We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Blanca Hotel - Sweet place, great price, lovely owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp
Ranked #12 of 30 Cabarete B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2014

For the price, the ambience and location, this was a great deal. A few steps away we got on the beach and sat on luxurious cushioned couches with pina coladas and good food. Unfortunately, missed out on the restaurant on site because staff was on vacation but my friend who's been there before said it was terrific. Store next door was large and easy, kitchen at the hotel is small though so cooking is limited. Dorothy's gardens are amazing and we were honored with a tour and cut flowers in a vase. Ask to see her daughter's stunning paintings on her website.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gushauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I would like to reiterate on what others have said here already. Yes, the rooms are smelly and not very clean; I would be very careful about cooking in their kitchen. I did not feel comfortable with the cleanliness and moved away within 2 days to another hotel. Despite what some write, the location is not prime: there are hotels with direct access to the beach, while at Casa Blanca you need to walk about 10 minutes. I did not like when William (the owner) said "it is a tradition here to tip the maid" and reminded about it when I was checking out - I am usually tipping if the room is clean, which was not the case. A key deposit also was quite strange. I was hearing every noise while sleeping there (people were coming in and out of the hotel).

I must admit that the couple that lived next door was coming to the hotel for the second time (they were surfers); however, it sounded that they were looking for a good price - indeed, better hotels are a bit more expensive.

The hotel has nice pool and nice seating areas next to each room.

On a side note, among those who reviewed this hotel there are many people who have one review only.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Volga981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabaretewilliam, Owner at Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

So 115 reviewers say it is clean and well kept. One says it is not. Experienced travelers know tropical rooms are a bit musty when they are closed up for a few days. When the windows and doors are opened that goes away. The location is great. The ocean is about 300 feet away. Not sure why it would take anyone ten minutes to walk that! We do it in one. As for tipping, we do remind people as some forget that this is an integral part of the maid's livelihood. Why would ANYONE take offence unless they were not being generous or even reasonable? No one else has ever taken offence. A key deposit - must it be explained????? It covers the cost - barely - of replacement keys when people lose them. Dear reviewer - it happens. WE GIVE THE DEPOSIT BACK so what is your problem? And yes, people do come in and out of a hotel and you may hear them. They are on vacation! As a rule our hotel is very quiet, very clean and has a great location. He wanted a very cheap place and price. The hotels he mentions on the beach are not a "bit more expensive", but way more. Being on the beach they are noisy till 4 AM when the discos and bars close. We are just far enough away not to hear that. And why discredit first time reviewers? What is with that? You wrote your first review at some point! We have many transfers from other hotels. In particular "hotels" in Procab or those without pools come to us. We are already filling up for next winter, with most of the people REPEAT customers. Send us an email and we will try to make sure you get the room or studio you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment for 5 months. It was all that I needed. The room was good, the pool was good and the owners were great. The hotel has a nice family feeling to it. It is close to the beach, the main grocery store and the laundry. Dorothy takes great pride in her gardens. They are beautiful! I would highly recommend Casa Blanca to anyone, Thanks to William and Dorothy for being great hosts. Cheers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabaretewilliam, Owner at Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thanks Dave. Was great to have you here for five months. Some wonderful times! Hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel was a very beautiful and relaxing place to stay during my time in Cabarete. The cook was amazing each morning and took the time out her day to open up earlier than usual for my service group. The hotel rooms were beautiful and made me feel like I was actually in the Dominican Republic! The location was very close to the beach and other attractions!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabaretewilliam, Owner at Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

So great to have you and all your friends staying here with the Team. Glad you enjoyed the Studio you were in! Hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was my second time in Casablanca because we loved so much the first time we didnt excited to go back...the rooms are simples but they have good price, very clean, nice people,very secure and safe, great breakfast right downstairs (cafe claro), nice pool to relax after the beach, Next to the super market and between playa ventosa and cabarete.The owners are the best , always helping and take care of the hotel guests. We dont have any complains. We love cabarete and we love casablanca specially the view we had from our deck. We really enjoy the time we spend in casablaca and I hope I can go back very soon...

Room Tip: We love room number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosybombinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the casa Blanca great service and time. Pool was great. Rooms were great. Remember not a 5 star hotel but service was better, experience the real dominican. Will stay there on next visit for sure made my trip economical enjoying more of the Dominican. Dorothy was a sweetheart. Place is clean and close to everything you need. Again great save place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank willard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The owners really make everyone feel welcome and at home. Dorothy has created a beautiful tropical garden in the inner courtyard and around the pool, lovely. Very good value--The rooms are modest but clean and I enjoyed my room with a bay window overlooking the pool. Felt safe and secure and all the staff were friendly. Very central location to beach and the main street and close to the famous Janet's supermarket! The beach is gorgeous --the surf is constant and carries Wonderful healing energy. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 19 in Cabarete
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 19 in Cabarete
377 reviews
1 mi away
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
Viva Wyndham Tangerine
#6 of 19 in Cabarete
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sea Horse Ranch
Sea Horse Ranch
#7 of 19 in Cabarete
37 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gipsy Ranch Rooms
Gipsy Ranch Rooms
#8 of 30 in Cabarete
14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp

Address: 113 Main Street Calle Principle, Cabarete 12345, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Cabarete
Price Range: £24 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location and price in Cabarete. A very nice pool and relaxing garden, 100 meters to beach and grocery store, quiet at night, cosy atmosphere for couples, families and singles. Good security. The owners live here and really take care of their guests! Studios with kitchens and some rooms with ocean view! Orthopaedic quality mattresses. Kite and wind surf package deals. Our 75 positive reviews say it all! Book with confidence and book early as we do at times send guests to other hotels when we are full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Blanca Hotel & Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Hotel And Surf Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing