We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten Fantastic Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Hunter, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ten Fantastic Days”
Reviewed 20 August 2008

This is a first for me. I have never felt the need to write a "fan letter" before. But the excellence of this small hotel simply must be acknowledged. Casa Valeria was recomended to me by a friend and I booked my stay from their web site. I was pleasantly surprised to be contacted through personal e-mail by the proprietor. This set the tone for the entire stay. Personal sincere service is the hallmark of this friendly, intimate oasis.

But the excellence does not stop there. My room was clean and fully functional. Maid service/valet service as quietly efficient as any Ritz Carlton or Fairmont Hotel I have stayed in on corporate trips. Each room has its own private veranda overlooking the central pool area.(My favorite place for morning coffee and newspaper.) The restaurant (open to the public) clearly dispenses some of the best dinners in the Carribean. It's not often one looks forward to the next "hotel meal" of the day, but that was certainly the case for me during my entire ten day stay.

Over the course of those ten days I came in contact with not only the proprietor Arien and his wife Diana Vlogtman but all of the hotel and restaurant staff. The friendly,courteous, sincerity evident in my first encounter with managment is consistantly displayed by all in their employ. This is the stuff of not only fond memories but lasting friendships as well.

Other reviewers have accurately mentioned the convienient central location, security, and quiet surroundings. I concur but will try not to duplicate the reviews of others.

Suffice it to say: if an All Inclusive Resort sounds more like a prison sentence than a vacation to you, than this little gem of a hotel is your lush tropical Eden.

  • Liked — Restaurant above all...but everything
  • Disliked — Never come off a vacation cold turkey!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Road_Less_Traveled_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    99
    15
    5
    12
See reviews for
27
100
130
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Let's start out by saying I am A Frequent traveler and travel often for business. I am picky! Being a New Yorker, born and bred, I expect good service. This hotel and their owner/operators went above and beyond my expectations. Their attention to detail in every aspect of my stay was astounding. My room was cleaned spotless every day. The pool and grounds were imaculate. It was also conveniant to have a bar and restaurant with great food right on the property. We were 1/2 block away from city center and a 5 minute walk to the beach. Perfect. I am already booked for this November with friends and am looking foreword to another week in paradise.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank djmouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jokela Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Our first trip ever to the Dom.rep. (Sosua) and Casa Valeria was amazing! We selected Casa Valeria due to the several positive reviews and were not disappointed at all - quite the opposite. We had high expectations due to the fact that we had long been waiting for this trip and to spend quality time with the family (my sister and mom joined us the next day from our arrival). We were all together 4 adults and 2 teenagers (14 and 15 yrs. boys) and accomodated two rooms at Casa Valeria. Both rooms were very cozy, spacious and functional. The decor is very caribbean/mexican-style; colorful with unique paintings of butterflies and tropical flowers. The beds were firm and supportive and all the linens clean. The room had a fridge where you can keep the after sun lotion cool and drinking water cold.

The bathroom is rather large and the maids made sure we had clean and fluffy towels each day. They even folded out the towels into the artistic "sculptures" such as swans etc. A small - yet very beautiful - gesture to show genuine care and appreciation towards guests.

Also there was a TV in the room and once it went out of order (due to a sudden thunder storm), Arien (one of the owners) quickly took a look at the problem and fixed it.

Casa Valeria is like a little hidden garden hotel surrounded with beautiful flowers and trees. All the 9 (?) rooms are located around the pool which was kept clean from the tree leaves. Arien and Diana (the owners) are keeping busy all day long helping guests and doing it with a smile. You surely feel yourself welcome and free to ask them anything. For example, one day I asked Arien if the waterpark nearby would be open. We had just seen an ad about the place and thought it would be a nice place to visit. Arien used his computer (internet) and phone constantly to find out answers to all of our questions. The web pages of the waterpark had not been updated for ages so Arien suggested he could drive me there to check out the place and see if it was open or not. He did that volunteerly and charged nothing for the service. (The waterpark was closed.)

Casa Valeria has a nice restaurant on-site. The staff of the restaurant is SO friendly and constantly smiling. This was propably the best part of it all; the heartwarming smile of every staff member. Not all of them speak fluent english but it doesn't always require one to know the language if they can speak with their hearts:-) I will miss that smile!

What ever we required at Casa Valeria, our needs were well taken care of. And believe me, we had QUITE A FEW questions! Casa Valeria was exactly what we wanted out of our accomodation. Surely it all depends on what you like, but if you prefer small, cozy, intimate, friendly, safe, clean and quiet resting place, Casa Valeria is an excellent choise. It is the opposite to those multicomplex, all-inclusive, non-personilized chain hotels that would not make you feel special.

  • Liked — The sfaff
  • Disliked — The on-going renovation (did not cause any disturbance to us)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank finnishJokelaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2008

I want to share my experience, so nobody will get ripped off again. I was so stupid believing to all those tripadvisor's reviews.
This place is a junk, old dormitory style. There are no nice owners. Basically, what the owner does is spending his time on the Internet to write all those nice reviews about his propriety.
He has to lie just to keep his business going. There is no good deal 50$ a night. For only 15$ a night you can stay at brend new aparthotel in Cabarete, named Sansouci. After I refused to stay there owner did not returned my money back. I booked that nasty place for 2 weeks and lost one week of my deposit. I am very disapointed how some people doing business but it will not last for long. I am reporting owner of this place for fraud, advance fee scheme and not delivery of services.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — costant noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
42 Thank Eugenio6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

I booked a week stay in the hotel. I must say I'm a bit conflicted in writing this review. I went with high expectations that of the hotel because of the reviews i read here, but was a bit disappointed.

The pros:
-quaint little place
-For the price, it's good value.
-The owners are super friendly and accommodating and hospitable.
-It's in the heart of Sosua, very easy to find and bars and restaurants are within 5 mins walk.
-A very nice restaurant is around the corner 2 mins walk from casa valeria
-Staff is nice and polite
-24 hr guarded. Daytime by the owners, night time by a guard at the gate. Gate is locked at night, only residents are allowed in.
-small and cozy. <10 rooms in the whole place.
-clean fridge, bathroom, kitchen. clean towels every day.
-feel quite safe
-US $15 cab ride from airport. $6(200 pesos) from cabarete one way.

The cons:
-One of the rooms is being renovated. So construction work starts at 8am and ends at 6pm. i got waken up every morning
-The twin beds do not give enough support to back. The pillows are crappy. I wake up every day with a sore back and neck.
-Might have bugs in some beds. I have at least 10 bug bites on my legs. it's not mosquito bites, but probably some invisible tiny bugs.
-A/C works ok in small room, not in the big ones. at least the fan makes it tolerable.
-room is dark. lights are dim.
-bring your own shampoo and conditioner. only soap and 2 towels are provided.

If you are going kiteboarding, stay somewhere in cabarete instead. You'll hate the commute. If you stay in sosua or might venture to puerto plata and cabarete, this might be a good place in the middle.

I would rather pay $25-75 more to stay at a more comfortable hotel.

  • Liked — The friendliness and accomodating of the owners.
  • Disliked — The bed, the pillow, the bug bites
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booyaBooya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We booked Casa Valeria for part of our honeymoon after reading such positive reviews on tripadvisor.com. This is the best value you can find in Sosua - a quiet, charming place to stay for an EXCELLENT value. Casa Valeria is steps away from Playa Alicia (a quiet beach) and a 10 minute walk from Playa Sosua (the more populated but extremely beautiful beach). The owners - Arien & Diana - were extremely accomodating and helped my husband & I take care of everything we needed to. We also had breakfast there every morning and the food there was fresh & simple. this is a great find, but make sure you book early - we wanted to stay an extra night, but they are booked almost year round!

  • Liked — Location & value
  • Disliked — room tended to get hot with only one small a/c unit
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank eileenchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Wanted to see sosua and was recommended this hotel by a local diving instructer, who used to stay here.
We loved it - extremely friendly dutch couple is running a small 7 room hotel with a pool.
My family realy liked it there. Good food and clean, cosy rooms with aircon, fans and fridge. Two rooms in the hotel has a kitchen, but didn't try that.

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dargelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.0 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 30 in Sosua
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#4 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#7 of 30 in Sosua
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Condo Hotel Plaza Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle dr. Rosen 28 | El Batey, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sosua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Sosua, on the North coast of the Domincan Republic, in a quiet street connected to two main roads, at the border of the centre of Sosua's nightlife with many restaurants and bars, only 5 minutes walk from the gorgeous bay and beach of Sosua, you will find Hotel, Restaurant & Bar "Casa Valeria".The Hacienda style hotel is situated in one of the most central but yet quiet spots of Sosua. The atmosphere is best described as "relaxed". Harmony, simplicity and respect for our guests are our most imported issues. "Casa Valeria" is the perfect place for you quiet holiday in lively city. The nine hotel rooms and studio's in the around the pool build cottages are equipped with the all the desired comfort. In our restaurant you can enjoy your breakfast in the morning and our chef will prepare you best dishes for dinner. The menu consist a large variety of international dishes and will change with the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Valeria Sosua
Casa Valeria Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing