We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing end to a great Keralan trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing end to a great Keralan trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had three wonderful days relaxing at Carnoustie after our trip to Kerala. The welcome was amazing, the room very comfortable with everything we wanted, delicious food and friendly staff in the superb restaurant, beautiful grounds and beach, stunning pool and lovely relaxing massage on the last day in preparation for the flight home. We felt like rock stars!! Only comment would be to obtain an alcohol licence.

Room Tip: We don,t know what other rooms were like but we were in room 514 and were very happy, it was surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helenmary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie1964, General Manager at Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad we were able to make the final destination of your trip a very memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great holiday.

We have noted your comment on the alcohol and are working towards it.


Warm Regards


Joseph Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    36
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
90
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

we chose this beautiful resort to celebrate valentines day....n believe me this turned out to be a perfect getaway. mararikulam is an Untouched, Uninterrupted & Undisturbed destination. its just 70 kms away from kochi, which approximately takes around 2 hrs to drive down here. and with carnoustie present here, it just completes the whole experience of being together. we spent 2 nights here. the resort is just so beautiful that you would want to stay for more days.
with a traditional welcome, & a welcome drink, we were briefed about the resort in general. a short tour around the place helped us to understand the place better as it is made in 25 acres of land. as were there to celeberate an occasion, surprisingly our room was upgraded from the base akund villa to a upper category called as the malika pool villa. and as we entered our villa our jaws almost dropped. the room was superrbb...incredible, perfect for couples, as it had a small pool, a open to sky rain shower, huge comfortable bed, a huge clean n hygenic bathroom with an air condition in it too! a huge clean villa with absolutely no compromise on luxury. the room n the pool area was very well decorated with mogra n rose petals, very very romantic touch. the toiletries supplies were of top quality n overall layout of the villa was just perfect.
the good thing about the resort layout is that it just has around a total of 30 villas, so that more attention can be given to guest, and to avoid the place from getting over crowded. since its a beach resort one can experience peace n tranquillity. it a place highly recommended for honeymooners. there are lots of activities to be done like yoga, meditation, ayurveda n spa treatments, bicycles are provided if you wanna just hang around. there is also a full serviced beach, for you to enjoy. sunbeds are there for you to just laze on them, take in the sea breeze n watch a beautiful sunset. the list just goes on...!
the food is simply delicious, freshly prepared as the have an organic farm within the resort premises. they have an extensive menu, catering to all sorts of cuisines. but it takes a while for the preparation, so you accordingly need to proceed to place your order. but thats okay. the ida restaurant has a completely different in architectural. made out of jute n bamboo, a unique concept, its open from sides n the lighting in the evening is just perfect n soothing. we dined on a couple of keralite cuisines especially sea food, as the catch is fresh. congratulation mr.tony F&B manager n his team, who are just doing a great job, wonderful people with a service full of smile as always.
the people of the resort are an asset. always ready to help and will make your stay very comfortable. staff is friendly, there is warmth in their service, very eager and spontaneous to deliver whatever is asked or requested by guests. great people to have a chat in the evenings. god bless u all, special mention about jayakumar, sudeep, n rajesh....the front office people
also would like to thank the rooms division lady manager, sorry don't know her name, for the wonderful decorations done in our room.
our valentine occasion celebration was made so special.....they organised an exclusive set up on the beach at night, for a candle night dinner, a lip smacking 3 course meal, with delicious desserts to end a wonderful day. with a private butler at our service for the evening. we couldnt ask for more. these are people who help us to build beautiful memories, which we are gonna cherish for a lifetime. as they still have not been granted a liquor license, a valentine cake along with a complimentary bottle of sparkling red wine was sent to us in our room. again a small yet beautiful set up was done on the deck by the pool, where we cut the cake n raised a toast to start the celebration.
also do try out some of their spa treatments. it is very relaxing. the spa set up again is very well done.
so to sum it all, if u wanna want to celeberate any occasions or jus wanna spend time in peace or luv to enjoi doing nothing at all, then this place is for you. trust me you will not regret on the decision taken.

cheers....!!!
regards rajesh

Room Tip: the malika pool villas.....good if you want some privacy, though they are self contained, but really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raj25918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie1964, General Manager at Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for such elaborate and awesome feedback.

We are privileged that we could make your stay a memorable one. Your compliments have been passed on to our Rooms Division Manager and her team.

We look forward to having you back with us for many more getaways!


Warm Regards


Joseph Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hansville, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a delightful stay here at the end of a 3 week trip through India. They staff are so friendly and want you to enjoy their resort. The food was very good in a dining room of incrediable architectural design. I loved the swimming pool with wild bird life singing and soaring above us.
A lovely place to unwind and be pampered.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie1964, General Manager at Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your very encouraging feedback.

We are delighted that we were able to give you a delightful stay. Your comments have been passed on to our staff which will go a long way in encouraging them to deliver the best!


We look forward to having you with us and assure you of another wonderful stay.


Warm Regards



Joseph Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We recently took a family vacation and stayed at this resort and we couldn't have picked a better place. I travel a lot and this by far is one of the best resort's I've stayed at. Its an extremely beautiful resort, very well maintained with a lovely beach, the cottages are extremely roomy, comfortable with an earthy feel. The amenities and services at the resort were also great, from free use of bikes, to a library, yoga classes, little adventures into the sea and the delicious food, everything was very well planned. The best thing about the resort are the people who work there, the hospitality was impeccable, we were extremely well looked after. They looked after my parents just as well as they did my 6 year old niece and found something of interest to all of us. From looking into our little needs at the resort to organizing sigh seeing trips for us, we were extremely well looked after. I highly recommend this resort and will definitely go back. - Janet Rajan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie1964, General Manager at Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such wonderful comments!

We are extremely happy that we were able to give your family a memorable holiday. Your comments have been passed on to the staff and they have been complimented on their good work. It is feedback like this which encourages us to climb greater heights.

We are thrilled that you wish to return and look forward to making your next family holiday even better.


Warm Regards


Joseph Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent only 2 nights at Canourstie Resort but it was perfect.
It's a good place to stay after a long trip in south India. The resort is beautifully landscaped, the beach is wonderful.
There are only 30 villas so you can enjoy a sense of privateness. We had chance to try the Ayurveda center and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie1964, General Manager at Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your lovely feedback!


We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you with us again.


Warm Regards



J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Recommended by a travel agency, we ended our tour in Kerala in this resort. Great idea. Nested among small fishing settlements, nor far from Allepey, this resort deserves the stay.
Gardens very well kept, bungalows/rooms big and nicely decorated. Wonderful beach, very nice swimming pool. A fantastic yet expensive spa.
Food is very good but it is served without alcohol.
Service is outstanding.
Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenoswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie1964, General Manager at Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your lovely feedback!

We are glad you had a wonderful stay at our resort and have passed on your compliments to our team. Thank you for recommending us...it means a lot!

We look forward to having you with us again and assure you of a superior experience.


Warm Regards


Joseph Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for two days but I can definitely say it's the best two days of our stay in India! The resort is beautifully landscaped the beach is clean and beautiful.
The villas are beautiful and you can enjoy a sense of privateness. They have a great spa with specialists and doctors in all fields. and also free yoga classes on the beach at sunrise and sunset. There's a dance show with dinner every night which was nice! I enjoyed my stay very much.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carnoustie1964, General Manager at Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment!

We are honored that you considered the stay at our hotel the best in India. Your comments have been conveyed to our team to keep them motivated and achieve greater heights.


We look forward to having you with us again and promise you of another memorable experience.


Warm Regards


Joseph Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
1.9 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
9.1 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.0 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
15.9 mi away
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
Athreya Ayurvedic Centre
#1 of 28 in Kottayam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort

Property: Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Address: opp Chennaveli Church, State Highway 66 | Chethy PO, Chennaveli, Mararikulam 688530, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort, situated at the Marari beach close to the Alappuzha backwaters, comprises of 40 luxury villas, a traditional Ayurveda Spa, Two Backwater Suite in Muhamma, One Two Bedroom House Boat and a Sailing Club. The villas are designed to reduce energy and water consumption as well as minimize the use of exhaustible materials. The eco-friendly resort ensures that we use materials such as jute, bamboo, recycled cardboard instead of wood, reprocessed plastic and scrap wood. While at the resort, travellers can take lake/ backwater tours to gaze at the gorgeous paddy fields of Alapphuza, try out the early-morning yoga sessions, unwind at the beach, relax at the spa, enjoy performances by local traditional dancers and Kerala’s range of percussion music, try their hand at night fishing, cycle around villages or sail the backwaters and learn a bit of archery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort Kerala, India - Mararikulam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing