We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Reviewed 19 November 2010

This was my 3rd trip at this hotel. In january we are going back for our 4th time for two weeks. I have read alot of the review and totaly desigree with a lot of the review. This hotel is clean, comfortable. The food is great and the restaurant a la carte are excellent. Again lots of people can't appreciate thart there are not in their country for THE CHOICE they HAVE BACK HOME, LIKE MacDonald, Keg, Boston pizza etc....Remember that you are in Dominican Republic not the USA or Canada. All in all this is a fine hotel with excellent staff, the beach is beautiful, the food great and lovely room. I will return for many years to come.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jpdupuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

I read the reviews on here prior to traveling but still selected this hotel based on location. It was certainly worth the value. Plenty of food and food options, good entertainment, pleasant and courteous staff members. If I had to say anything negative, and I really don't think it was that bad, it would be that you have to plan on letting the water run at least 15 minutes for it to get hot and the beds were really hard. Aside from that it was a great week. The companies on-site that provide excursions are excellent. We went on several excursions and found them to be EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FunINDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Please DO NOT STAY at this hotel. My friend and I were constantly harassed by the male staff and one crossed the line after I told him that I wasn’t interested. It happened on the beach in the middle of the afternoon on our third day. The employee, Francisco (sports and activities staff), rubbed his foot on my private parts while I was on a beach chair and he was sitting in the sand next to me. Not only was the action unwelcome it was intolerable and heinous. My friend and I immediately contacted management. We left the hotel after management did very little to resolve the problem (sent us a fruit basket and told us that we would not see that particular employee). The male staff at the C.C.C. were constantly making sexual innuendos and pestering us to leave the hotel with them. Customer Service Manager, Gregorio, refused to aid us in finding another hotel, refund our stay, or even pay for the taxi to our next hotel. He did however provide us a phone call to the States so that we could contact our travel agent for help.

Parents do not leave your daughters alone at any time at this hotel. Please don't even let them go do any activities with staff members alone! Better yet, stay somewhere else!

Our wonderful travel agent from Perx.com came to our rescue and was able to find us accommodation at the Oasis Hamaca in Boca Chica. It was wonderful, everything that the Coral Costa Caribe wasn’t, the food was ten times better, the drinks were equally better and the accommodations were impeccable!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klj_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChCCC, Manager at Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2011

Dear Client:

We would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for any situation that may have affected you during your past stay in our property, at the time we would like to mention that an independent concessionaire who is not associated nor related economically nor legally to the Hotel administers the Water Activities company working in the resort, please be advised that this company is not related to our entertainment staff as you mention.

We take this opportunity to inform you that our internal policies do not allow such behavior from any of the members of our staff or concessionaire employees working in the resort, to reassure the safety of our environment for the enjoyment of our clients vacations, our Security department work towards to ensure a family ambiance without circumstances that may concern our clients.

Thank you again and we would seriously appreciate if you could give us another opportunity to welcome you in our property to have the occasion of changing the perception you have of our Resort.


Regards,


Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa & Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This hotel was an absolute joke. My friends and I traveled from Massachusetts and were treated very poorly by the native staff. We went during a local holiday weekend where alot of natives of the DR were staying. The difference in service between myself/friends and the Dominican guests was extremely blatant. We were outright ignored in comparison to the good service the Dominicans were getting. We are pretty low maintenance and not difficult to please. What an awful feeling to pay for a trip and be treated as if we were invisible.

The showers are awful. Freezing cold water that comes out as a trickle. We ended up showering at the pool shower because it was a little warmer and had better pressure. The rooms are fairly clean and decent for sleeping.

They also outright lie to you about the snorkeling excursion. They clearly show you a brochure that says you will take a luxury glass bottom boat to a snorkeling spot, then off to Catalina Island for a lobster dinner included. Guess what folks? A rickety old boat with nails exposed in the baseboards, no provision of snorkeling gear, and lobster is an additional $30 when you get to the island. I tried to dispute the charge on my debit card after the trip and Caribe refused to compromise. Customer service plain old sucks.

The food was very average...nothing to rave about. The only good thing about this hotel is the beach.....not enough for me to recommend or to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nminer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

My sister and I decided on The Coral Costa Caribe based on a few reviews. The location was far from the airport, we were in the car for at least 3 hours and after a flight it was an uncomfortable ride. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The buffet food was excellent but the al la cart restaurants were not. The beach was unbelievable, so clean and safe looked like a postcard. I was unhappy with the amount of handlers on the beach. While getting some sun we were constantly hounded by locals selling little treasures, massages, and apparel. The most frustrating was the internet, it was NEVER available. We had a hard time communicating back home. It was our first trip and i would give it a 5. I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nadia5994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This hotel is very average. We got a steal of a price for a room so I felt like it was worth it. The beach is pretty, the pool is fine.....nothing spectaular at all. The food at the buffet is a new level of terrible; however, there are plenty of fruits to choose from. I would not want to stay at this place for more than a few nights. Juan Dolio is close to Santo Domingo (45 mins or so) and there is lots to do there. Do not stay here for a whole week, but if you're passing through the area I think this place is fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mh77mh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I had mixed feelings going to this hotel after reading the negative reviews but I must say that I was pleasantly surprised with my stay there. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful.
The hotel is very beautiful and is kept clean at all times. The beach is beautiful and clean and there are plenty of lounge chairs to go around.
There was plenty of variety of food can't say that I got bored with it. Entertainment was good and they were very friendly too.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Remember it is not the Ritz Carlton but it is definitely worth the money. Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beba24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
1.2 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
172 reviews
0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Casa Hemingway
Hotel Casa Hemingway
#4 of 12 in Juan Dolio
13 reviews
12.7 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
0.5 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Principal km 55, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range: £80 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the warm ocean waters of the Caribbean, enjoy a limitless family-oriented vacation experience. There are fun-filled activities under the sun for all. Our activities program includes water sports and one of the best white sand and boundless turquoise water beaches. Savor an outburst of flavors with a signature Caribbean flavor. These are just some of the ways in which you will keep busy during your stay at Coral Costa Caribe. The warmth of our staff is best expressed by the careful attention given to every small detail. Cradle yourself in the midst of its lush vegetation covered by impeccable tropical gardens surrounded by tropical flowers and trees. Seek refuge in one of our comfortable guest rooms; the heart and soul of the destination is embodied in its decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Costa Caribe Resort, Spa And Casino
Coral Costa Caribe Hotel Juan Dolio
Hilton International Juan Dolio
Costa Caribe Coral Hilton
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Juan Dolio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing