We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel El Magnifico is just that!!”
Review of Hotel El Magnifico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Magnifico
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A cosy boutique hotel in a beautifully landscaped garden with the backdrop of the ocean. We stayed in February 2013 on recommendation of the kind folks at Vela Windsurf, great choice Naiyeni! The first impression of the hotel is of strolling along the stone walkway of a botanical garden with well tended plants and flowers all around.
The room was clean, airy and comfortable and Bldg 5 has a lovely ocean view. While the beach is not good for bathing its great for leisurely walks. The hot and cold jacuzzis, breezy outdoor massage pavillion and well maintained surroundings made the property feel like a luxurious private home instead of a hotel. Even a small cemetery amid the grounds doesn't take away from the ambience of a great hotel stay. The front desk is only open until 4pm though so make your queries early. The staff was always friendly and courteous, thanks Michelle and Soyla for making our holiday memorable.
Situated just beyond the souvenir shops and bars but still within a short walk of all, the hotel has a convenient location. A brief walk from the back exit of El Magnifico is the well stocked Janet's Supermarket and Janet's Cafe, try the Cubano sandwich, and good food from Bernardo's and Viet Cafe. Recommended for that getaway vacation, El Magnifico is indeed that!

Room Tip: Rooms in Bldg 5 and Bldg 6 have the best oceanview. The property is very quiet all the time.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imaguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Magnifico
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

My brother and I stayed here in December 2012. Absolutely loved it. Building 5 Presidentail Penthouse was amazing. Fabulous view from everywhere. You will love the roof top deck. Very safe and secure, within walking distance to everything. All buildings appeard to have great view. You will be pleasantly surprised! Perfect landcaping and groundskeeping. The pictures don't do it justice. Took a chance and was pleasantly surprised. Front desk staff leaves around 4ish but was not a problem but need to be aware of this an how it may affect you if you arrive late. Staff will be present to ensure you get checked in (had to obtain iron, safe key on next morning). Great place to relax in a magnificent atmosphere. Hope they will allow me to return!! ;-). Could go on but you will be presently surprised by this hidden gem !!

Room Tip: 2BR presidential penthouse was great. Did not look in other rooms but all appeared to be nice!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quinn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here 4 times and fall in love with the place every time - it's so beautiful! A note to newcomers, renting a room here is like renting an apartment in that there is no 24 hour desk and no restaurants technically on property. That said they make up for that with the picturesque gardens, beach property, and well appointed rooms.

We like the newer buildings with larger rooms/ apartments best, but we'd take any room just to stay here and enjoy the manicured gardens, ocean breeze, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alboogie_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The hotel rooms were fantastic! Absolutely beautiful walk down the garden paths to the ocean! Nice and quiet with friendly staff! Nothing I love more is having a beer right on the ocean in the hot tub! Drifting off to sleep in my ocean view/front

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had a second floor suite so I imagine our experience would be typical: great view, calming sounds (wind, water, frogs. Yeah, frogs), excellent two bedroom accommodations. Lighting is tricky as another reviewer noted, but we tried all the switches and found one easy to read by. Large living/dining room with small but adequate kitchen and a third bath and small desk space. The top floor rooms have roof top balconies with outstanding views.

Easy access to a beach with a dramatic surf, but don't swim. The beach is right on the tip of Punta Cabarete and the break comes from three directions resulting in dangerous currents, plus an odd natural wall that only shows up at low tide. I went in knee deep and the current was creepy strong parallel to the beach. So what, I was there to walk and look: surf, dunes, wild orchids, a few shells, driftwood (one day a tree 30 feet long showed up overnight).

Walking distance to everything you want to do in town: eat, drink, dance, surf, swim. Cafe Claro is not technically on premises but feels like it is.

Room Tip: Ground floors have larger patios, but any upper floor has a view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quash8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights and will stay there again on our next visit. The Staff is great ! All expectations were met and more It was very quiet as it was off season and that is just what we wanted very nice property

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pasnstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is very good and comfortable. Close to the main area of bars and restaurants and most of the activities in Cabarete.
Rooms are clean and spacious with a little terrace or balcony. It's a quiet place, maybe because it is very close to the cementery, and although not a great beach right next to the hotel it's very nice for talking a walk.
The rooms (at least ours) have an open bathroom, we called it the "bathroom loft" since it is kind of diaphanous and this also means no doors, so if you are not travelling alone, plan the use of the bathroom carefully :) Once you've cover that, you´ll feel very at ease.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building, besides being newer you could get a view to the sea and they may...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveleando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 22 in Cabarete
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 22 in Cabarete
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 22 in Cabarete
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 22 in Cabarete
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Magnifico

Address: Calle del Cementerio, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range: £63 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Magnifico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Magnifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing