We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Magnifico-magnifico”
Review of Hotel El Magnifico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Magnifico
Reviewed 27 November 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights in May-sorry for delay writing-Got this recommendation from a friend. I was truly blown away. This is more like an apartment than hotel room, large living area-seperated bedroom-ocean view. Grocery store just a 3 minute walk away, centro Cabarete is about a 10-15 minute walk or 3-4 via moto. Bianc and staff are great- I booked here again for next month-this time I have the Presidential Penthouse-cant wait!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

I really don't know if I have anything negative at all to say about our experience. First of all - the property is beautiful. Right on the beach, yet with enough beautiful foliage to give privacy to guests in their rooms (and at the pool and hot tubs). The staff was very friendly and helpful! With everything. And you CANNOT beat the value. We stayed in the Royal Suite which was VERRRRY affordable and absolutely massive. Really one of the better layouts of a hotel room I've ever stayed in - and wonderfully spacious. My other favorite part about Hotel Magnifico was that, while right on the beach, it is close enough to the main part of town and strip of bars and restaurants without being TOO close. Never a concern that drunken tourists were going to be loud right outside your door, yet still close enough that it was a very easy convenient 5 minute walk along the beach to get to the main hub of Cabarete. All in all - we had a wonderful experience at Hotel Magnifico, and will most definitely be returning. (My only regret is that I didn't get to stay longer!)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koala6_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Suberb surrundings.Clean.Well desinged buildings.Spectacular gardens.We have stayed there 4 times in 3 years.A must.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chairsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My Husband and I stayed for 3 weeks at El Magnifico and could not have been happier with our stay ! The staff especially Lisa, Bianca and Carlos are terrific people who do whatever they can to make your stay more enjoyable.
Our Royal Suite was great in Building 5. Kitchen facilities are great although a microwave would have been nice to have. Not that we cooked that much but to have the option would have been wonderful. We found lobster for sale near Janet's Supermarket and did have a pretty wonderful lunch the last day our friends were with us. They had the adjoining room so we had the whole second floor to ourselves. We used the hot tub at Building 6 everynite and it was fantastic.
I would highly recommend the El Magnifico for its relaxed garden paradise setting. The staff is very friendly and professional. It is not a party place which is exactly what we wanted. If you want to party just go to the beach restaurants and bars and enjoy.
We will definetly be back next year! Our friends loved the place also
Ola!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Spent our Honeymoon in El Magnifico Building #6, 3rd Floor. Unbelievable. Modern. Four Balconies and a rooftop deck. It was amazing. Right on the beach. We had the beach to ourselves because it was September and the off-season. I'd recommend this place again and again. The main drag of the town is about a ten minute walk and there are a few really good restaurants, the best of which is Celina's (breakfast and lunch.) The service at the hotel was great, but it's not a hotel with a restaurant. There's a grocery store around the corner. Anything we wanted to do was taken care of through the front desk. Found it through Sunny Villa Holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumpchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

This was my husband's fourth trip to Cabarete. He had previously stayed in other accommodation but we wanted somewhere special....and we were not disappointed by El Magnifico. When we first arrived they were a little surprised to see us. The booking we had made had not been transferred into their ledger, we had our confirmation email (sent a good 6 months before) and the girl at the desk soon found us on a post-it note in the back. We had been quite picky about our room when we booked and were offered a suite for a day or two until one of the rooms we had requested was free. The suite was huge and comfortable although I preferred the room we subsequently moved into: ocean views, lovely gardens, balcony, more than spacious room and comfortable bed. The shower was also a hit; enormous and refreshing. The hot tub was a stone's throw from our room. Several evenings spent there pre- dinner watching the lizards as the sun went down. The staff, from guards to gardeners, receptionist to chamber maids, were friendly and unobtrusive. Only down side was when a noisy group of lads moved in next door, but a word from the owner the next day sorted them out.
The walk to town along the beach was beautiful although we enjoyed the great sights on the street; guy transporting a large lawnmower on his motorbike was a favourite.
Club Mistral is really close and does great windsurf lessons and hire. Ollie and Sweetie who run it are very laid back.
We also loved breakfasting with the fat dogs who snoozed on the tiles in the morning and wobbled off to the beach in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We had looked at different places for a relaxing vacation, and we got one in Cabarete! We didn't want to stay at an all inclusive as we wanted more freedom and the ability to connect with the locals. I was googling and found Magnifico, and it really delivered. They were booked except for one of their older units in the Caribbean themed building (forget which one, but it's right next to the pool.) I was a little worried as the room is directly placed next to the pool on the first floor, just because of any noise etc. but it ended up being relatively quite the entire 10 days! Very reasonable prices, about 100 per night. Room was extremely large, with a huge bed and massive bathroom (complimentary safe in room). It did feel a little older, but it was so spacious and inviting that I didn't care! It was spotlessly clean, and it was nice to make our breakfast ourselves one morning in the kitchenette. We didn't know how to turn on the stove, and in seconds someone came to turn it on for us. I've heard that the woman at the front desk is surly, but I really enjoyed her company. She was very knowledgable, friendly and usually was up for a little conversation. There were no amenities here (besides for the relaxing small pool) but it was great to go out on our own for everything. There's a grocery store nearby where we bought all our food and drinks, and a wonderful place to have breakfast 1 minute down the driveway from our room. Claro's is the best, and we tried to eat here as much as we could. The owners, esp. the wife, is super sweet and we really enjoyed her food and company. It's a small place, reasonably priced, great food but they are only open for breakfast and lunch. Lots of great places in town for dinner, just walk down on the main street and there's so much to choose from, most of them located right on the sandy beach! As for the beach itself, you have to walk to it from Magnifico but it was never a bad walk. You can walk down the beach when the tide is low, and on the street if it's too dangerous. Either way, you'll get to pick a spot to yourselves as the beach goes on for quite a while, and it was fun watching all the kite surfers do amazing tricks! We didn't try while we were there but maybe next time. Everyday we had ice cream off the main street, and loved the lively atmosphere of all the locals and street traffic. Nice blend of tourists and locals. We always felt pretty safe, but we didn't stay out all night either. Everything was great at Magnifico, next time we'll stay in the new building 6. Highly recommend it, you'll have a nice, relaxing and more private stay here. I plan on heading back this or next winter!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MonkeyNPrinceTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 20 in Cabarete
198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Magnifico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Magnifico

Address: Calle del Cementerio, Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range: £63 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Magnifico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Magnifico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing