We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island of lost Christmas Misfits”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Topacio Azul Resort
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Sosua
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Island of lost Christmas Misfits”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife and I had 2 nights to kill before meeting with friends to spend the rest of the week at their condo in Cabarete. Sooo. $35 pp all inclusive..... why not?? The hotel grounds, yes, are beautiful. If you have never been to an all inclusive, first trip to a Carribean beach, you eat at fast food chains regularily then this will be a decent place to stay. Also if prostitutes are your fortay then a 5ft walk out the door will have you satisfied. Just don't be a white female and be with a man cause the crack wh-ores will confront you.This hotel has most definitely the worst service we have ever experienced. I asked Rodolfo at the pool bar for a vodka soda, he looked at me, the phone rung, answered the phone, picked up a mop, looked back at me, "Wait, you will get it later".
A man injured himself on the stairs while we stayed and the manager took him to the hospital and stayed with him and ensured he got proper care,checked on him in his room during the night, and at the time of the incident was was exceptional at getting help fast.

Room Tip: Insist on the Victorian rooms, Call for toilet paper or anything in morning and by night it may arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eivissangroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    103
    62
    59
    84
See reviews for
36
94
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moosonee, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

For those who want a very good stay at a very reasonable price. New Years 2012 was a perfect vacation at Sosua, the staff are the resort's best value, all friendly and willing to help. If your every whim needs attention however you may wish to be somewhere else, this more of an independant place to stay. You only require a smile and a few tips here and there to make your vacation enjoyable. This is a poor country where those whome will attend your needs will never aspire to earn what you have spend for your short duration there so courtesy will carry you a long way.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs, ask for a lobby level room ocean view if you have any mobility issues at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbas9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flatlander in SK Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My niece and I stayed at this resort from Jan 12th to the 26th of this year. First of all, I always book 3 or 3 plus star resorts and have never had a problem at any one of them Until I stayed here. In response to a previous review, I do not expect 5 star service at a 3 star resort but I do expect 3 star service at a 3 star resort however at this 3 star we got 1 star service if that.

First of all the positives. The resort itself is beautiful. The grounds, the buildings very nice. The location is great. You can walk a couple blocks and you are in the heart of Sosua, the casino is a few feet away and I understand the gym is fabulous (but we did not make it there personally) other guests told me about the gym.

Now the negatives. APPARENTLY there was a problem with management who leased the resort to another party and this individual had not paid his staff in weeks. Needless to say many of them quit which explains the lack of service. Sad situation considering that these people work for starvation wages to begin with. There are NOT 5 restaurants at this resort there are 3 - the buffet, and another restaurant that changes every other day from italian to mexican, however we went to the italian one evening and many dishes on the menu were not available! When we asked "what can we have" the reply was "not much" . lol. The buffet is "ok" not great but I am not a pickey person when it comes to food. The problem was they never changed it up. It was the same food day in and out. There is NO 24 hour food and drink as they advertise! The rooms were relatively clean however you will NOT get your fridge stocked every other day with water and soda as they state. We called the desk and asked the maids for 6 days straight to stock our fridge and every day they said yes yes at 9:00 but 9:00 never came. There was a coffee maker in our room but no pot and no coffee. We also asked for this for over a week straight and never got it until we had an employee write a note in spanish and left 5 dollars on the bed. We finally got the pot but bought our own coffee. We had only one electrical outlet that worked the first day and everyone knows, women need plug in's! They did fix it quickly so that was all good. Hot water. Its hit and miss. lol The first couple days no hot water but it was so hot and humid I was able to live with this. The entertainment was terrible, there was very little going on during the day. A few games at the pool but not many people participating simply because there was hardly anyone staying at this resort! It was bizarre! Many times we went to the buffet for meals and there were only a hand ful of guests eating! There is no money exchange and no water sports except for one hour of free snorkeling. My biggest disappointment was the lack of service, the fact the resort did not offer most of what is advertised by the travel companies and on their web site and the fact that this resort was simply DEAD. We finally complained to our NOLITOURS rep who chewed them out at the front desk. Within a half our our fridge was stocked and they came to our room with two fruit trays and a bottle of wine. Thank you but not good enough. Our Nolitours rep said he did move a couple guests to another resort but it cost them 100 bucks each to move. Had we complained earlier I would have said yes move us and I would NOT have paid the 100 bucks but by the time we said anything we had only a few days left so we stayed put. Sorry folks but I would not recommend this resort even for the price.

Room Tip: Dont pay for a ocean view here you will probably get one anyway and if you pay for one chances are y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank snowbird06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sosua hotels

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We travel quite a bit in North America and this was our first trip to the Dominican Republic.
The staff when we first checked in were nice at the front desk…this was the last time they were.
The room was facing the bay and then we started to unpack.
There was hair “pubic” all over the floor in the bathroom there was no towels in the bathroom and the shampoo provided was in a used bottle and was in fact just conditioner.
The mini fridge was to have beer, pop, and water in when we arrived…nothing was there. After 4 days we got water and pop but never did we ever receive beer.
The T.V. was a 19 inch old type of T.V. and the bed was uncomfortable and lumpy there was only three pillows for the two of us.
We found out the air conditioning was on a motion control system so when you went to sleep at night the air conditioning would turn off after 15 minutes of no motion. It was very hot to wake up in the morning because of this.
The food service ends just when we were getting up and we were told on several occasions that they were unable to make drinks for us and on one occasion we were told the beer would be $5 each and they were out of bottled water.
When we finally got some towels they were tattered and ratty and it took 4 days to get a face cloth.
We went to the corner store to get shampoo and all our meals were off the resort because the food served and the service was not very good at all.
The staff was not concerned with service or even with paying attention unless you got in their face.
In the whole time we were at this all inclusive resort we did not see one bed linen being changed on any floor at any time nor was there a cart seen that you would see in a hotel that would be used for such a service.
The line of people complaining about different things at the front desk was constant and only seemed to end around 8 pm.
Be warned this was such a bad experience that we are now tainted about ever returning to this country let alone this resort.

Room Tip: just rebt a local condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kmiles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We travel quite a bit in North America and this was our first trip to the Dominican Republic.
The staff when we first checked in were nice at the front desk…this was the last time they were.
The room was facing the bay and then we started to unpack.
There was hair “pubic” all over the floor in the bathroom there was no towels in the bathroom and the shampoo provided was in a used bottle and was in fact just conditioner.
The mini fridge was to have beer, pop, and water in when we arrived…nothing was there. After 4 days we got water and pop but never did we ever receive beer.
The T.V. was a 19 inch old type of T.V. and the bed was uncomfortable and lumpy there was only three pillows for the two of us.
We found out the air conditioning was on a motion control system so when you went to sleep at night the air conditioning would turn off after 15 minutes of no motion. It was very hot to wake up in the morning because of this.
The food service ends just when we were getting up and we were told on several occasions that they were unable to make drinks for us and on one occasion we were told the beer would be $5 each and they were out of bottled water.
When we finally got some towels they were tattered and ratty and it took 4 days to get a face cloth.
We went to the corner store to get shampoo and all our meals were off the resort because the food served and the service was not very good at all.
The staff was not concerned with service or even with paying attention unless you got in their face.
In the whole time we were at this all inclusive resort we did not see one bed linen being changed on any floor at any time nor was there a cart seen that you would see in a hotel that would be used for such a service.
The line of people complaining about different things at the front desk was constant and only seemed to end around 8 pm.
Be warned this was such a bad experience that we are now tainted about ever returning to this country let alone this resort.

Room Tip: Get an apartment in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We just got back from a 3 week all inclusive to the Sosua Bay Resort. After 2 weeks we called Cheap Caribbean.com and moved to Life Styles. Sosua Bay Resort can be a five star resort but it is not. We have been on 5 all inclusive this year and this was the worst!! Why?? they have not paid their employees!! From what I hear from the locals and from some employees is that someone is renting Sosua Bay from the owner. They have not put any money into the place, employees, or food. No one there was happy, employees and guest. This is unfortunate because the place is beautiful. Old World Spanish Charm, beautiful pools, and beach. However watch where you sit at the pool there may be a pile of vomit that was not cleaned up .... for days. The poor employees I think stay there because they are promised back pay :O( I hope they get it because they were so nice.

Room Tip: Don't bother trying to tip for a better room it won't work. You will be told that they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marialanea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabarete
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a threadbare property. The appointments are old, the furniture is falling apart, the sheets and towels are torn, the doors to the patio do not close or lock, the a/c was brought over with Columbus. The facility is very pretty as is the location. The staff is most helpful and seem to know the place is falling down around them. The food is buffet line manageable, the bar menu is limited and their limitations are poor. When you request a king size bed you get 2 doubles, when you pay for an ocean front room, you really need to hang over the edge of the balcony to see the water. Please enjoy the town but be careful of the hotel.

Room Tip: This is the only AI in Sosua itself and does sit on a lovely cliff overlooking the Bay. It is close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drbcabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
Hotel Sosua Sunrise
#2 of 34 in Sosua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#7 of 34 in Sosua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sosua Bay Resort
Sosua Bay Resort
#24 of 34 in Sosua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.0 mi away
Exxtraordinary Resort
Exxtraordinary Resort
#22 of 34 in Sosua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topacio Azul Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topacio Azul Resort

Property: Topacio Azul Resort
Address: Calle Dr. Alejo Martinez 1 | El Batey, Sosua, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sosua
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Topacio Azul Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Topacio Azul Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sosua Bay Club Hotel Sosua
Sosua Bay Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing