We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Lobo & La Sal Cocina de Mar - CLOSED

El Lobo & La Sal Cocina de Mar
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I went to this place base on previews reviews, the food is Terrible and overpriced. There are better option for better price in the area,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Asoto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Exceptional welcome & good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

The El Lobo is a great place to eat, with a fantastic welcoming smile and greeting from Joel who is not only the chef ( & brilliant he is as well at his job!!) but he also owns the establishment. Its in a great location, and the ribs he cooked us were to die for! I would highly recommend the El Lobo as a place with friendly welcoming staff, amazing food & a great atmosphere, that is not over priced and you will be served quality food with a ready smile, at all times. You will go back over & over again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Mo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our Favorite in Juan Dolio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

We spent Aprill 21 through May 13 in Juan Dolio and were given the name of several restaurants to try while we were there on vacation. By far the best was El Lobo!!! Not only was the food outstanding, but chef Joel Matos treated us like family and he and his staff catered to our every need and made fantastic recommendations. The location is right on the beach and the Sunday afternoon music really tops off a great experience. We enjoyed it so much we went back to celebrate our last night in the D.R. This should be ranked #1 on Tripadvisor.

David and Penni Arney
Branson, Mo

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darney_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it. Thank You!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

After four days of bad food finding this place was heaven. Food is amazing, service is awesome, great music as well. They will make you feel at home. I had the arroz con coco, OMG, just as my mom used to make. Fried fish was very good. Friends ordered ceviche, ribs, chorizo, camarones al ajillo, everything was delicious. Nothing bad to say about this place, even the bathroom looked good:))

If you have the chance please try it. You won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Levi70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
“Best Dining Experience in Juan Dolio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was the best restaurant that we visited by far. The owner and chef, Joel Matos, was more than accomodating! He was fantastic! We were ready to bring him home! Great food, a fabulous atmosphere and a beautiful view was just the combination to make this a great place to visit. If only we had this in the US. I would recommend this restaurant before any other in the Dominican Republic. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Lobo & La Sal Cocina de Mar also viewed

Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
 
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
Juan Dolio, San Pedro de Macoris Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing