We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
TripAdvisor has grounds to investigate that individuals or entities associated with or having an interest in this property may have attempted to interfere with traveller reviews and/or the Popularity Index for this property. Please take this into consideration when researching your travel plans. We make our best efforts to identify suspicious content and are always working to improve the processes we use to assess traveller reviews.

“Wonderful Family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Sosua
Kinnelon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Family friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Casa Marina Reef ( and Beach) hotel, is a wonderful, family friendly hotel. I have been to at least 5 hotels, in the Puerto Plata area, and this hotel is by far my most favorite. We attend the flea markets in town, the super markets, pharmacys, ice cream stores, etc. as this is only a very short walk, from the hotel. The hotel food is pretty good, but certainly not like home. The staff and animation team are also on my list of "favorites". This hotel is certainly worth considering when vacationing, in Sosua, Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thecooklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    1,226
    743
    347
    245
See reviews for
836
1,128
190
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
timmins
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed from October 13th to the 20th and couldn't have asked for better weather!
The resort was almost empty since it was low season, so we didn't encounter any undesirables. The time share & excursion vendors were a little persistant, but I set them, straight from day one and they simply said hello after that! The vendors that come on site a few times a week are a little pushy as well, but that is their job!!! During the day we scouted out the resort & found alternate routes to get to where we wanted to go, so we were able to avoid the vendors pretty easilly! Just be aware of pricing. The same vendors come back later in the week, so find out prices & barter later in the week!!
We did walk down to the public beach but never made it all the way down to the water. We were really going to buy souvenirs from vendors & we were able to get everything we needed from one vendor near the top of the road down to the beach. ( Again, be ready to barter, and be firm but reasonable!)
What we liked about the resort was the proximity to the airport. Within an hour from landing we were in our room getting ready to get a drink & go down to the beach. We prefered the Beach side beach compared to the Reef side. It is a smaller beach & we felt comfortable there. The reef side was almost always empty & it is a bigger beach! It's where you feel comfortable!!
The waves were not so strong as to be dangerous. We had green flag days every day. I can see that the water could be rough since you are ocean side with nothing to break the waves, but with any trip, if you are smart about it, you should escape injury.
The cold water jacuzzis are refreshing, and well placed by the ocean. We also relaxed in the hammocks. We were told that dolphins make routine passes by the resort early morning & late afternoon. ( We'll try to catch them this year!)
We paid extra for the ocean-view upgrade and we will do it again when we return this October. The view was great!! We sat every morning with our coffee & enjoyed the view.
I read a comment that the drinks had too much alcohol in them. Just ask that they not put as much in!!! Although we felt the selection wasn't as good as the resort we stayed at in Jamaica ( they had a blender for drinks!!), we never went thirsty. If you can't find something to drink you have to be really fussy!!! At first I thought I would be disappointed that the bars closed at 11pm, but we were in bed early enough to be able to take advantage of the early mornings instead, but many guests went to local pubs. Just be smart when leaving the resort after hours. Go in a group!
We found that the food was good. The a la carte restaurants were well worth it, & if you go to the front desk they will give you additional vouchers.
The pools were well maintained and not very busy. ( Remember that it was low season; only about 25% occupancy) We swam a bit in the pools, but prefered the ocean. ( we can swim in a pool at home!!)
What we really enjoyed about this resort compared to the one we stayed at in Jamaica was how secure we felt. We were not bothered on the beach by vendors, & we left the resort several times without incident. If you leave the resort to the right there is a currency exchange place where you can get a better rate than on the resort. There is also a tour desk right next door where we booked our day excursion. ( Mel Tours: we did the waterfall excursion. What a rush!!) Better rates in person than booking online!!
If you leave the resort to the left & walk a few blocks there is a convenience store where we purchased our liquor & cigarettes, as well as spices, coffee & sugar.
We never had trouble getting clean beach towels at the kiosk. I made it part of my morning ritual.
The animation staff tried hard to get people to participate in activities. They were polite and not too pushy.
The entertainment they provided at night was top notch. It isn't Broadway quality, but for amateurs, the energy they put into their shows is impressive. The sets & costumes were amazing.
After comparing the resort in Jamaica ( Starfish Trelawny, now a Breezes, which was also a 3.5 star) we have decided we prefer this resort. Even though the food & drinks were of less quality to Jamaica, the security & comfort level we felt here made it a front runner.
For now, it will be our place to return to every second year ( wanting to visit other locations in between.)
My advise is to go with an open mind. You get what you pay for. Don't expect 5 star at 3 star pricing. Besides, you are holidays, so relax & enjoy the time off!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timminstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Great quality price range , everyone is very nice ,the hotel is really a 3 star .Perfect for those who rather do activities instead of staying in the resort.the food was good but the drinks were terrible , they put alot of alcool in the drinks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12345sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

The service was OK to good. Staff were friendly. Some of the rooms were a bit dated. Housekeeping did not replenshish shampoo/conditioner on a daily basis. We had to ask and eventually the items were brought to our rooms. Food was average to good. Theme restaurants were good. The property location was great and the grounds well maintained. Good value for the money! Good beach

Room Tip: I liked the Beach side rooms - nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Great location with private beach. Food is just ok. Nice walk to downtown and main beach. Lots of good cheap resraurants nearby. Staff ra.ges from wonderful to downright surly. Overall a nice place to explore Sosua from.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Nice location nice hotel food is ok the beach has nice view but the waves are always strong very few green flag days for swimming in a year maid the waitress /waiters are professionals but the front disk people need some serious training
towels and room cleaned daily but the bed sheet stay the same for few days they just organize it.a lots of French Canadians you know what that means!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Funtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was the best resort I've ever been too. The weather was nice most days only a day and a half of rain, they offer many excursions I went to paradise island which could have been better the reef wasnt colourful at all and the fish really only stuck around because the guide was shooting chunks of bread out of a coke bottle for them to follow us, speedboat ride was the most fun part of that excursion but I wouldn't spend my money on it again, then I went to OceanWorld and swam with sharks stingrays and dolphins which was a dream come true for me, its well worth your money and time, the ziplining and horse back riding were awesome too. Now the bars at the resort did close early but you could go into town afterwards and keep partying if you wanted to. The disco in the resort was so much fun all the entertainers would join you and dance with you which made it the much more fun to go every night when you had nothing to do. The beach was awesome but waves were huge some days but who doesnt love jumping into waves? :). The rooms were not that great the air conditioner didnt work right, our bathroom door was broken and the toilet overflowed all the time even if we didnt put toilet paper in it but oh well not like you want to spend your vacation in your room its really just for sleeping and getting ready for partying :). The shows at night were great and well rehearsed I loved every minute of it the entertainers do a great job!!! My favourite entertainers were Baho and Mandela they were so nice and humorous. Mandela made our last night a blast :) This resort is very pleasing to the eye but beware of prostitues and pushy venders that set up stands every other night, you cannot avoid them at all. this resort is worth every bit of your money if you don't go here your crazy and if you don't like it then you suck hahaha. I definitely am going back no matter what I had a wonderful time

Room Tip: choose a higher floor, the views worth it and bugs wont get in like cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sosua
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 33 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 33 in Sosua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sosua by the Sea
Sosua by the Sea
#6 of 33 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
Grand Paradise Playa Dorada
#8 of 41 in Puerto Plata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina Beach & Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina Beach & Reef

Property: Casa Marina Beach & Reef
Address: Calle Alejo Martinez | El Batey, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sosua
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Marina Beach & Reef 3*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Marina Beach & Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina Beach & Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Dominican Republic
Casa Marina Reef Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing