We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 days was more than enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“7 days was more than enough”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay while in DR for volunteer work, and it is that. On the positive side: it is clean, fridge in room, well landscaped,small resort,bar drinks free and usually, but not always good, friendly staff,AC was cold, room facing the ocean. Negatives: food is uninteresting and repetitive, service is slow, breakfast rarely opened on time and we were being picked up early,patio door to balcony didn't lock, WiFi only worked in lobby,music very loud at bar,leak from ceiling in bathroom, AC hose kept coming apart so balcony floor often wet, were never supplied with enough towels,facecloths and had to go to get more every day.

Room Tip: only 20 rooms face ocean, be sure to ask for one. Be prepared to climb stairs to rooms-ask ahead if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    75
    34
    21
    29
See reviews for
34
102
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My friend and i moved here after a night at a not so nice place and we were so happy we did. It's intimate and friendly, clean and well taken care of. The staff is delightful and helpful, the beach is private and charming. It was the perfect relaxing vacation. We felt so at home and welcome. I will go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SusanV968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel is very nice and the room gets all the applause, very clean and the staff is nice, but it the alcoholic beverages are the worst category, I recommend that you bring your own drinks or buy one in any "Colmado" near, the food is good, but always cold, that is always cold, and the variety is extremely limited but had good preparation, the beach is very very good, excellent, the TV in the room is very small it´s seems a computer monitor, but this looks like a minor detail in contrast with the rest of the room, I strongly recommend the rooms with sea view, it is worth the monetary difference. if you are not very demanding and want to spend some days in a quiet place, I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 12y5vedado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

past the turn-style that is boca chica lies guayacanes and playa esmeralda. it's been renovated recently. i don't know what it looked like before but it's very tastefully decorated now. the rooms are spacious, the bathrooms clean with ample towels. the rooms are decorated with understated colors with local artwork. everything is very clean. it's quiet and relaxing. they do have music going near the beach but not at a level where the speakers are straining.
the staff are excellent. they're attentive and respond to your needs immediately but they're not overbearing. i also get the sense that the owners actually treat them with respect too. something that is lacking in many places here.
we arrived hungry and asked where we could buy food locally because it was between meals. instead, they brought out a large meat and cheese platter for us within minutes.
for those that are interested: the rooms have flat screen tvs, a/c, mini fridge, electric kettle, free bottled water, a ceiling fan, desk, bathrobes and a bidet. there's a small, but well stocked reading library. most of the rooms do not look out onto the ocean but they're all situated to provide a nice view of foliage or the courtyard.
it truly is a welcome change from many of the resorts that charge high rates simply because they're on the beach; yet the rooms feel like a airport motel 6. this place is cheaper than some of the more well known resorts but i feel it's a much better value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JugoDeChinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Two Rivers
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Spent a delightful day/evening at Playa Esmeralda, in Jan 2010, after a mission trip. It's newly remodeled, and everything has been updated,and freshly painted. Was surprised to see a bidet in the bathroom. The help, especially Claudia and Emelio, were very polite and eager to be helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinnerWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Let's start with the positive. The resort was clean and new. They were just finishing a large renovation/upgrading of all of the rooms. The bathroom fixtures were new and the rooms were very clean. We felt safe there. There was security 24 hours per day. The security guards were pleasant and helpful. The staff were very eager to help and make our stay a good one. The beach is lovely and the pool was clean and refreshing.

Now the not so good. Soon after we arrived we realized that perhaps they were'nt ready for us and should not have accepted our reservation. There was only one other couple there from New York and they left three days after we arrived, leaving us as the only people in the resort, except for New Year's eve. Being alone at the resort was fine in itself. However, because we were alone, the service was pretty poor. The pool bar was not wroking when we arrived and we litterly had to searhc for someone to bring us a beer. Breakfast was a very poor and skimpy continental breakfast with INSTANT COFFEE. Imagine all of that great DR coffee and we had instant coffee. And no fresh fruit. The chef was from Rome Italy. Therefore, every meal everyday was Italian: Antipasto, pasta and meat/fish. There was no food available from breakfast until 1:30pm and then no food available until 8:30pm. NOTHING. There was no entertainment in the evening, evening though the entertainer was there all the time we were there. Overall, everyone there was very attentive but the systems they had to work with were faulty and, therefore, our vacation was not exactly one to remember in a positive way. I wish the new owners luck in building their business; however, if they continue to only try to appeal to Italian customers I think they'll have trouble.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolyroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We stayed here for three nights during the week (not a weekend) this month and had a great experience. We virtually had the beach all to ourselves.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, the food was good, some of it excellent, the view wonderful, the service adequate, the sun and sea great. We had come here off of a very busy month and from here were heading into Santa Domingo for work. It was a great place to kick back, read a book, swim (which we did every morning and afternoon), enjoy the sand and sea, talk and rest.

If booking here you should know that you will get what yoy pay for. This is not a up scale resort. It is much more European in nature. The food is good, but it is sort of a mix of Italian (the owners) and Dominican, not American. The beach is great, but not the best on the Island, We found the swimming to be great for us.

Our room had a great view (see pictures). The bed was OK but not the greatest. The AC was cold, but we only used it one night because usually the sea breeze was cool enough. There is cable TV with a good assortment of English speaking programing, but much of it in Spanish. There is daily maid service with new towels every day.

The bar and restaurant area is really nice, though in the evening, since where you eat is open to the outside, there can be a lot of mosquitoes. Be sure to pack a lightweight long sleeved shirt and some long pants/slacks and bring repellent. There are no screens on your windows, so bugs in your room are a real possibility.

We rated this place very high because it met our expectations. This is exactly the kind of place we wanted. We have traveled around the world quite a bit and have stayed in a wide variety of places. If you are expecting a plush resort and stay here, you will be disappointed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mr2man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Dolio
3.6 mi away
Plaza Real Resort
Plaza Real Resort
#7 of 12 in Juan Dolio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Be Live Experience Hamaca Garden
2.5 mi away
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort

Property: Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
Address: Paseo Vicini, Guayacanes | San Pedro de Marcoris, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Juan Dolio
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Esmeralda Beach Hotel Juan Dolio
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort Dominican Republic/Juan Dolio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing