We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”

Casa Valeria Bring Your Own Wine Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Sosua
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Diner, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Casa Valeria Restaurant is a small, stylish restaurant located in the Casa Valeria Hotel, perfect for breakfast, lunch or romantic dinner. And feel free to Bring Your Own Wine!! Casa Valeria proudly serves contemporary cuisine with a Dominican flair and is committed to featuring local produce, naturally raised meats and sustainable seafood whenever possible.The cozy bar is a great spot for cocktails. Our staff has many years of training and experience, working at several restaurants. We have developed our menu to appeal to the diverse tastes of our international patrons. Our meals are prepared with extreme care and high quality ingredients. We wash our vegetables very carefully. Our goal is to serve a very tasteful meal, cooked with great care and outstanding cleanliness. Restaurant Casa Valeria is located near the entrance of the Casa Valeria Hotel, one of Sosua's first hotels. The restaurant is a short stroll from the gorgeous Sosua Beach, and just steps from the nightlife district. Décor: The restaurant's soft décor in tones of fresh buttery yellow and maple wood color furniture offers a stylish yet relaxed dining atmosphere. Light tones, linen-topped tables, paintings enhances the natural and artistic feel of the restaurant. Seating: Main dining room seats 30. A semi-private dining area at the pool site is available on reservation. Hours: Serving Continental, American and European breakfast style from, 8.00 a.m. till 13.00 pm, Lunch from 12.00 noon till 17.00 pm Dinner from 4:30p.m. till 11.00 p.m. (or closing) Bar serving cocktails (and all other drinks) from 10:00 a.m. - 11.00 p.m. (or closing)Wednesday's closed after 12.00 pm Parking: Free parking in front of the hotel and restaurant is available, from 8.00 pm on we have a night guard on duty. We are looking forward to see and serve you!!!
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We should have been warned by the lack of visitors but decided to trust the TripAdvisor rating. Initial ordering was done by someone who did not speak English at all. Another English speaking waitress replaced her. When ordering, it appeared that basic menu entries were not available. My meat was rather good but my partner's fish was spoiled by abundant use of black sesame seeds. After asking for the bill, we noticed that our waitress left the restaurant. After 10 minutes it appeared that she had not arranged for a handover before her departure. Poor service. Don't recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don_Leone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arien V, Owner at Casa Valeria Bring Your Own Wine Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Don Leone,
Thanks for your review, we are sorry that you are not happy with our service and it is a pity you did not share that with us when you were here. It is indeed a problem to communicate sometimes if you are in a foreign country where the native language is Spanish and you can't communicate in your home language (Dutch) but have to use English instead. To your points: entrada's : you asked for the avocado salad, which indeed was not available as the avocado is a seasonal fruit, which is just ending around this time of the year, consequently we were indeed not able to serve that.
Main dish. Your are 100% correct, your wife's Sesami Grouper has a lot black sesame seeds, that s why it is called Sesami Grouper.....! If due to the language issue you were not happy with what you had ordered, we would have been happy to replace it by an other dish if you had asked for. For the last point you are perfectly correct, waiting for your bill for 10 minutes is to long, we are sorry for that ! We hope that we clarified a little the points you have mentioned and would be happy to serve you correctly during a next visit.
Best regards
Arien / Casa Valeria Bring Your Own Wine Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    57
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Photo of me and the owner. We ate there twice while in Sosua. Enjoyed it that much. 1st night we had the tiger shrimp and the 2nd night I had the grilled fish with toasted sesame seeds and avocado salad. Taste and presentation is everything to this restaurant and the atmosphere is fabulous. Bring a bottle of wine. They are very accommodating. The tropical gardens in the courtyard and in the hotel area behind the courtyard is a must see. Don't leave without a walk through in the back where the pool and hotel accommodations are located. The lush tropical gardens make you fill you are in the islands. Each hotel room has a small patio with tropical plants around it. Love this place!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A True Taste of the Dominican”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have to say hands down this is the best restaurant I have ever eaten at. I am an extremely picky eater and the food was beyond delicious. The pricing of the food is amazing! If you are in Sousa and looking for amazing food this is the place to go. The owner and staff are so friendly and accommodating. Casa Valeria is truly a little piece of heaven.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahdubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ambience off the street!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Really great service and specials here, bring your own wine as we do monthly on our outing to this special spot. Anniversaries and Birthdays and monthly Business Womens Meetings are set up perfectly! Nice hotel and rooms, comfort in the heart of Sosua!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CabareteKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Resturant in Sosua”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We just returned from Sosua. Our daughter was married at the Casa Marina and we had our wedding dinner at the Casa Valeria. Arien and his staff went out of there way to make a very special dinner for 22 of us. The meal was very very good and made our daughters wedding day perfect. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a perfect meal while in Sosua. Thank you Arien and staff.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougnJeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Valeria Bring Your Own Wine Restaurant also viewed

Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
Sosua, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Casa Valeria Bring Your Own Wine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing