We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent alternative to All-Inclusives”
Review of Plaza Real Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plaza Real Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Juan Dolio
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent alternative to All-Inclusives”
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed here over Christmas. Juan Dolio appears to have very few choices for hotels that are not All-Inclusive. That being said, Plaza Real is a decent choice if you don't like All-Inclusives. It is a small, independent hotel located in Juan Dolio. The beach is very pretty. You can walk for a long time along the shore. The hotel itself is located across the street from the beach. We did have access directly across the street. Not sure if that will change when construction of a new building is complete. The rooms are fine. Our room did not have air conditioning; fine for December but could be a problem at other times as there were few windows in the room. Lighting was terrible, so if you like to read at night- forget it. There was a big fridge but it was super noisy and really smelled so we didn't use it. The pool area was small but pleasant and quiet. It was filled and a small water fall was working. There is a pool bar area run by a friendly Cuban family. The restaurant up front is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is a store next door, laundry next door, and a few restaurants in easy walking distance. Please note that there are many private residences. Do not attempt to cross from the beach to the road through any of them. Many are guarded by dogs and unfortunately my husband got bit. By the way, there is a 24 hour clinic in town!

  • Liked — It was not All-Inclusive and was near the beach, rstaurants, and shops
  • Disliked — Few windows in room, cost seemd high for the quality
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    47
    32
    11
    25
See reviews for
36
68
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

i had booked the plaza real resort in juan dolio for 11/24/2008 which was billed as a "beachfront resort" upon arrival down a dirt side road it was obvious the beach was across the street in between alot of construction and a very busy street almost impossible to access the beach so i looked around the resort because the pool looked beautiful in the pictures but guess what it was empty(no water)it took me 5 minutes to call a cab and get the heck out of there not worth it at any price when you can go down the street and be right on the water a total disaster

Helpful?
4 Thank joedianesal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juan Dolio hotels

Miami
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2008

Good quality for low price. My children had a lot of fun in the swimming pool, while me and my wife had wonderful time together in the beach, which is really in front of the resort. The beach was just beautiful, with white sand and palm trees, the sea of clear, green water. All the staff of Plaza Real are really nice. See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PrinifromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Despite some initial difficulties with Travelocity in getting the right room booked we had a great time there. Juan Dolio itself isn't the most exciting of places but it provides a great base for a week in the DR. We travelled to Santo Domingo for a day and took boat trips to Saona ($55) and Catalina ($50) islands on other days. The rooms were a little dusty, but the service in general was good. The pool is fantastic and the restaurant at the front is very good value. I'd recommend having lunch at the Freedom Bar which is about 800m down the street and is run by a very helpful English expat. The construction site noise was a bit annoying, but overall I'd still recommend the place.

  • Liked — The pool and Juan Dolio's proximity to both La Romana and Santo Domingo
  • Disliked — Dusty, construction site noise.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BCAustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2008

I spent christmas time in Juan Dolio. Plaza Real Resort for my opinion is the best for young people. Is not expensive and the fantastic beach of Juan Dolio only 50 mt from resort. All the girls of the recepcion are friendly also if they do not speak a perfect English. Rooms are spacious and fully equipped. Garden and swimming pool are very beautiful. There are many shops and two restaurants, Cafè Real is the best.
Would return to same hotel next year !

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklin_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

The hotel building itself is okay. You can tell that when it was originally built it was really nice. The staff and service on the other hand is bad.
The Good is that there is a restaurant onsite. There is a fridge, stove, pots/pans, plates, cups and utensils provided in room. There is a Banco Popular bank on the same street but the ATM machine goes down a lot.
The Bad: no phones in the rooms, the TV is 13" or less, no phone books or information on the area or restaurants available in the rooms. Steep stairs no elevators-not good for someone with a bad heart like me. There are alot of deep potholes on that street and there are more than 4 other high rise hotels/condos being built on that street so all you here all day long is banging, sawing and drilling. Right now you can cut through the yards of the hotels being built to get to the beach but once all of the construction is over you may have to drive to another beach because I am sure the newer hotels will not let non-guests access the beach through their properities. There is a lot of rust, mildew and other buildup on the sink and in the shower.
The maid was nice but did not have good cleaning techniques. She came up to the 4th floor with a bucket of water, a mop and a rag. She wiped the bathroom sink and toilet with the rag, then came to the kitchen area in the room and wiped off the kitchen counter with the same rag that she had just cleaned the bathroom with. There was also a dirty knife in the sink that I had used in peanut butter which she wiped it off with the same dirty (bathroom/kitchen) rag (no soap or water was used) then she put the knife back in the drawer. Needless to say I went to one of the mini markets and bought dishwashing liquid and a sponge to wash all of the utensils I had used and would be using.
Because there is no phone in the room everytime you need something you have to walk down to the small detached/reception building to make your request. So if it is raining you would get wet each time you needed to go to the reception desk. At 9am one day I went to the reception area to ask Angie for some assistance with lighting the stove (the maid had told me that all I needed was some matches to use the stove-so I bought some at the mini market). At 11am no one had come up to help with the stove so I went back downstairs to ask the clerk Angie why no one had come up to see what was wrong with the stove and was told that the gentleman had told her that he had come to my room but that I had the sign on the door so he didn't knock or come in but just left. (They have a wooden sign in 3 languages on both sides-1 side says: DO NOT CLEAN ROOM TODAY the other side says: DO NOT DISTURB). I had the sign on DO NOT CLEAN THE ROOM TODAY since I saw how the maid cleaned the room the day before.) I asked the clerk Angie to please send someone, but no one came so I went downstairs for the 3rd time at around 12pm and waited by the desk until she found someone at 12:15. When the gentleman came up to the room he had to unlock and turn on the gas which was located under the sink. No apologies no explanations. I agree with the previous review. The Dominican Republic sucks. The people are prejudice against dark skinned people which is stupid because several of them are dark. They take there job responsibilities very lightly and don't seem to belive in good customer service. The employees and their friends who stopped by seemed to be enjoying the hotel more than the guests. I was so glad to cross it off my list of places to visit. The only thing I was pleased about was the fact that as a tourist it was pretty easy driving around on the only 2 expressways that I say (Hwy 3 and Hwy 4). Beware of the begging juvenile that hang out at the intersections and the fast food joints (Burger King & McDonald's). At the intersections in La Romana they would throw a wet dirty sponge onto your windshield as you drive up to the light and start to wash your windows even if you asked them to stop. I had 2 rock the small car that I was in back in forth with me in it and almost turn it over because I wouldn't pay them after they had washed the windshield as I drove out of La Romana. I took some pictures I'll try to remember to come back and add them.

  • Liked — fridge and stove in room, nice pool
  • Disliked — stairs, detached reception, bad customer service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marabou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2007

Room number 27 at US$60 per night in March 2007. The roof leaked during rain, and we had to move the beds out of the way. The room didn't seem very clean, probably because it was aging. The bathroom is old and the shower head along with the water tube came off in my hand. The hotel is located near the beach, but actually getting to the sand requires a long walk down the street where you can cut through an empty lot. When that lot is built out, I don't see how you'll be able to use the beach since the other hotels and condo buildings don't provide access to non-guests. The hot water heater was only 15 gallons, so you have about 7-8 minutes to take a warm shower. There was a balcony that overlooked the pool. There was a tiny color TV with limited cable channels. When the staff congregated with each other they were laughing and smiling, but the moment a guest needed something, the smiles just faded away. This is the same through much of the Dominican Republic, not just at this particular hotel. They have internet available in the lobby for 60 pesos per hour. The Italian restaurant on the premises was pretty good and priced about the same as others in the area. They do not accept credit cards for the hotel, but they do in the restaurant. There is an onsite laundry service which I did not use. I doubt that I will ever return to the Dominican Republic, mainly because the prices are too high for what you get and the service employees just aren't friendly. If I were to go to a beach near the capital, it would be Boca Chica since there were more things to do there. Juan Dolio Beach was just kind of boring. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend, but the only other options are the all-inclusive places which were over $120 a night for two people. You may as well go to Hawaii with these prices.

Note to editor: there is another property listed in this city with an almost identical name with many more reviews... Playa Real Resort. I don't know if it's the same place or not. Plaza Real is on Ave. Boulevard in Villas del Mar beach. The phone number to the hotel is [--].


  • Liked — The Italian restaurant on premises
  • Disliked — Condition of the rooms
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juan Dolio hotels
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
Xeliter Marbella Juan Dolio
#5 of 12 in Juan Dolio
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Hemingway
Hotel Casa Hemingway
#6 of 12 in Juan Dolio
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coral Costa Caribe Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Emotions by Hodelpa
Emotions by Hodelpa
#1 of 12 in Juan Dolio
1,006 reviews
3.6 mi away
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
Playa Esmeralda Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Juan Dolio
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Resort

Property: Plaza Real Resort
Address: Avenida Boulevard | Villas del Mar, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > San Pedro de Macoris Province > Juan Dolio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Juan Dolio
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Juan Dolio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a few metres from the fantastic Juan Dolio Beach, in the Dominican Republic, the Plaza Real Resort is a fantastic spot to host visitors who want to spend a relaxing holiday time in a wonderful and tranquil environment. Three bars, two restaurants, shops, beauty saloon, swimming pool, garden, international telephone center internet point, laundry and casino are some of the services guests will be able to enjoy at the Plaza Real Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Plaza Real Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Juan Dolio
Plaza Real Juan Dolio
Plaza Real Resort Dominican Republic/Juan Dolio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing