We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming location but rooms and pool were disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Sosua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2009

My family arrived and immediately found the hotel charming with a beautiful courtyard and wonderful location. However when we arrived the pool was only 1/2 full and the owners said they were fixing a leak but said it should be fixed by the next afternoon. Our room smelled so strongly of smoke that my wife was unable to sleep in it. Everybody in this place seemed to be smokers. The beds were very uncomfortable and we all had back and neck pain. The owners moved us to a different room the next day and the smell was much better. The pool was never fixed and we did not see anyone even looking at it to make repairs. One main reason we picked this place was for the pool because we have small children. We ended up leaving 2 days early to find another hotel. The owners attempted to charge us for the full 4 nights but we eventually agreed to pay them for 3 even though we stayed only 2 nights. We were disappointed because this place really has potential.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cmanderson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2009

I went on vacation to the DR with 2 friends and we loved Casa Valeria. The rooms were clean and simple and met our needs. (We didn't spend a tremendous amount of time in our rooms.) The staff was wonderful and helpful and took good care of us. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

We stayed for five nights at the end of January and found Diana and Arien to be very nice. The rooms are a great value, and the charming, cozy nature of the property is hard to beat. The inside courtyard by the pool is a great place to unwind after a day at the beach, and their restaurant is probably the best in town (try the filet mignon!!). The rest of the staff were likewise quite eager to please. Sosua has a lot of nightlife, and the Playa Alicia is one of the prettiest I've ever seen... and it's just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Stayed at Casa Valeria for 14 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. We stayed in one of the 2 units with kitchens for the first 9 nights then moved to another lovely room for the last 5 nights. The unit with the kitchen had a little more road noise than our second unit which faced the courtyard but not enough to ever be a bother. Having the sleeping area somewhat seperated from the living space was an extra bonus as one can sleep undesturbed while the other can roam around the room. Although the mattress was a bit small for 2 people in our second room and it is on a bed that is a bit large for the room (banged my leg alot on the footboard) we loved the room and the shower rocked. It also appeared that they had purchased a new mattress that would probably be for that room. Even during the time that we were there, the owners, (who were, as everyone else has stated, wonderful hosts) were frequently adding new furniture or making updates to the already lovely accomodations. The staff were also, as others have said wonderful, pleasant and all around nice to be around. Casa Valeria was probably the most impressive part of our trip to Sosua and I would highly reccommend it to anyone who wants a nice quiet, (but not boringly so) clean, place to stay that is close to all of the stimulation and action that Sosua has to offer.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lauralye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

My daughter and I just had the privilege of staying at Casa Valeria in Sosua. Arien and Diana, the owners, have done an amazing job creating an intimate, family-like atmosphere right in the middle of all the action of this little resort town. From the moment you walk through the gates into the beautifully planted courtyard you know there is something special about this small hotel. The rooms are a combination of Dominican style and Euro-style with French doors and a private outside sitting area. Guests are greeted in their rooms with a refreshing tropical fruit drink upon their arrival. There are many other personal touches that make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Arien and Diana were extremely helpful, not only in the planning of our stay prior to our visit, but also in giving us information on activities and travel once we got there. The location of the hotel is close to one of the best small beaches I've ever spent time at and a block away from outstanding restaurants and shops. The experience was so outstanding we wouldn't change a thing.

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank CAHPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

I shouldn't be writing this bacause the next time I want to come back I probably won't be able to get a room but I have to give credit where credit is due. I've stayed at almost every hotel in Sosua over the years and Casa Valeria is at the top of my list. The location is perfect, it's a small quiet place,nice bar / restaurant with lush tropical setting around the rooms and pool. The rooms (9 total) are priced very reasonably and are clean as well as newly renovated . If you are looking for somewhere that's nice and peaceful and not overwhelming then this is the place you want to stay. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SosuaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

casa valeria is the best place i've stayed at in sosua in the last 5 years its very very clean great rooms,everyone there was very nice and its very safe there with great security at night for your safety I will be staying there every time im in sosua i've already booked my room for feb.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank biscuit6963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sosua hotels
0.0 mi away
New Garden Hotel
New Garden Hotel
#6 of 30 in Sosua
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Veintiuno
Casa Veintiuno
#1 of 30 in Sosua
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral Blanco Hotel
Coral Blanco Hotel
#3 of 30 in Sosua
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa-22
Casa-22
#10 of 30 in Sosua
19 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piergiorgio Palace Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Voramar Sosua
Hotel Voramar Sosua
#8 of 30 in Sosua
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle dr. Rosen 28 | El Batey, Sosua 57000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Puerto Plata Province > Sosua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sosua
Price Range: £45 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Sosua, on the North coast of the Domincan Republic, in a quiet street connected to two main roads, at the border of the centre of Sosua's nightlife with many restaurants and bars, only 5 minutes walk from the gorgeous bay and beach of Sosua, you will find Hotel, Restaurant & Bar "Casa Valeria".The Hacienda style hotel is situated in one of the most central but yet quiet spots of Sosua. The atmosphere is best described as "relaxed". Harmony, simplicity and respect for our guests are our most imported issues. "Casa Valeria" is the perfect place for you quiet holiday in lively city. The nine hotel rooms and studio's in the around the pool build cottages are equipped with the all the desired comfort. In our restaurant you can enjoy your breakfast in the morning and our chef will prepare you best dishes for dinner. The menu consist a large variety of international dishes and will change with the seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Valeria Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Valeria Sosua
Casa Valeria Hotel Sosua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing