We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful oasis with great community” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hooked Cabarete

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hooked Cabarete
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis with great community”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hooked was exactly what we were looking for - a homey/individual place with comfortable accommodations and the perfect balance of guests interacting and enjoying the peace of the place. Sosua and Cabarete are a short drive away so you can dance and eat out and still return to your peaceful and quiet bungalow at night; the location is ideal for surfers. The property and the kitchenette bungalows are carefully and thoughtfully maintained, and there are many amenities - a grill, a pool, board games, dogs, scooters - to make staying on the property easy and engaging. The hosts (this time, their niece) are truly an integral part of creating the community and comfort of Hooked, and go 150% of the extra mile to make guests feel personally integrated into the Cabarete life. We were two friends who tend to avoid all-inclusives or depersonalized hotels, but were somewhat wary about booking a place that wasn't directly on the beach or in the center of either Sosua or Cabarete. Cannot stress enough how happy and thankful we were that we decided on Hooked.

Room Tip: Bungalows that face beach-direction get better ocean breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
36
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have to say you cannot find better hosts than Jeanette and Walter. We were picked up by Marino, their very nice driver and got to the place safe and sound. I loved our bungalow apartment. There were cute tropical touches everywhere: bamboo furniture, a hammock on our patio. The grounds were well maintained and our bungalow was nice and had everything we needed. We opted for the a/c since my boyfriend needed it, and it wasn't costly. We were there for surfing and they are in a great easy walking location. Since we do dawn patrol, it was a quick walk to the beach every morning. We also went down to watch the sunset at night, They also had scooters we rented and took into town. We had a great time barbecuing at the grill, drinking coconuts by the pool, and relaxing after surfing. On our last day it was my boyfriend's birthday and they were sweet enough to go to a baker and get me a cake for him. I cannot say enough how much we really enjoyed our time here. Thank you Walter and Jeanette! We LOVE you and your establishment! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We, a family of 4, are just back from our 2nd vacation at Hooked.
Everything was just perfect and we were so happy to come back being welcomed like family.
Our boys, 15 and 8 loved the pool and we all had a great time surfing.
The fresh fish delivered by the fisherman and (perfectly organized by Walter the owner),
was delicious. The place is clean and simple, all one needs.
We recommend this place at anytime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MareikeLenhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Lovely accommodations a short walk from the premier surfing beach Playa Encuentro. The owners Walter and Jeanette live on the property and provide the most friendly and professional support to their guests. It was a wonderfully relaxing vacation, and I look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Honestly I was skeptical of going to a place in a different country that I had no idea about. When we got there it was like we were family. He personally took us to get groceries and get our money exchanged then showed us around the town. I really dk their intention is to make money I think they just love this job and love the different people from all over the world staying there. Always felt safe, and at one point we left our room with all our money and valuables laying around, not knowing they did room service every day, and every cent was just moved off to the side so they could clean for us, never felt the need to use the safe provided. They were so kind, and all of the people staying there were some of the coolest people I have ever met! Highly recommend if you are going to stay around this area you stay at this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestonBuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Take us back! My husband and I just returned from a weeklong stay at Hooked Cabarete and have nothing but good things to say about it.

The rooms were extremely clean and private and the grounds were beautifully maintained, not to mention the fun surf that is only a short walk down the road!

Walter and Jeanette were wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make sure that we had everything we needed, and had great advice for what to do and where to go in the area.

The trip exceeded our expectations and we can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

5 stars plus 5 more. If you want to have an absolutely perfect Caribbean vacation, stay at Hooked. The accommodations were great, hospitality was amazing, and the grounds were extremely quiet and relaxing.

Hooked gave us everything we were expecting out of this vacation and then some.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cabarete hotels
2.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
3.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Taina
Hotel Villa Taina
#5 of 20 in Cabarete
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Alegria
Hotel Alegria
#8 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Millennium Resort & Spa
Millennium Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.4 mi away
Velero Beach Resort
Velero Beach Resort
#2 of 20 in Cabarete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coconut Palms Resort
Coconut Palms Resort
#14 of 20 in Cabarete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hooked Cabarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hooked Cabarete

Property: Hooked Cabarete
Address: Calle Los Cocos 120/121, Cabarete 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Cabarete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Cabarete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hooked Cabarete 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hooked Cabarete is the accommodation located closest (500m) from the world-class surf spot called Playa Encuentro in Cabarete. Our guests are active people who "hate" big All Inclusive resorts. We cater to wave surfers, kiters, wind surfers, divers, hikers, mountain bikers, yoga enthusiasts, Spanish learners etc Our studio apartments are located around a pool in a tropical garden. Our place is very quiet, safe and clean. We drinkable water from every tap and 24/7 electricity and security. The owners Jeannette and Walter Derungs are Swiss who have lived mostly in the USA before settling in the DR. Our goal is to make sure our guests go home with happy memories of an active yet relaxing vacation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hooked Cabarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing