We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raushaun R.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp
Ranked #10 of 30 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The hotel was very close to the beach, actually right on the beach and William and his wife are very nice and accomodating. I had a very pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone seeking to save money but still get quality service directly on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

Adrian & I stayed here for 14 nights, we found the hotel clean comfortable, ceiling fan was needed at night but with the added bonus of the breeze blowing through the windows it was just right. William & Dorothy are welcoming and answered any questions we had, also Clara's a great place for breakfast, only problem we had was finding somewhere on a Monday when it was closed!!!!!. Room 7 was fabulous & we made full use of the balcony up the stairs from the room. We loved the location found Cabarete safe great fun & enjoyed all the local restaurants & bars (The Lazy Dog a deffo stop off from the beach for cocktails) . Once we arrived we found no need to leave the bay, windsurfing kite surfing and generally lazing around in the fabulous sun. We would love to go back to Casa Blanca and would recommend the hotel at anyone... What a beautiful spot in the world :) Happy Days many thanks A&T

Room Tip: It's on a busy road but we soon got used to noise that's not a complaint just we live in a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Casa blanca is a great spot for spending a week but also perfect for estended Stay.

The owner is a great guy, the rooms are clean and there is a great atmosphère.

If you dont want To get ripped off by the surf camps of cabaret and you want To do a lot of surf, but also many other things at night, this place is 100% recommanded.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VincentDesgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Reading numerous reviews for properties around Sosua led me to room#7 here at Casa Blanca. The room was at the top floor of the building with windows on 3 sides and a private stairwell leading to a rooftop terrace.

The windows provided more than sufficient ventilation to make up for no air conditioning and the ceiling fan helped to keep the breeze moving. After the first night I had to tape up a couple of openings around the sliding windows to keep the mosquitos out, but once accomplished I had no further problems for the week that I stayed there.

The room provided plenty of floor space to spread out the gear, a small shelf and clothes rod to arrange items, a table and chairs to eat a snack at or do some work, a fridge for in room beverages and food items and a comfortable bed with lightweight bed cover. The room was cleaned on a regular basis and I was provided clean sheets half way through my stay.

The bathroom had a great shower with plenty of hot water, all tiled with a shower curtain. There was a tremendous amount of rain during my stay so for a couple of days the water had a brown hue to it, but that was a factor of the water supply and not unique to this place.

At the entrance to the hotel is the restaurant which turned out to be a favorite destination for my friends who were all staying at an expensive beach resort a short distance away. The food was reasonably priced, served quickly and with a smile.

The hotel is located a short 5 minute walk from the heart of Sosua on some narrow stretches of sidewalk in places, but a safe walk nonetheless. The road was rather busy during the day but the hotel was set back from the road far enough that the traffic noise did not invade the air. Just outside the entrance is a large grocery store with a great selection. The beach is a shrt walk away and closer if you learn to navigate the sidewalks and alleys behind the hotel.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Casa Blanca and would not hesitate to stay in this room again. To be fair, I did speak to a couple of other guests that were staying in rooms in another wing who did not share the same cross breezes that I enjoyed nor the natural light from windows on all three sides. If you get the chance to stay in room 7 definitely jump at it. If your option is for some of the other rooms be sure to read the descriptions closely, ask questions or check out reviews of other rooms.

Room Tip: Room #7, definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RASHERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We liked the studio room as it was clean and comfortable with a queen sized bed. The room that we stayed in was above the pool and there was a great ocean breeze at night. There was a safety deposit box in our room, and all our belongings were very secure. We enjoyed the pool, and the restaurant (Claro's) had delicious breakfast and lunch food at great prices, and the supermarket is right around the corner. The beach is also a short walk away, right behind the hotel, and as I was here primarily for kitesurfing, this was a great location. For the price we paid our room was a great value.

The only minor issues included that my girlfriend has a bad knee injury, and she had difficulty with the stairs with our room being on the 2nd floor, so next time we will ask for a room on the first floor. Also, although the wireless was usually consistent it was spotty at times. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay, and will likely be back to kitesurf and stay at the Casablanca Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable and secure rooms - great location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank del s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We have stayed as Casa Blanca the past two years a week or so around New Year's. Hoping to return this year if I haven't waited too late for availability.
As noted, this is definitely budget accommodations. However, we have always found it to be clean, it has a great swimming pool, and cool and pleasant grounds. Pretty quiet when we've been there.

The rooms are not huge, but we've never had a problem (two adults, one young child). If you are staying for more than a week I advise that you pack light and use the inexpensive wash & fold service across the street.
We've always stayed in non-AC rooms and been totally comfortable just using the fan. (Dec/Jan) The walk to the beach is not far at all. Also, the fantastic Cafe Claro is attached to the hotel for a fantastic breakfast. Supermarket is right next door. And it is only a very short walk into the main clump of shops and restaurants in Cabarete. My family felt safe walking back at night and never had anyone bother us at all. May be different if I were on my own.
The owners are very friendly. For example, Dorothy shared some delicious home made snacks on New Years. And they know the area very well, so can make recommendations for activities, restaurants, taxi, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RicosAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabaretewilliam, Owner at Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Welcome back for the third time! We enjoy getting know our guests and are pleased that you like it here. Thanks for your review which is well written!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This family run hotel differs from the mainstream in Cabarete by being small and cozy with lots of trees and plants around the property. While it's not technically on the beach (maybe 150 meters away) it is actually pretty close to the good part of the beach where people hang out and where the bars and restaurants are.
Various options of breakfast and lunch can be had from early morning until 2 pm and is served in the very cozy, small restaurant in the garden. If you opted for a room with a kitchen and want to fix your own food the biggest grocery store in Cabarete is just around the corner.
William and Dorothy are very nice people and are always there to answer questions and give you good tips of how to navigate Cabarete. There was no A/C in my room and i never missed it (mid November). Internet reception by the pool is only fair but in my room it was really good. Also there are virtually no nasty bugs and stuff around here, only the occasional mosquito.
The rooms are obviously not comparable to the more expensive places but then again, I did not come here to spend time in my room. :-) They are clean and functional. This is indeed very good value for money, no question about it! I can recommend it to anyone who's not interested in paying premium for those extra shiny marble floors!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Falna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabaretewilliam, Owner at Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

It was great getting to know you and having you stay with us! Do come back. Thanks for the detailed and well written review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#4 of 19 in Cabarete
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Cabarete
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp

Address: 113 Main Street Calle Principle, Cabarete 12345, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location and price in Cabarete. A very nice pool and relaxing garden, 100 meters to beach and grocery store, quiet at night, cosy atmosphere for couples, families and singles. Good security. The owners live here and really take care of their guests! Studios with kitchens and some rooms with ocean view! Orthopaedic quality mattresses. Kite and wind surf package deals. Our 75 positive reviews say it all! Book with confidence and book early as we do at times send guests to other hotels when we are full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Hotel And Surf Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing