We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Makes you feel like home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cabarete, Puerto Plata Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Isabella...
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Makes you feel like home”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived on Saturday afternoon. We were 4 people and got picked up from the airport with the taxi service, which brought us directly to the hotel. Before picking where to stay, we looked at the reviews on TripAdvisor and analyzed the good and bad ones. We found that there was more good then bad reviews, so we decided to take a shot and try this new hotel. When the taxi dropped us off, the staff were there to help us with our luggage and show us our room. The room was very neat and clean and had all the needed supplies for our stay. We noticed that there was only an air conditioning system in the bedroom, but it was strong enough to cool the entire condo when the door of the bedroom is left open. When we got back to the room there was AC all around! The garden was very relaxing and beautiful. The staff maintained it really well. Every time we needed something the staff was there to help and give us their service. The resort was like a family, everyone was friendly and we would do activities with other people from the hotel. The activity coordinator, Wilson, was very helpful. The massages and manicure and pedicure service was excellent. Finally, when we didn't feel like going out to eat and were very tired, we would stay at the hotel and eat what Chef Jose had to offer. The menu had a good variety of foods. Overall, we were very glad to choose this Resort. It was amazing and we have already booked for another 2 weeks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service
Liked least: Not on the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga W
Redmond, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If we only knew, we would never go there, even for free...”
Reviewed 20 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
7
people found this review helpful

It is not a luxury place as advertised. Although the staff was friendly and food was very nice, the place is sketchy, way below our expectations as well as most guests during our stay. Windows have no glass. You can hear everything from outside and you can be heard as well. Trucks and motorcycles would be your morning calls very early everyday. You could hear gun shots at night. A piece of brick with a few holes in bathroom represented the vent and window. Hot water was on and off (take your shower quickly or you may be end up taking cold shower), dirty sheets, only two bath towels per room, never had been changed. No dishwasher, no washer-dryer, no hair dryer, no shampoo, no body wash, no hair conditioner...squeaky bed...pillow stuffed with something like cotton balls. We had to clean the shower floor before the first use. "Fitness room" is the size of small bathroom presented by very old treadmill and something else that not meant to be used. But this is not the worst. Shocking part is the location The resort located a remote area surrounded by trash and dirt. you can see garbage from your window and once you step out resort. Its hard to get to a beach. You do not want to walk on dirty, dusty and undeveloped roads. In many cases, that is no side walks and very unsafe with the crazy traffic. In order to get to beach, you need to go through slum, abandoned and destroyed places. You can get to beach using the old beat up resort van for $70 per week. It is hard to communicate with staff since only one of them (Rudy) speaks good English. Couple of times we were not picked up on time as requested and had to call. This does not include the time we were not picked up from the airport after having several emails with the resort and had "confirmation". Remember, all calls made incurred roaming charge and considered international calls. The stuff is carrying guns for protection, which is probably needed considering the location.
With all said.... Although we thought about leaving the first day we arrived, we managed to stay positive and maintain our sense of humor, enjoyed the vacation with what we have, made good friends with the other resort guests who share the same thoughts about the resort.
We would suggest other resorts by the beach if you want to visit Cabarete.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and staff friendliness
Liked least: Location and surrounding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickey248...
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome family type staff-diamond in the rough”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for a large resort with buffet style dining..this is not the place for you but...if you are looking for a luxury little resort where you can feel you are part of a family..this is the place for you! This is a 14 room resort with comfortable beds, fully equipped kitchens, Wi-Fi, satellite TV and much more. They do have a driver for a $70 fee who literally takes you grocery shopping or bank or beach and is extremely reliable and punctual. The little restaurant on the resort has a simple menu but they bend over backwards to meet your needs and expectations. The airline lost our luggage for 4 days but the staff helped to get us started and took us to a few stores for necessities..I do suggest bringing lots of PESOS or US dollars as use of VISA cards is not as popular and an extra 10% charge is applied for using VISA. Thanks to Chantal for literally lending me her sandals, Roodey for helping us with our concerns and questions, Cali for being the "Be all guy..cook, driver and DJ...I have to say that when we first drove up to the resort...you are wondering to yourself "is this the same resort people are writing the reviews about?" Once you get to know the staff and ask for what you need or looking for.....they will do anything to make it happen...a Home away from Home...We love getting to know and live among the local people and our excursions for Jungle River Cruise, Monkey Jungle Ziplining and Waterfall jumping were a hit for us...these are rustic type tours but extremely fun..Great vacation!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pool and availability of driver to take us where we needed
Liked least: Air conditioner not working as well but it was really hot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usman B
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Little paradise”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stay at the Phoenix for 2 weeks, resort is well kept and very clean,.The staff are very nice and very freindly. The service is excellent you can cook your own food or you can eat at the little restaurant food is good but the menu is limited , Every day there is a different menus every morning they ask you if you will join for dinner. Every morning caffe and buffet breakfast is waiting for you.

The resort offer many excursion 'they keep you busy that was nice.there is a dune bogies that take you to desert beach that was wonderful . There is also a shuttle that brings you into bar resto club 5 minutes from the resort.

My wife and I had a wonderful vacation at Phoenix .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizbet66...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had read all the pros and cons and were apprehensive at first. Booked it 1 month ahead for only 6 points/weeks RCI and our first time to DR. We had an amazing tropical vacation. The Resort is tucked away like an oasis. On the small size, 14 units but that's part of the appeal. On check in there is a $60 fee for use of the transport van and a $90 resort fee, they do provide bottled water included in this fee. We did use the van service almost daily to the beach, church, grocery store, restaurants, without a glitch even though they had engine trouble they rented another vehicle and even took us to town in an ATV once. A $200 security fee at check in was refunded promptly on check out. They have 24 hour security and the gate is locked at night. We never felt unsafe. A free welcome cocktail was a nice touch and drinks are available at the bar at all times.
Wilson arranged many enjoyable excursions such as 27 Waterfalls, Monkey jungle Zip Lining, and River cruise with lunch and swimming. I recommend all of these, the guides on the tours are very helpful and even got this out of shape 59 year old up and down the waterfalls. Sosua and Cabarete beaches are beautiful and dinner at Cabarete was an event on the beach. The resort offers breakfast and dinner daily but it is a limited menu. They put there heart into it and make it enjoyable. So nice to have coffee poolside each morning. The dinners are one item prepared for all and Chantal will let you know what it is that day so you can confirm or not. We ate at the resort the first three nights and had a wonderful time meeting the other guests and forming friendships. But dinner on the beach with the sunset won out the last three nights! Happy hour in Cabarete offered live music, drinks, and sunset. The Lazy Dog was a nice location and Mojitos also was fun but basically all the beachfront places are nice. Yes they only have six lounge chairs poolside but we never was without one. There is a nice sitting area right next to the pool for overflow, drinks in the evening or just hanging out.
The staff was great. Rudy the manager was efficient, Fortuna the chef was friendly, Ingrid the masseuse/all around helper was amazing, Clara, Calle and the rest of the staff was great. One day we went to the beach and realized we did not have Peso, the driver actually loaned us 2000 pesos without even asking him. Truly hospitable people. Lastly I want to commend Chantal. She is a caring and personable woman from Canada who speaks French and is also amazing at English and Spanish. She is a hard worker and made the experience special.
I highly recommend Phoenix Spa and Resort. We asked for additional nights and they said the rate was $70 per night. The rooms were fully furnished for cooking but we didn't need to. The bathroom was spacious and newly renovated. The electricity goes off daily but the generator kicks right in so no problem. I kept saying this is so much better than a predictable all inclusive. We will be back again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This is what I emailed the owner:
Recently I stayed at your establishment in Cabarete, Puerto Plata, Phoenix "Resort" and Spa. We were supposed to stay from June 27th until July 3rd, but our trip fell short due to horrible accommodations. We enjoyed everything about the Dominican, we drove from Punta Cana to Puerto Plata and the beaches were absolutely stunning. The "resort" was nothing that we were expecting or promised.

Upon arrival after two flights and a nine hour car ride, we expected to be able to eat dinner, take showers, and go to bed since the days we had were very long. We were told no food besides breakfast was provided. A man named Wilson, a tour guide for the "resort", took us to his wife's restaurant down the street. Wilson was overly pushy about taking tours with him and smothered us from the second we got there. After dinner we decided to take showers, which one of the bathroom towels was covered in god knows what, but we worked with one. Then wanting to collapse in bed, our sheets were dirty with black spots and there was red marks on the pillows, which one could only assume was blood. I went back upstairs to ask Rudy, your manager, for new sheets as he rudely was looking at his phone, shooing me away saying "Yea, yea well do it." Where I was tired from travelling for the past couple days said I would get the sheets myself because I needed them now. Not the type of service I expected at a "resort".

The next morning the staff made us breakfast, which was implied included to many of the guests, until we all got bills later in the day. With the next couple days, our power kept going out and our water pressure got worse and worse. Since we did have to do dishes, because no food was provided, having water pressure is required. Wilson was haggling us everyday to spend money with him and take tours, which did not allow us to relax. There were things advertized on the website that were not actually provided during our stay. A dune buggy ride to the beach was promised, yet there was no dune buggy on site. This was no longer feeling like a vacation.

On June 29th we about had it with the resort. We weren't able to shower, we were eating yogurt with forks, and we over all felt uncomfortable at the place we were staying. June 30th we found out the driver of their shuttle, another manager, who i believes name was Cello, backed into our rental car the night before. Most vans down there have bull bars on ends of their cars. The tip of this battering gate put a dent and nick in the rental car. When I was upset and informing them they hit my car. The manager went on and on calling me crazy and other names I won't share. Which no matter what the situation, a guest should never be called names by an employee. We packed our bags and waited for the next flight out of Puerto Plata. We paid extra money to drop the rental off in a different place, and we spent a lot more money for an immediate flight home because we could not stand where we were staying. In our car, on our way out, they had a worker chase us down for the USD$35 tab for breakfast and bar. I believe with the stress of staying at this "resort" and lack of sanitation, I broke out into hives.
I will copy this and your response, in all review sites.
He responded with a phone call saying sorry, and that was it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beaches down the street.
Liked least: The resort in its entirety
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendrix11...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best time ever!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
4
people found this review helpful

A very quiet secluded place off the beaten track. Not to big which makes it really nice. Great staff that is very helpful with everything. Highly recommended!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thanks for the great review, Eli
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing