We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”
Review of Hooked Cabarete

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hooked Cabarete
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

5 stars plus 5 more. If you want to have an absolutely perfect Caribbean vacation, stay at Hooked. The accommodations were great, hospitality was amazing, and the grounds were extremely quiet and relaxing.

Hooked gave us everything we were expecting out of this vacation and then some.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hooked Cabarete
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hooked Cabarete. The rooms are very clean and nice. The owners are great people that went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. It's a great place for families or just friends to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Walter and Jeanette were great hosts. The place was beautiful and located in a quiet area just outside of Cabarete. Encuentro beach was a 10 min leisurely walk from Hooked and an easy one. The beach was a nice alternative to the hectic beach in Cabarete. And, if you're up for a longer walk, it is possible to walk to downtown Cabarete via the beach. Carlos does an awesome job on the grounds of Hooked making it like a little oasis after a long day of taking one of the tours out of Cabarete.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SethInTheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Perfect location for surf, beautiful place and Walter and Jeanette is such wonderful hosts. Made me feel welcome at once and greeted me even when I arrived in the middle of the night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dompappen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you are looking for a magic place in Cabarete area - Hooked is the one. First of all the location (but not the best of all). It stays right at the surfing beach - playa Encuentro - 10 min walk and you are the first one in the water with the fist lights before all the beach-taxis and shuttles arrive. Second - the place. It is very safe and secure, it gives the feeling of getting into a little oasis: lots of greenery, coconut palms with fresh cocos kindly served by Carlos, the gardener. A big swimming pool, a hammock at your doorstep, BBQ spot and a little 'living room' outdoor where you'll find lots of games to play and books to read. Aaaand... a Nespresso Coffee machine! Just imagine enjoying a true great coffee every morning before jumping in the water. Well, if you are a coffee lover as I am - it is a BIG thing seriously as you it's not easy to find an espresso shot in dominican apart from some fancy cafe' in the village.
There is a yoga terrace too, full equipped to be mentioned. As for a yoga teacher myself I would highly recommend attending the class at Hooked. One need it after surf, before surf and just to feel your vitality so connected to the nature, followed with the sound of it, just surrounding you. It cannot be compared with any city-studios you may be following....
My third point and the main one is the Hooked owners Walter and Janet! And the whole family they created. Staying there you become a part of it, a member of this little Hooked community but not just a random guest of the hotel. They were too much helpful to us, amazingly welcoming. We felt so comfortable from the very beginning so we wanted to let everyone know, to share, bringing our friends for dinners or just to chill at the pool - and everyone would feel the atmosphere.
The place is totally recommended to stay there. Even if you have only 1 day to stop on your road - you should definitely choose it, or come and stay over the winter. no regrets promise.

Room Tip: any room is amazing
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have enjoyed two weeks with Walter and Jeanette, who are excellent hosts. They make you feel like home from the moment you arrive. The place is small, friendly and very safe. The apartments have good size, a small kitchen and a large terrace. An additional advantage is the fact that you can drink the tap water.

Especially if you are looking for a surf vacation this is the perfect place to be. It is a short walk to the best surf beach (beware that surf is the best in the early morning). The owners can help you finding a board or classes if you want. After a good session you can enjoy your day at Hooked sitting at the pool, cooking, reading or socializing with the other guests. There are good yoga classes everyday that help you even relax more!

Both Cabarete and Sosua can be reached in a 10/15 minute drive by car or scooter. It is also easy to get a taxi. All in all the perfect place for a laid back surf & yoga vacation in a wonderful place with amazing people (both owners and guests).

Room Tip: There are larger apartments with three or four beds and smaller ones with a king size bed.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Just returned from a week staying here and had an excellent time. Hooked is a few minutes walk from Encuentro so absolutely ideal if the aim of your holiday is to surf. It's also very quiet and therefore perfect for really relaxing and chilling out while on holiday.

In addition, Hooked is a small, friendly place which is also very secure due to it being a gated area.

The owners, Walter & Jeanette (and their two lovely pet dogs!) were wonderful hosts and could not have been more helpful in suggesting places to eat, arranging surfboard rental and even driving me into Cabarete town a couple of times.

The guests are an interesting international mix which also makes for an interesting stay.

Recommended - I hope to be back there soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
2.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 21 in Cabarete
351 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#9 of 21 in Cabarete
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Cabarete
371 reviews
2.8 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#3 of 21 in Cabarete
260 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort- All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooked Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked Cabarete

Address: Calle Los Cocos 120/121, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Cabarete
Price Range: £59 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hooked Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hooked Cabarete is the accommodation located closest (500m) from the world-class surf spot called Playa Encuentro in Cabarete. Our guests are active people who "hate" big All Inclusive resorts. We cater to wave surfers, kiters, wind surfers, divers, hikers, mountain bikers, yoga enthusiasts, Spanish learners etc Our studio apartments are located around a pool in a tropical garden. Our place is very quiet, safe and clean. We drinkable water from every tap and 24/7 electricity and security. The owners Jeannette and Walter Derungs are Swiss who have lived mostly in the USA before settling in the DR. Our goal is to make sure our guests go home with happy memories of an active yet relaxing vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hooked Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing