We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Experience Of Solitude & Relaxation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabarete East Beachfront Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cabarete
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabarete East Beachfront Resort
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Experience Of Solitude & Relaxation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I are big fans of the Cabarete area of DR. We wanted to get away from the in-laws & family for a few days but not have to deal with the "resort" sorta atmosphere. (I like freedom to move around & check out different places to eat, lounges or bars rather then being confined to a resort property.) We found the property this property to be beautiful, clean, staff was more then friendly, beach was quiet and offered a lot of privacy, onsite restaurant was awesome when we tried it. Our condo was gorgeous...i wish it was my house, It definitely exceeded every expectation i had for this place. I have suggested this place for families or groups wanting to go and be out of the business of vacation spots. The condo is located right outside of town so having a car would be best, but you can take the local taxi's. Cabarete is a huge expat community so when you go into town alot of english is spoken + other languages, american dollar is taken in most places, they have a well stocked grocery store you can buy supplies/food to cook in your condo if you like. The place is just all around safe and very friendly for visitors. I might also mention the price for our condo was a steal. I booked a single room for 145 a night and we ended up with the top penthouse with multiple rooms, beautiful deck and so much space...of course you have to take the stairs, but Stairs equal beautiful ocean and sunrise views! :) We also stayed in March 14-16 in 2011 but was not able to select that below.

Room Tip: If you are located in the back building where the checkin is located you will have the best straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    10
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here from January 1, 2012 to April 1, 2012. This was our second trip to the Dominican. We were very happy with the condos-very nicely furnished. Beds were comfortable and kitchen had everything we needed. We stayed in two different units-a 2 bedroom and the penthouse. The 2 bedroom was on the road and right above the parking lot. I am a light sleeper and the car noise was annoying. The penthouse was not near the road and it was very quiet. Both units had a beautiful view of the ocean. We ate at Martini's most every night. I cannot say enough nice things about the staff and the food. Looking forward to returning for 3 more months this year. .

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms in the back building if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deb47682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed at Caberete East Beachfront Condos from March 14th to March 27th 2012. We shared two 2 bedroom condos between 6 of us. The positives - The condos were perfect, exactly as pictured on the website. The air conditioning was quiet and worked well, the showers were hot and water pressure was very good. The condos were clean and nice beach towells were provided. The sun chairs were very comfortable and readily available. Enough available to ensure no need to rush down at the crack of dawn to reserve. We dealt with Veronica and she was great. Questions were answered quickly and accurately before and during our stay and anything we needed was promptly taken care of (which wasn't much because the condos pretty much had everything we needed). We loved Martini's Bar and Grill which is on site and a great asset. The staff, food and prices were excellent. We mostly cooked our own breakfast and lunch and went to Martinis for supper. We can't say enough about how awesome all of the staff from the maids up to the grounds keepers and especially the guards were. Everyone was friendly and accomodating. There was a combination of long terms tenants (mostly older, retired people) to short term vacationers like ourselves. Everyone was friendly and laid back. As for getting around, Veronica hooked us up with Fransico. He picked us up at the airport and was available within 10 minutes any time we needed a drive anywhere. He charged $7 each way to Caberete and $15 each way to Sosua. Caberete East is actually about a 40 minute walk along the road into the centre of Caberete. We are in our 50's and in relatively good shape for walking but in the heat of the day or at night in the dark, we would not recommend walking in to town from the condos. We also abandoned our original idea of renting a car and hired Francisco to take us to Samana where we stayed for two nights before leaving to come home to Nova Scotia. He stayed in Samana with family but was available to us the whole time if and when we needed him. He made sure we were safe at all times and ensured we got to the Samana airport on schedule and that our luggage was handled without any stress on our part. His van was clean and his driving impeccable. If you go to Caberete East, please ask for Fransico. He went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure we were taken care of. The negatives (and there were not many) - it was very windy and the breeze in the evenings was (most nights) very strong and at times, chilly. The waves at the beach made it difficult, if not impossible to swim. We were told that the breeze drops off considerably in April. The pool was very cold. The beds in one of the condos we had were not comfortable. For the person who made the rude (and frankly, ignorant) comment about the "locals showing up to play football"...all I and my friends can say is that we very much enjoyed watching the local kids when they showed up on Sunday at the empty lot next door to kick a soccer ball around on their make shift field with only stakes to use as goal posts. I only wish my own children had been there to witness this and perhaps appreciate what they have in life a little more. How unfortunate and how sad that you, a visitor to their country, would begrudge them this.
One other comment - if you are a lover of dogs - be prepared as there are many strays. Although the locals try to care for them, you will see many hungry dogs along the beach and roads. The most amazing thing is how well behaved they are. We took dog food with us and bought more while we were there. We enjoyed being able to feed them for the time we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoAnna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rep.dom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

the apartments have full kitchen and washer/dryer. the restaurant on site is a big plus. this apt. has three bedrooms. great for kids. there is a supermarket 3 minutes away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamita3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We were looking forward to staying here in Jan 2012. We booked an ocean front suite with, I believe his name was "Ron" the manager of cabarete east via the internet. He asked us to mail him a cheque to miami ( we are from canada) which we did. Eventually we contacted him
regarding the payment, and he said our cheque was unacceptable, as it was from canada. We had politely asked for him to mail it back, and then we would send a money order. He never did, he implied it was easier for him to write "void" on the cheque and fax us a copy. We politely asked him to return our check.( which he never did leaving us to spend 10.00 to put stop payment on it) We have never heard from him since, thank goodness, as this led us to book at the Millennium. Which did not disappoint us in any way. We made a point of going to Cabarete East Resort, just to check out what we were missing. We came to the quick conclusion that this resort is out of the way, and, definetly not anywhere as nice as the pictures looked on the internet. We walked passed "Ron's" office and saw him in there, just wished I had have stopped in and thanked him for changing our minds, and booking somewhere else. This place seemed tired looking ( could of been the day " rainy and cloudy") , and looked to cater to long term residence than vacationers. Thank goodness, we booked elsewhere.
Although we did enjoy our lunch at their onsite restaurant " martini's bar and Grill "

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nascardingbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stayed for two weeks in a one bedroom condo on the first floor. Excellent for a small baby: just open the balcony, roll out the stroller and you are near the pool area and restaurant. The place in very clean with a small army of service personnel washing everything, including walkways with some king of soapy solution. All the staff was friendly, eager to help no matter what you need: do laundry or get a bottle of water. Never had a feeling like I have to give them tips (paid them occasionally). The property is not large, but very cozy and excellently landscaped. The tall palm trees near the beach are fantastic, especially at night. Restaurant is surpassingly good with fantastic dishes for budget prices. They have daily specials like fresh fish and events, like taco buffet or pig roast and happy hour for drinks. What we also liked is that that compared to many other places we have tried, this restaurant is very clean and you can actually see the kitchen, which is also very tidy.
The best part of this place is its location: it is close to all the action and sports and activities in Cabarete, Sosua as well as Puerto Plata (overall the North Coast is much cleaner and attractive than the South), yet the place is very quiet in case you just want to kick back and enjoy the doing absolutely nothing. Also many friendly and chatty condo owners from US and Europe live there.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imironov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Cabarete East is located on the north shore of the Dominican Republic. With spectacular ocean views, a pool, jucuzzi, and restaurant on site, there is not a more perfect place for a vacation! The ocean is between 82 -85 degrees farinhet, the sandy beaches go on for miles in each direction and are lined with shells, sand dollars and amber. Absolutely perfect for every treasure hunter!! The condos are practicly right on the beach, with ocean breezes and waves crashing to shore, there is not a more perfect location on the island. The units are equipted with airconditioning and double pane windows making it quiet and confortable for sleeping. The staff is professional, accomidating and pleasant. The units are new and in terrific condition and the prices are more than reasonable. We truly had a 5 star vacation for a 2 star price, where else can you find that?!! Cabarete East is the only place we will stay!! Thank you for such an awesome vacation!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
4.4 mi away
Hooked Cabarete
Hooked Cabarete
#3 of 20 in Cabarete
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#8 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brisas Doradas B&B
Brisas Doradas B&B
#11 of 27 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cabarete Palm Beach Condos
0.8 mi away
Barefoot Beach Pad
Barefoot Beach Pad
#7 of 27 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabarete East Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabarete East Beachfront Resort

Property: Cabarete East Beachfront Resort
Address: Carretera Principal Cabarete + 1 km Este, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabarete East Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabarete East Beachfront Resort occupies approximately 2.75 Acres on a pristine beach in one of the most beautiful and desirable areas on the North Coast of the Dominican Republic. Our spacious apartments have spectacular beach and ocean views in a lush tropical surrounding. Each condo unit is beautifully decorated with high-quality furniture, full kitchen, laundry, private balcony and comes in 1-3 bedroom configurations. It is the newest and most relaxing place in Cabarete to spend your holiday!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabarete East Beachfront Hotel Cabarete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing