We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Kerala”
Review of A Beach Symphony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Beach Symphony
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Paradise in Kerala”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As a single female traveller I am always on the look out for a place where I can feel comfortable and feel at home - be looked after in some style - and allowed to just be, without sticking out like a sore thumb! This was just perfect. My own private bungalow a minutes all from the beach, with plunge pool and dining area on a front terrace. The staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful yet discreet and unassuming. The food was delicious and chef stopped by most days to see what I was enjoying and if I had and special requests. It is important for me to eat the local food - although European options were available - and this saw me enjoying some unusual breakfasts - all of which were delicious - such as coconut chutney and pancakes. Each meal was beautifully served and prepared from fresh local produce. I enjoyed a couple of massages - be aware ladies that you strip down to nothing and there can be no modesty preserved - yet they were amazing even if the Ayuverdic oils did have a faint whiff of fried onion about them! Drinks were available on request - in expensive and served ice cold. The beach stretched for miles and was virtually empty except for hundreds of sand crabs at the waters edge. All in all a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow with private plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    20
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
136
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at A Beach Symphony after a long journey from Gatwick, it was chosen as a first stop travelling around the area. As previous visitors to the wonders of Kerala this was a stunning location and all reviews here are an excellent description of a place that offers peace and tranquility. However my husband "forgot" part of his medication when packing so we spoke to Deepu, the manager. No problem, effortlessly he contacted the pharmacist in the village, we used the "in-house" tuk tuk to take us there at a pre-arranged time and the pharmacist had the required medication waiting for us on our arrival for the princely sum of .90p. If this isn't the wow factor it is certainly the re-assurance anyone would want regarding how to deal with minor issues when travelling.
In order to relax after the long journey we took advantage of the Ayurveda centre within the hotel, for a relatively small cost we received a range of treatments in very atmospheric surroundings. If you enjoy massages you will love these!
All of the staff are delightful and so eager to please which is not unusual in India but it's to have them so readily available at the end of the phone that sets this apart.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnGEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We opted for an extended stay at ABS after our tour around Kerala and we were not disappointed in our decision. We stayed in Nagaswaram Cottage in mid-February and its location and beach views are as described on their web site. The arrangement of the cottage is quirky to say the least as it was two small individuals cottage in a previous existence which has been converted into one very spacious cottage with completely separate toilet and shower facilities (both open to the private rear garden).
At the time of booking our agent hard advised us that ABS did not provide all the usual facilities and features associated with a traditional beach hotel, i.e. no evening entertainment, no bar, etc., etc. This may not be to everyone’s taste but if you are looking for peace and tranquillity in a very special location, look no-further. ABS does not have a formal reception and when we arrived, (slightly ahead of normal check-in time) we were taken straight to our cottage where everything was explained. Of particular note is the cell phone located in each room which is pre-loaded with the phone numbers for all staff so that all request are just a call away.
ABS offers “veranda service” for all meals and this proved to be a real treat during our stay. Domenic and Richard provide guests with this “butler type” service and always ensure there is an adequate supply of cold drinking water in your cottage.
The grounds and pool of ABS are lovely with several hammocks strategically located under shady coconut palms and proved to be an extremely pleasant way of enjoying the heat whilst enjoying the sea breeze and shade. It would be remiss of us not to mention the beach – it provides guests with the possibility of long walks in either direction but as previous reviews have mentioned, it is a working beach with fishing boats setting out every morning and this brings with it Indian practices. However, this did not spoil or effect our enjoyment although we decided not to venture into the sea and used the lovely pool instead.
Other reviews have explained how Chef Binu visits to discuss evening meals and they catered for our non-vegetarian/vegetarian requirements admirably. There is also a dedicated tuk-tuk (driven by Shaji) available at ABS
As we had booked one of ABS’s extended stay packages we qualified for two tours, namely a full day excursion into the backwaters with lunch at a small homestay and an evening meal at a local restaurant. Both of these experiences proved to be extremely enjoyable and the evening meal involved a night drive in the tuk-tuk, (highly exciting!!). The homestay lunch with the owner and her daughters was one of our highlights of the whole Keralan experience.
On reflection, we had a fabulous time at ABS and would recommend to visitors who are looking for something which offers peace and tranquillity.

Room Tip: The rooms with a beach view also receive the benefits of the sea breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for three days , in the villa to the front left ( Nagaswaran?) I loved the way each villa was slightly different and each had its particular charm. Ours was simply but stylishly furnished, slightly dark internally because of all the dark wood - and would have benefited from bedside tables and bedside lamps. A small fridge would also have been nice. The terrace was lovely, overlooking the sandy, coconut tree-d gardens and beyond it, the sea.
The pool was clean and well maintained - and since there are only 4 cottages, never overcrowded. We were a party of 6 and mostly had the place to ourselves, since the remaining Violin Cottage had its own plunge pool.
The staff were discrete yet attentive. The cottage was always cleaned well, and the food appeared in clean, white, covered plates - all spotless.
As a party of 6 we tended to have our breakfast and lunch at our individual villas and then the staff laid a table in the garden where supper would be served. The food was of a high quality although a little limited.
The beach was surprisingly clean and a pleasant place to walk along. In the early morning one could hear the local fisherman's fish auction going on. There were crashing waves on the beach and I think one should be cautious swimming there although some did.
We had wondered if 3 days doing nothing might be tedious - but it wasn't - and we very much appreciated the relaxing time after a 10 trek around South India !

Room Tip: Violin is a superior, stylish villa with its own plunge pool but all the other 3 cottages have their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLEBTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed in Violin Cottage for 5 nights in February and really enjoyed our stay. There is no formal reception here so on arrival were taken straight to our cottage where everything was explained and we received the cell phone to ensure that anything we needed at any time was just a call away. The cottage was spacious with a dressing area. The bathroom was through the French windows in the garden area and the shower was also outside. We really enjoyed having our own plunge pool although the pool area was extremely comfortable. It took no time to settle into a routine of walking along the beach before breakfast, staying around the pool until lunch and then enjoying our plunge pool in the afternoons.

The roof was excellent and having the meals on your own terrace was a bonus. Although there is no fridge in the room it was an easy matter to call for a cold drink whenever one was needed and they would bring it to you wherever you were in the resort. There was also lots of cold water refreshed several times during the day.

As has been mentioned the beach can be a little dirty - it is a working beach with fishing boats setting out every morning but we still enjoyed or morning walks. There is also a tuk tuk available from the hotel and we took this for a tour around the nearby area and also visited a temple festival (which lasted for 21 days) in the evening and the driver remained with us to ensure we saw everything and explain the festival to us.

We wondered before we went if 5 nights would be too long in this quiet area but we really had a fantastic break there and enjoyed our excursions and also bike ride around the area. We really miss this place and definitely want to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

If you want to experience a place where the service and attention to detail is First Class, then this is the place.

You are made to feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

The setting is fantastic, meals served on your own terrace at a time you want them served, it is a place where you can live a dream. Days are passed in total peace and quiet,relaxing and very attentive staff.

There has been a few comments made previously about the beach!..... The beach is fantastic! We spent our days by the sea on the beach which is very quiet and not overcrowded at all. It is a working beach, which only adds to the flavour of the area.....it's a must! You are not bothered at all, in fact the local people want to be friendly and take your photo!.... No harm there whatsoever!

The Chef asks each day what you would like for breakfast, lunch & dinner, then it is all cooked fresh and served with such professionalism.

We cannot rate our stay at Beach Symphony highly enough as it is just paradise.

Thank you for allowing us to spend time with you all.

Alan & Ollie.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ALandOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ystad, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a fantastic 3 days stay in A Beach Symphony first weekend of march 2014.

The cottage was beautiful and facing the sea and service was fast and excellent. We already miss the place a lot. This is different from any place we have stayed in in India. And we've travelled many times to India. It's not crowed, max you will have 10 guests on the whole resort. Breakfast whenever you want it...no restaurant feeling but they serve food on your veranda. Through a mobile phone you can reach everybody all the time. Nice pool. you feel that the owners care and have put a lot in this place.

The beach is very close, and here you feel comfortable on the beach. Unless on other beaches nearby in Kerala where we often feel we offend the locals by running around in our bathing suits. This beach is nice and clean and a good blend of tourists and locals. You feel safe and you have the real local fisherman village closeby. A very nice part of india and a perfect place to come at ease.

We will come back for sure !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martineathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mararikulam
0.2 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carnoustie Ayurveda & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marari Beach Resort
Marari Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Mararikulam
835 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marari Villas
Marari Villas
#1 of 27 in Mararikulam
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marari Austin Beach Villa
Marari Austin Beach Villa
#6 of 34 in Mararikulam
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beach Symphony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beach Symphony

Property: A Beach Symphony
Address: West of Mararikulam Beach Junction, Mararikulam 688549, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Mararikulam
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Mararikulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from work to paradise! Where dreams come true for those looking for a perfect relaxing holiday.Only 4 separate cottages set in a coconut tree beach garden. Hammocks around the property, completely furnished super spacious verandab with relaxing and dining set, all the meals served on your veranda & All cottages have AC (even the extra room in Khombu has a separate one). A common swimming pool (15 x 5 meter) with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas. We really look after you to guarantee a perfect stay because holidays are precious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your A Beach Symphony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Beach Symphony Hotel Alappuzha
A Beach Symphony Kerala, India - Mararikulam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing