We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De-stressing and Relaxing!!”
Review of Casa Veintiuno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Veintiuno
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Merrick, NY
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“De-stressing and Relaxing!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Casa Veintiuno is a truly wonderful bed & breakfast. Saskia and Marc have captured the true essence of customer service and hospitality. It's absolutely stunning and the décor is comforting and relaxing. There's no need to leave Casa 21 if you don't want too. They cater to your every whim and at the same time give you enough space to just relax. My husband and I stayed in Room 2 with the double showers, it was perfect for us. The rooms are immaculate, Juana does a great job!! She even unpacked for us. The food at the restaurant was amazing with a great selection of wines to choose from. Breakfast in the mornings were so personal and a wonderful way to start the day. We spent most days on the beach enjoying the local beach life. It's a very beautiful beach with tons of eating and drinking options. All in all, Casa 21 is a true gem and there's no other place like it in Sosua. We loved it and plan on coming back as soon as we can!! thank you Saskia and Marc for making our vacation truly memorable.

Room Tip: Loved Room 2..double showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winegirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
180
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Casa Veintiuno runs the best restaurant in Sosua, by the way and is frequented by ex-pats and locals as well. Everything is organic and they have eco certificated water---so you can brush your teeth with the water from the faucet, drink the water from the faucets and rest assured that all the raw vegetables and food from the restaurant has been washed in clean water. Elegant and very clean. Juana unpacked our suitcase when we arrived and packed it back up for us when we left.
The service is really personalized: Marc and Saskia organized two excursions for us with a private driver and guide, and if you wanted something, you just have to ask for it. Some days we didn't even went to the beach because the design and the whole environment of the hotel is outstanding and already gives you the feeling of spending a perfect holiday! WE stayed here for 3 days in August. Enjoyed the breakfast that Saskia and Marc prepared just for us. waiter David prepares the best cocktails of the DR (his Caipirinha is really famous) We spent days on the beach or at poolside, drank espresso and el Presidente beers. Did a few cultural things : Sosua Jewish Museum and the odd & terrific Castel del Mundo( Haitian art museum: voodoo, spaceships, aliens and religious symbolism).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairxchange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and had a very nice time but the area in which the hotel is located is pretty crappy. We stayed in the nicer of the two rooms here and the room itself is pretty and very clean but the "master bed" is actually two twin beds pushed together which was pretty lame. The breakfast is awesome and the host are nice enough but there was few issues with them including giving us someone else dinner bill when we checked out and than they seemed like they didn't believe us that it was not our order(we hate club soda so it couldn't possibly have been ours).

I am not sure where your from but maybe my expectations of Sosua were to high, but Sosua is pretty dumpy. The food at casa21 is good(possibly great at some meals) but everywhere else in sosua the food pretty much sucks, and that is putting it nicely.

Over all I give casa Veintiuno a 4/5 because their hotel is very nice and BY FAR THE BEST IN THIS WHOLE REGION OF THE ISLAND, but having said that maybe I just expected to much of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donk730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our second time at Casa 21, and it is the perfect oasis for relaxing! We are such fans of what Saskia and Marc have created. This trip we stayed in the room with the jacuzzi, which we loved for three nights. Last time we stayed in Room #3, which is the most basic room, and liked it as well. We are hoping in the future to stay longer as we easily could have stayed for a week. My husband is from the DR and I lived there for nine years so we are very familiar with the area and what it has to offer. If you want an intimate, relaxing oasis with excellent service and quality you will love Casa 21. The food and drinks are outstanding and very reasonably priced! We also enjoyed massages in our room. Saskia arranged everything for us and we didn't have to lift a a finger. Thank you Casa 21! We hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but rooms 1 & 2 offer a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BellsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerksken, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for 11 days in Casa 21 and this was our best holiday-experience ever !! This is not an ordinary B&B but a real first-class Boutique hotel with a modern and loungy atmosphere. The hotel has extra-ordinary rooms, full of light and with all equipment at your disposal. The balcony, the swimming-pool and the beautiful garden : every inch of this hotel increases your feeling of relaxation. They have eco-certified water, waiter David prepares the best cocktails of the DR (his Caipirinha is really famous), and they serve a breakfast "de luxe" with fresh fruit, fresh juice of all different fruits available in the DR and fresh beaked bread. In the hotel, they also run the best restaurant in town (and maybe one of the best in the DR !). The service is really personalized : Marc and Saskia organized two excursions for us with a private driver and guide, and I if you want something, you just have to ask for it. Some days we didn't even went to the beach because the design and the whole environment of the hotel is outstanding and already gives you the feeling of spending a perfect holiday !

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with tho showers : it's a magnificent room with a separate dressingroom an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank PETER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Last October we had a fantastic stay in Casa 21 in Sosua. Marc and Saskia, together with their team, gave us a perfect holiday in their boutique hotel.
This was already our 3th time that we had a vacation week in their hotel.
2 things we have to say; the coco loco is fantastic and 1 week was too short.
We are definitely coming back.
Thanks for your hospitality!

Best greetings,
Luc and Daisy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luctim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

WE stayed here for five days in October and agree we could not have chosen a more perfect spot to relax. ( which was out goal). We did yoga on the balcony in the morning before breakfast. Enjoyed the breakfast that Saskia and Marc prepared just for us ( I like cucumbers, tomato and avocado and dark thin sliced rye bread) . We spent days on the beach or at poolside, read books, drank espresso and el Presidente beers. Did a few cultural things : Sosua Jewish Museum and the odd & terrific Castel del Mundo( Haitian art museum: voodoo, spaceships,aliens and religious symbolism). Casa Veintiuno runs the best restaurant in Sosua, by the way and is frequented by ex-pats and locals as well. Everything is organic and they have eco certificated water---so you can brush your teeth with the water from the faucet, drink the water from the faucets and rest assured that all the raw vegetables and food from the restaurant has been washed in clean water. Elegant and very clean. Juana unpacked our suitcase when we arrived and packed it back up for us when we left.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sosua
0.3 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
114 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ultravioleta Boutique Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
Casa Colonial Beach & Spa
#5 of 40 in Puerto Plata
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gansevoort Dominican Republic
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Veintiuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Veintiuno

Property: Casa Veintiuno
Address: Calle Piano 1 | Reparto Tavares, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sosua
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Veintiuno 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant and exclusive small hotel with a nice modern interior. Nice atmosphere, very trendy, rest and an excellent kitchen. Within walking distance from the centre and the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Veintiuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Veintiuno Sosua
Casa Veintiuno Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing