We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven - romantic secluded part of India!!”
Review of Marari Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marari Villas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven - romantic secluded part of India!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at The Marari Villas in the Orchid Cottage in March for 6 nights … what a perfect way to end a 3 week trip to India. The villa is set in an unspoilt, residential, non-commercial part of Kerala with both backwaters and beach. From the start Olga made the booking part of the trip so easy and faultless and was always available prior to travelling offering helpful advice and answering an endless stream of questions :)

The villa itself is stunning and is very well appointed, as well as the usual amenities there were added extras like a mobile phone for emergencies when you are out exploring, sun cream, insect repellent, a choice of books and dvd, and even a sunhat. This added detail went a long way in making our stay feel that bit more comfortable and gave us a feeling of being very well looked after.

The villa has it's own private garden and a private pool which proved to be a great place to relax and unwind, fully equipped with hammocks and deck chairs and a very romantic candlelit dining area for evening meals. The garden is beautifully designed with various orchids on show and the villas are surrounded by coconut palms and banana trees. We loved waking up to the huge double doors overlooking the gardens, the surroundings are very clam, serene and peaceful to the sound of bird song. Perfect escape following the bustle of an afternoon visit into town.

The food was the best we had over our three week stay in India!!!!!!!, Everything was freshly cooked and beautifully presented, and very very delicious. Make sure you try the Keralan feast served on a banana leaf and the Masala dosa…. South Indian cooking at its best …. yum!!!!! We even bought a dosa pan to take back home, hoping in vain to replicate this yummy local cuisine.

The beach is a short walk from the villa which is deserted except for the local fisherman. You have your own sunbeds and umbrella set up by Benjamin when you want them. We used the beach each day, and went to the pool afterwards.

We would like to say a huge thanks to the whole team for making our stay exceptional above and beyond expectations. A heart felt thanks to Shan who was always there to ensure we were very well looked after, to Benjamin who ensured the beach was always arranged with sunbeds, too Rajesh for preparing the most wonderful dishes tasted and Tincy who also kept our rooms looking lovely.

If you are looking to experience the ‘real India’ with a taste of local life, be sure to add Marari Villas to your itinerary you will not be disappointed.

Ben and Archie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benandarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
73
161
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Hibiscus villa mid-April, when it was already very hot, but our stay was just perfect.
The hosts, Olga and Rupert, are there to welcome you and provide help and advice with no hesitation. They arranged for a pick up from the airport, which saved us a lot of time and hassle.

The villa itself is just gorgeous. The small pool for cooling off at night, the hammock under the stars, the semi-outside bathroom is just beautiful, and the room is very tastefully decorated. We had some power shortages and a very heavy storm one night, though small things like that could never spoil our holidays, as it's part of life.

The butler service was impeccable and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners (the traditional keralan style feast is a must-try), overall with high level of respect for privacy.

The beach is so pristine (compared to other beach areas of India, which can be heavily polluted), and we had it all to ourselves! Benjamin kindly arranged for the parasols and the chairs, so you really don't have to worry about anything.

We will most definitely come back and would recommend the place to anyone, seeking an intimate get away in a stunning, peaceful place.

Room Tip: We only tried the Hibiscus cottage, and we loved it. The seaside villas look beautiful as well, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiunchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We loved our stay at Marari Villas. The villa was beautiful and the children loved the garden and pool. The staff were very helpful and attentive, even providing Easter Egg painting, badminton, pool toys and fresh fruit ice lollies for the children. We enjoyed the unspoilt beach and the trips organised and recommended by the team. The food was amazing - very high quality and the chef catered for the needs of our children (age 6 and 9). This little gem of a villa is ideal for those who want to get away from the main stream tourist spots but still have the luxury / services levels you would expect in a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had 2 nights at Palm Villa with friends and absolutely loved our stay. Wish we could have stayed longer! The welcome by Olga and Rupert was really friendly and personal and from then on the service was great. The villa is beautiful - set right on the beach so you can wake up to the sound of the waves. The rooms were lovely inside with seriously comfy beds and stylish bathrooms. The food was absolutely fantastic - the best we had in Kerala. It was so lovely to have a whole villa to ourselves for quality time with friends in a paradise setting. It would also be lovely for a family. The games were a nice touch - we had some great games of Connect 4 and Taboo. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough - we will definitely be coming back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were at the end of a tour which was exciting but tiring and we were glad to unpack for five days. We stayed in Hibiscus Villa and found it to be one of the best and most relaxing places we had visited. The garden and the pool which are your own are very private. The food was excellent and was served to us in our garden. The sound of the birds and the music from the church all added to the atmosphere. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottyDog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had 3 nights in Hibiscus Villa followed by 4 nights in Orchid Villa. Hard to choose as both great but we liked Orchid because of the large window overlooking the pool and the front garden with chairs and a fan. Both have outside toilets and showers with lovely plants growing in them.

There was nobody else there so we had 5 staff to ourselves!
The staff and service are first rate. Shan, the host, and Rajesh, the chef, are fantastic.Olga and Rupert run the whole show and are lovely. There are no other restaurants close by or indeed anything much but this added to the restful isolation. Meals are taken in your own garden and you will not see other guests.We had planned to do self-catering but having sampled the food this thought went straight out of the window. We went to the local market with Rajesh one day and had a cooking course in the evening with him which we enjoyed immensely. Some reviewers have commented on the small breakfasts - we did not find this at all - we had, for example, fruit, pancakes (fabulous!); eggs and toast - as much as you wanted! There is a weekly cycle of different dinner choices so you are never bored with the food which is both Indian and continental.

The villas are surrounded by coconut palms and banana trees.

I did use the free cycle and toured the area a few times.

The villas are 4 minutes walk to the beach which is deserted except for your own sunbeds and umbrella set up by Benjamin when you want them. You have to remember that the beach has no facilities and does have local fishermen who defaecate in front of you in the sand and you do have to be careful where you tread. We walked along the beach each day; went to the private pool afterwards and the beach at the end of the afternoon when it was cooler. It was fascinating watching the fishermen land their catch and auction it on the beach.

We loved the whole week of doing very little at the end of a long trip round India. I can see that the isolation might not suit everyone but it was perfect for us.

I stocked up on beer and wine on the way as it is considerably cheaper than that on offer in the villas (usual hotel prices). You could easily take the tuk-tuk to the local liquor shop to buy some.

Do not be put off by the road and houses on arrival as you are in a residential area. The locals we met were very pleasant. The only annoyance was if they set a fire going which sometimes smelled in the garden but a small price to pay for the bliss of being there. Laundry was cheaply done and Tincy also kept our rooms looking lovely.

We would definitely go back - it is probably the best experience we have had in our travels across many countries.

Room Tip: Orchid and Hibiscus have private pools but no sea views like Palm villas. We loved the pool - Orchid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1plato23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga O, Manager at Marari Villas, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
A big Thank you from all of us at Marari Villas for the lovely review and hope it will be a great help for all of our viewers around the world. If you're looking for an Indian village atmosphere with local sounds and smells and hardly a tourist in sight, this is the place. We look forward to welcoming you back here again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our whole trip was worked around the only 4 days I could find available - and it did not disappoint.
The villas was very well equipped with everything you could need - even down to a sunhat!

The staff were lovely, the food delicious and the whole area so peaceful and relaxing. We took some lovely long walks, chilled by the pool and generally re-charged our batteries.

It was bliss.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze7679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
1.5 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
827 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marari Beach Villas
Marari Beach Villas
#6 of 27 in Mararikulam
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marari Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marari Villas

Property: Marari Villas
Address: | Vadkethayil House, Pollathai, Allapuzha, Mararikulam 688567, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marari Villas offer boutiques serviced villas on beautiful Marari Beach in Alleppey district, Kerala and has properties in 2 locations: 'Orchid' & 'Hibiscus' are adjacent to each other, have private pools and are 300m from the beach. 'Palm' & 'Bougainvillea' do not have pools, but they are on the beach and are 2km south of 'Orchid' & 'Hibiscus'. Each of our villas is serviced by a team of villa host, chef, housekeeper and caretaker/security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Marari Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marari Villas Kerala, India - Mararikulam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing