We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel in June with my friend. We were greeted by miserable staff who could barely speak English. After a long day traveling all we wanted to do was go to bed. However, after finally been shown to our rooms, we were appalled. There was no running water. The main light was flickering, and the bed-side lamp was broken. I looked on the bed and the pillow had what looked like a vomit stain on it, and there was a foundation mark on the sheets proving they had not been washed since the last person stayed. The balcony sliding door did not shut properly letting all the mosquitoes in.
We went downstairs to the lobby straight away to complain. After a whole night of complaining, we were finally accommodated to a room on the other side of the hotel, which was apparently a newer build. This room was acceptable and much nicer.
We were unimpressed by the food as it seemed like it had been left out for days and re-used, with not much variety. Stray cats were lingering whilst we were eating. The pool was ok but not completely clean like expected. After speaking to other guests we discovered that a lot of the locals were allowed in the hotel at the weekends, which made us feel a bit uncomfortable. However, one thing that we could not complain about was the beach- it was stunning.
In total we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights instead of the 14 we had payed for, and those 3 days were spent trying to get into another hotel. We finally found a hotel that wasn't fully booked, and had to travel all the way to Punta Cana. We were moved to Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe, and although the move made our holiday so much more expensive it was worth every penny. After a terrible start at Coral Costa Caribe, we were finally able to enjoy our holiday at our hotel in Punta Cana. Please take this advise and do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest:
We would like to offer our sincerely apologies for any inconveniences or dissatisfaction that you have had during your recent stay with us.

We deeply regret that we did not meet your expectations and that our services and facilities have not been satisfactory.

In our hotel we are constantly working to improve our services and facilities, in order to ensure the satisfaction of our guests and our staff strives to offer a personalized and high quality service.

In regard some situations in the rooms, please allow us to inform you that was an isolated case and does not reflect the conditions of all the rooms in the hotel. Our housekeeping department has high standards of service, working with the best disposition. We work hard every day to ensure that our rooms show the comfort and good conditions that our guests required.

Our hotel offer quality food specially prepared for the diversity of our guests. Also, we provide to our valued customers delicious meals with the splendid and desired seasoning of the Caribbean. We also can assure you that we have a strict program of food quality and hygiene and it is supported by the Crystal America that includes monthly audits.

We ensure a proficient maintenance service in the entire infrastructure of the resort, as indeed we consider of great importance to keep all our rooms facilities and equipment working adequately.

Finally we would like to emphasize you that our employees have good knowledge of English and we are constantly offering courses to all our staff to reinforce the level of conversation, especially to the staff that is in direct contact with the customer. Please be reminded that Spanish is our mother language and the pronunciation of a foreign language might not be perfect.

We hope to have the occasion of receiving you in the near future with the intention of improving the experience that you had of the Hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    558
    425
    350
    428
See reviews for
499
643
124
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
159 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It is a good beach hotel. Food is good, selection could improve but it's not bad. Customer service could improve. We loved the ice cream availability. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The atmosphere is good and allows you to relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArturoFeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzaida N, General Manager at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest:
We appreciate that you have shared with us the comment concerning your stay here in Coral Costa Caribe.
We grateful your comments and it are useful to continue improvement our services and facilities to meet their expectations.
Our main goal is to have all our guest leave the property completely satisfied and with plans to return, again.
Thanks for having chosen our hotel and will look forward to serving you again in the near future

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner & I were asked to stay at this hotel for a friends destination wedding nearby. First the food was not edible or healthy for human consumption. There were stray cats begging for food in the buffet restaurant. Horrible food choices at the buffet and filthy cups for coffee. The room was filthy and there wasn't any running water in the shower. We immediately complained and were questioned as though we were lying, so they sent a representative up to our room & were shown proof there wasn't any running water at all...! We were on the second floor and our roof had holes in the ceiling...! The night table lamps had broken light bulb fixtures. The pillows on the bed felt as though they might be infested with bugs...! The air conditioner was so loud we couldn't get a restful night's sleep and the power would intermittently go on & off. When we called room service to complain, we were given the run around and were forced to physically go down to the lobby to explain our concerns and were ignored repeatedly. We didn't have internet access because their service was down...but we were desperate to check into another hotel immediately....! It felt as though we were at the Hotel California where "you can check in...but you can never leave...!" When we expressed our disappointment to the hotel representative he told us we were not entitled to even a partial refund even though we were uncomfortable & dissatisfied with the accommodations & lack of service. We were finally able to get internet service and connect with The Bavaro Princess in Punta Cana where we were greeted warmly and well taken care of by their wonderful staff, service & accommodations. Do yourself a big favor and stay away from this nightmare...you'll thank me in the end...!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sundancenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for the time dedicated to share with us the comments concerning your past stay in our resort.
We would like to offer a sincerely apologies for any inconveniences and dissatisfaction that you had during the stay and we deeply regret to know that we did not met your expectations.
In regarding your comments about our rooms, we would like to inform you that we are under a continuous process of improvement to guarantee the satisfaction of our clients. Our housekeeping department revises and prepares every room prior the assignment and confirms all the items. The room’s spaces were designed to offer our clients the comfort that they deserve to receive.

We also would like to inform you that offer high quality food specially prepared for the diversity of our guests and our restaurants menus offer a mix of cuisine popular national and international.
We are very concerned about the situations that you have reported; especially because it does not reflect the welcoming and friendly service we provide to our appreciated guests. We guarantee to our client’s their security and help to correct any situations while they are in our property.
We would appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to amend any situation that could have affected you and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you in our property again in the near future.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am a frequent traveler to the DR, as I worked and lived there for a few years. I also had worked in the area of Juan Dolio, when it was a good place to travel with decent hotels. Well it has certainly changed a lot. The beaches of Juan Dolio are nice, it is close to the city so I could travel to Santo-Domingo, etc.. This hotel is extremely in a bad shape, not well cared for, I had a good view, but the AC did not work properly, it was noisy, covered with real ice when they removed the cover. The ceiling in the bathroom was always leaking, I even had a real rain shower right above the sink. I took the 2 weeks vacation I had to always solve this or that. Upon my return I send a claim with pictures showing the proof of what had happened and the hotel answered back, that they did not have any records at all. Their Public Relations personal is very incompetent, unpleasant like they say in DR (no sirben para nada). I never, with the years visiting and working in that country have seen such horrrrrrrible service. this hotel does not even deserve a star. Imagine the hotel management has offered me a one night stay for free as for the Air Transat Vacations, they did not offer anything at all!!!!

Room Tip: would not recommend nothing at all, too bad the beach was so nice, the only good think about this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to offer a sincerely apologies for any dissatisfaction that you have had during the time with us.
Our main goal is to have all our guest leave the property completely satisfied and with plans to return.
We deeply regret the perception and situations that you have had and we can guarantee that our hotel we strive to provide each of our clients a quality service, in addition to ensuring the satisfaction to our guests.
We do not understand the situations you describe us because our staff is characterized by attend all requests or complaints from our clients.
We would have liked the opportunity to receive your feedback during the stay in order to improve any situations.
We, also regret that our compensation was not satisfactory.
I just hope that you reconsider your decision and allow us to serve you again in the future.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We came to costa carribe on 27'th of june stayed there for 14 days. I wouldn't recommend this place for familys with children. We've been told by our travel agent it is 4 star Hotel in my opinnion it deserves maximum 3 stars. Our in check ime wan't really great lady wasn't very friendly and her english knowlege wan't very good. First room that we got was terrible ( 1524) airco didn't work, everything was so old and dirty, after complain and lot's of troubles with it after 2 days we moved into new room in another side of the building ( S217) room was much better, housekeeping was good but not fantastic ( they didn't change our bed thru out all stay, towels were changed every 2 days). Food was ok but during weekennd if u came late there wasn't much left. 3 restaurants were never open all in the same time, during my 14 days stay Domincan was opened only 3 times. i was told by my travel agent it's perfect place for children, which wan't rue what so ever. Children corner is nothing they shouldn't even call it like that. No entartiments for children what so ever during the day for adults only aqua aerobic and 1 game. Evening entertaiment were nice can't say anything wrong about them. Main swimming pool for the first 3 days was good later on water was so dirty that u can't emagine. Pool bar (inside pool) was opened only for the first 2 days of my stay. beach was ok, not very big range to swim but ok. Sales people on the beach the most annoying people i've ever seen didn't take no for an answer. If u didn't buy staff from them they were coming back every 5 minutes making sure u didn't change ur mind and putting staff inside my childs hands so that she liked something and screaming for it to buy. if u bought something they were back at least 3 times a day more to check if u don't want to buy more. I bought 1 hour massage on the beach after 30 minutes lady said ur time is up 1 hour have passed, after i showed her my stopwatch she did massage me for 15 minjutes more. Bars out of cups at least 3 times a day. I wouldn't come back there ever again, but if u are travelling without children and looking for cheap stay this place is ok.

Room Tip: pick new side of hotel. I was satying in room S217. This room compering to my first room in main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzaida N, General Manager at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for sharing the comments of your experience with us and others travelers on Trip Advisor.

We would like to offer a sincerely apologies for any inconveniences and dissatisfaction that you have had during the time with us and deeply regret to know that we were not able to exceed your expectations.

We are continuously working hard to improve our services and facilities to exceed the expectations of our valued clients.
Also, we would like to inform you that offer high quality food specially prepared for the diversity of our guests and our restaurants menus offer a mix of cuisine popular national and international.
Our staffs have good knowledge of the English language and others languages and constantly receiving courses to reinforce the level of conversation and pronunciation.

We are very concerned about the situations that you have reported; especially because it does not reflect the welcoming and friendly service we provide to our appreciated guests. We guarantee to our client’s their security and help to correct any situations while they are in our property.
We would appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to amend any situation that could have affected you and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you in our property again in the near future.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vordingborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

First problem. We checked in today with our three children and could not get rooms next to each other, even though our travel agent mailed a request for this in advance. We have got two rooms far from each other:-( This is very dissapointing.
Second problem. Door knob is missing in one of the rooms, so we can not close the door. We complained right away but nothing has happened so far. The time now is 21:43 and we are really tired after a long day of travelling, but can not go to sleep before the door can be closed from inside. We complained second time at about 20:30, and was promised that the the problem would be solved within 15 minutes!! We wonder if we will get any sleep tonight?
Third problem. Tiles on the floor are not horisontal and the door is hanging, so it is really hard work to close the door.

This is only the first night out of 14. We hope it will not continue like this. We will update our review after a few days.



Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobraleif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzaida N, Asistente de Gerencia at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for sharing the comments of your stay in our hotel.
With all sincerity, we regret the inconveniences you had since coming to our facility.
We would like to inform you that our hotel will always do our best to fill all our guests' requests, but these are subject to availability.
Also, we want to emphasize that our department Housekeeping and Maintenance continually review our rooms and we ensure that it are in optimal conditions of operation and cleaning.
We only hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stay out here with my family because every five star resorts were completely full so I though I'll give it a shot even if it was rank a 3 star due to the fact that I stay here before as a child.when I first arrived there, some lady behind the counter told us it was fill. Her manager over heard her an said she was lying so we stayed in line an ended up getting 2 rooms. When had room s403 & S414. Original we had S412 which is out of service an had no door handle so we when down an complained. The bed cover looked cleaned from above but was terrible dirty from the bottom, looked at like poop on the sheets. The people cleaning the room the next day completely skipped us so we had to go ask for more towels an toilet paper an everything else that was missing. On top of that there food was horrible, worst thing I have ever eaten. The last day of my stay I had to starve myself so I won't have to eat there food or drink there drinks. From someone who use to love this place I wouldn't recommend it to no one. It's so bad they were promoting another resort inside that resort. An if you have kids don't go for sure because they treat your kids as if they were a no body. My little brother wanted some chocolate milk so the guy behind the counter disconnected the whole machine. So from this professional Youtuber point of view I wouldn't even send my worst enemy here.
Youtube.com/OfficialArroyo

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzaida N, General Manager at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest:
We deeply regret that our hotel has not met your expectations and that our services have not been completely satisfactory.
In our hotel we strive to provide excellent quality service and guarantee the satisfaction of our guests.
We have a good t and varied menu in our buffet and menu selected in our a la carte restaurants.
Our housekeeping staff works continuously at cleaning and comfort of our rooms and all our public areas.
We would like to have the opportunity to serve you again with the intention to change and improve the perception you have of our hotel.

Very cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
12.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
13.2 mi away
Don Juan Beach Resort
Don Juan Beach Resort
#9 of 19 in Boca Chica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa

Property: Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Address: Calle Principal km 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe. The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Juan Dolio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing