We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Casa Feliz - Happy House... It sure is!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entryway Sunrise at Casa Feliz
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Entryway
Sunrise at Casa Feliz
Living Room
View from Your Living Room
Kitchen
Balcony View
Our View
Bedroom
Bathroom
Our Pool & Patio
Yoga Loft
Beach Access
Our Tranquil Beach (Town is right around the corner)
Sunset from Our Porch
One of numerous Beach Restaurants
Cabarete at Night
Welcome to Casa Feliz
Casa Feliz
Just Be
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CanCab
Sudbury, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casa Feliz - Happy House... It sure is!”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I am hesitant in writing this review for the following reasons: who wants to give up an awesome secret? It is like finding that great restaurant that no one knows about and you tell one person and now you can't get a seat anymore! Stop looking... you want this place.

Jere and Judy have the place and vibe that make people come back to Cabarete over and over. From its landscaped white walls to ocean breezes that cool you off pool side, you can't be anything but relaxed in this wonderful complex.

We stayed on the main floor in a two bedroom, two bathroom unit.

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION - You are not even a minute walk to Janet's Supermercado. This is an awesome distance as it can get quite hot carrying groceries and cool bevies back to your apartment. You are a five minute walking distance to the Center Cabarete were all the beach bars, restaurants, and trinket stores are located. You are far enough (on the flip side of the peninsula) that buffers the bar noise when you are trying to sleep. Want to go further? Walk up the road, 30 seconds, and catch a motoconcho or guagua.

WHERE'S DA BEACH? - Exiting Casa Feliz, you can walk through the path of El Magnifico which brings you to La Punta. Maybe a three minute walk? It will seem longer as you absorb the grounds of El Magnifico and their spectacular and wizardry abilities at landscaping. While you cannot swim at La Punta for safety reasons, when the tide comes over the reef wall, water gets trapped in a tidal pool. The sun heats it up and you have bath tub that runs about 500 feet beach side. It is wonderful for children to play or to float on your back and think about your next Mojito Chinola. This is a favourite past time for those in the area. Want some wave action Cabarete is known for? Five minutes through El Magnifico and out at Sans Souci, you are at Cabarete Bay... home of Coconut Joe and waves that make bathing suits need straps... trust me. This is the action spot. Young kids and snow birds flock to this spot to be pushed around by the wave action or to bob around under the hot rays of the sun.

CASA FELIZ - This villa is surrounded by a high white walls and a buzz in gate. While I felt completely safe and always have felt safe in this neighbourhood, a little addition safety is good no matter where you are in the world. The building is a brilliant white beacon kissed with flowering shrubs and towered by a most amazing Ficus tree. Yes, Ficus can be more than an apartment tree. You have a pool that stays sparkly clean and breezes that climb over the wall to cool you off, distracting you from how hot you really are. The neighbours in the complex are a kooky bag and I loved them. Miss you guys! Everyone is there for their own piece of paradise pie and are pretty laid back. You need something, even if it is that proverbial cup of sugar... they have it!

2 BED 2 BATH AND BEYOND - Every room has AC. I personally do not feel the need to use it as there is a ridiculous amount of windows that cool the place off.... especially at night when the body temp needs to lower. I also go to Cabarete for the breezes. If a meat locker is your thing, Jere's AC units can bring you there. The bedrooms are a great size with floor to ceiling wardrobes and big dressers for the clothes you over packed and will never wear. One room has a double bed and the other bedroom as two singles. The bathrooms are both three pieces. The showers are big enough to invite your new Cabarete friends over for a splish splash. The kitchen has full size appliances and great counter space. A lovely dining room is open to a roller rink sized living room. The living room is big. I mean big. Those friends that came over for a shower can invite their new friends over for a merengue dance off.

THE Js - Jere and Judy are awesome. They have the whole island thing going with their laid back attitudes and zest for travel adventures. Plus, they look like a really happy couple. Nothing worse than staying with angry people. Not at the Happy House. Judy is delightful and oozes positive vibes. Jere brought one of our travel companions on a motorbike ride up into the mountains. Our friend Glenn, an avid Harley biker who doesn't emote easily, found himself zipping though Brahman cows and plantations with Jere at the helm. He didn't stop talking about that ride and his bucket list with a crazy smile.

If you really need to know more, contact me. I am not sure what more I could include that hasn't made you book an airline ticket yet? You cannot get anything in this section without paying thousands per week. I am not kidding. Check the neighbours' prices. I have paid those thousands... check my reviews. I am not easy to please but this neighbourhood is the place you want to be in. Now that I know what a bargain Casa Feliz is for what you are getting, I am sad that with this review, I may have sealed my fate for future vacancies.

Best of luck Jere and Judy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joieatlan...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect spot ! 🌴”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

A beautiful little villa of five apartments, long term rentals,but the owners residence is available when they are traveling. Since it is family oriented there's no hustle bustle like a hotel or condo rental. It's down on the quiet east end of town so you are not near the noise of the clubs in the center of town, but it's only a five or ten minute walk to all the action. Also a big grocery store is only a few steps away , so there is really no need to have a car.
The property is lush and beautiful with a very well maintained pool and a yoga loft which has classes on most days. The owners residence itself is on the second floor with a beautiful view of the ocean and the tropical breezes flow all day. They are situated in a great little compound with a great health minded breakfast and lunch place about 20 steps away. The villa is completely gated with a private entrance so I felt very secure. Amenities were very modern with everything provided to make your stay comfortable. Their is also an on site property manager who is there for your every request. So if yo are looking for a beach experience that will feel like home, this is the perfect spot !

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-Anne P
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enchanted. Amazing. Rejuvenating.”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

To have the opportunity to stay at Casa Feliz is to indulge in the kind of surprising, intimate luxury which makes one wonder aloud what they must have done to deserve to find themselves at such an awesome spot in the universe -- without breaking the bank. Self-catering and walking distance to everything that mattered to us (beach, grocery store, nightlife, restaurants, shopping), but tucked away and super tranquil, the complex owners residence is practically a stone’s throw from the water, and includes a variety of balconies/decks from which to enjoy the ever changing, unobstructed ocean and sunrise views, the breezes, and the sounds of crashing waves. Like the day is dawning or the moon is rising -- and putting on a show just for you.

The open living space is roomy enough to entertain visitors and is well appointed. The bedroom is spacious, and closet and dresser ample. The kitchen and bath are updated, and appliances are full sized. There is a small room off the hallway which we used as a “bed” room for my teen daughter, and this worked out great (Owner provided a mattress and bedding). There is an alcove area where she kept her suitcases. My only suggestion here would be to add a storage dresser(s), shelves, and/or some hooks – Maybe hide it all with a curtain across if need be – it’s a great storage spot for guests (or for extra towels, supplies etc.) without interfering with the flow of the hallway. Of particular note: The place is spotlessly “Dutch clean” inside, and not a single critter was seen during our stay. The fellow who manages the place; McKenley (hope I spelled that right), is terrific and takes great pride in keeping up with the daily tasks, helping to carry or get things, such as our luggage, or water, and even went so far as to ask around for other available rentals on our behalf as our time at Casa Feliz was running out (we came down for little more than a month, but only had lodgings secured for a few days).

Just FYI – the owners place is accessed by outside stairs. No biggie for most, but something of which you should be aware if stairs are an issue. Also, there is a wonderful thatched roof yoga space among the balconies and decking. When there is a class going on, it’s quiet and separate enough not to feel like an intrusion, and in fact, lends an additional air of peace to the place. I think the only things which might be missing are lounge chairs for the upper deck. Also of note, but of no concern to us, were some vacant/unoccupied properties near us. If anything, this lent an air of being transported to some enchanted place that only we were privileged enough to experience.

While we eventually found ourselves residing at the awesome Laguna Park Hostel (review to follow) for the remainder of our stay, Casa Feliz was the perfect “landing pad” for us (me, my daughter, and our little dog) to be rejuvenated from the cold and onslaught of snow in Connecticut, and to kick off our Cabarete adventure at our own pace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location/views/access
Liked least: wish we could have stayed a bit longer.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thanks for your kind words Jo-Anne. We took your suggestion and ordered additional lounge chairs for the upper deck.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennisdir
chicago, Il
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I am staying at this apartment now for the month of January, and I can personally attest to how incredibly nice it is!! The apartment is spacious and modern, the view is amazing, the hands on manager is attentive & helpful, and the location is perfect. It's peaceful & quiet here, yet EVERYTHING is less than a five minute walk away. I'm from Chicago, and only wish I could stay here longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the ocean
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna...
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place! Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Loved the place! Great atmosphere with the neighbors. Really nice to spend time on the roof or by the pool. Easy access to the beach and town. Wanted to stay for months and months, so we'll have to go back again. Thanks Jere

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the pool, the terraces
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing