice and am planning my third trip now. The staff that works there really creates an amazing experience. Coach Zach really pushes you to work harder and better than you were the day before. Gigi helps elevate and lift your spirit while giving you the best yoga workout ever. Everyone who works there is great; Rob, Sam, Erik... you know they're awesome when you can name them off! CANT WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Two of my friends and I stayed at extreme hotel for two weeks and it was one of the most fun trips I've had in a while. Everyone that stayed at extreme was very friendly and social. Most nights the staff would help organize dinners to go to with the different groups of travelers. This would make it even more fun because we would have people from all over the world hanging out enjoying the Dominican life with you.

The mojito bar at the hotel had really great food and most of it came with 100% fruit smoothies. Unfortunately, they closed down for a couple weeks to help get another mojito bar in town up and running. But for future travelers it will be open and you will love it.

The main reason we came to Cabarete was to learn how to kiteboard and if you are interested in that extreme is definitely the place to be. You get a discount with GoKite through the hotel and it makes learning insanely cheap compared to the US. Its 350 (600 if you're not at the hotel) for 6 hours of lessons and unlimited supervision for 7 days. Now you may think 6 hours isn't enough to learn and so did I but the truth is that you get unlimited hours of lessons because the supervisors are so friendly and always trying to help you. It's also an incentive because the better you get the easier their job gets. My favorite supervisor was Juan Carlos and my instructor was Raul who was also awesome. By the end of the week I was riding upwind and even trying to jump a little.

Overall this was a great trip and I would recommend it to almost anyone. Shout out to Gigi, Ariel, Ned, Robbie, Alex, Raul, Richard, Juan Carlos and the rest of the crew at Extreme for such an amazing trip.

Ps. If you can get the pent house. It is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvg627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I loved waking up each morning and swimming in the ocean. I miss walking along kite beach and watching the Kite Surfers and drinking Mojitos at Mojito Bar. The location and set up at Extreme Hotel for Sweet Retreats at Kaiceitos circus was better than i could have even imagined. A huge thanks to Rob, Gigi, Zach, Erik, Sam and Aerial for aiding to my pleasant stay and Paul and his team at Kaiceitos circus! I just wish i had stayed a bit longer to have had the chance to take up some kite boarding and surfing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennaleenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to eXtreme hotel for a company meeting and had over 30 guests staying and meeting at this hotel. The Staff was great. Helping to ensure our 30 guests were taken care of.
the Mojito bar (the restaurant) has the most amazing food! We ate there every day at lunch of 10 days and never ran out of options on what to eat. Not to mention the location. Hotel and restaurant are right on the Beach. Extreme hotel is about 2 miles from the center of Cabarete(kite beach). I really liked that we were not right in Cabarete as it is just too crowded and Crazy. But if you want to experience that you can hop on a moped for $1.50 and go see the crazy downtown life.
Rooms are simple but nice. It seems that the nicer rooms are on the 3rd floor, the 2nd floor and the simpler rooms are on level 1. So keep that in mind. We had a great time and successful meeting and would for sure go again. Thanks Gigi and Ariel for a great time.

Room Tip: Head to the second or third floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.7 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
1.7 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.8 mi away
Natura Cabana Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extreme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extreme Hotel

Property: Extreme Hotel
Address: Kite beach, km 10. 5, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Extreme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate action sports eco paradise in an amazing beachfront location. Kiteboarding and surfing right out front, a full service crossfit fitness center, yoga loft, Stand Up Paddle boards, Spanish Language School and a full Flying Trapeze and Circus Arts School - all in one fun place. We are have an organic farm that recycles, composts and grows part of the food we serve in our farm to table restaurant. Come on by and enjoy fun for the whole family! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Extreme Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing