We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, intimate place”
Review of Tropix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropix Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Hotel Tropix is a totally charming, small traveler's destiny in Sosua. Set just above the bustling downtown and a mere 5 minutes from both beaches, it is a quiet, unpretentious and friendly. Run by Meems, an expat American who will makes sure you feel part of the Tropix family and attend to your every need. The rooms are spacious and clean; the staff is super-helpful and -- unless you are looking for luxury and, for some reason want to watch TV in your room instead of shutting out the world while you relax in the Caribbean, this is the best place in town.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC, so if you need that, specify. Sosua has become a pretty noisy town, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Felt like a bed and breakfast with private suites. Meems was a great resource. The cook and the driver were also great! The pool was wonderful after a day in the heat. Just a few blocks from a great beach and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I spent 7 nights in Hotel Tropix during a mission trip through World Vets. I was so pleased at how quaint it was- full of character and very clean! The pool was great, service and staff amazing, and fabulous breakfasts served!! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreaGayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I only stayed one night at La Tropix. It served it's purpose with being clean and reasonably priced. There is a cute little pool to relax at and Meems the on-site manager is a gem. She really helped me figure things out in the area and was a delight to chat with. The Sosua beaches are gorgeous and there is some great snorkeling there. The town itself is a little seedy to me so I would probably not re-visit this town. Meems and Juan went out of their way to help me get around though and it was an easy stay. I greatly appreciated that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We spend a weekend with my family to celebrate my husband 28 Th. birthday! We just love it! This hotel its so beautiful! Nice rooms! Just a few steps away from the beach, the super market and everywhere! Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linarguezc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Tropix many times as my work would often bring me to the area. It is like a beautiful, clean oasis. Super close to the center of Sosua but totally private and quiet. The accommodations are simple, clean and comfortable. Meems, the manager was always a delight to see and I often felt like I was coming home. Juan and Morena will prepare a wonderful and healthy breakfast and help you out with anything else you need. I woudl absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuchivaldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

No complaints at all. Room was tidy with free wifi, clean pool, great food in morning and drinks for sale all day. A 1 minute walk into Sosua. Showers took awhile to get warm, but that is typical for the DR if not impressive that they have hot water at all. Besides, it's hot enough outside that a medium temperature shower is refreshing.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sosua
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rocky's Rock & Blues Bar and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel el Rancho
Hotel el Rancho
#11 of 30 in Sosua
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#8 of 30 in Sosua
57 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropix Hotel

Address: #7 Calle Llibre, Sosua 28001, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sosua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: £31 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the first hotels in Sosua, Tropix is a wonderful alternative to the all-inclusives. Walking distance to the beaches, downtown and shops, but far enough to feel secluded. We're also small enough that groups and families can book all 10 rooms to have their own private hotel - a real treat for many! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tropix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropix Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing