We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaziantep's Central Inn”
Review of Ali Bey Konagi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ali Bey Konagi
Ranked #1 of 7 Sahinbey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Gaziantep's Central Inn”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

"Konagi" means "Inn" in Turkish, I think. Some might call this place a "quaint" property; others a "boutique". What it is is a carefully restored Ottoman family home with fittings and fixtures carefully worked out so that whilst you know you are staying in the midst of history, you do not suffer unduly for it.
This is not a flash hotel: there are others in the area. But it is a very clean one and the refurbishment of the residence has left it like an upgraded museum. The photograph used is taken from the courtyard and before they put a roof over part of that area.
This next part of the review is of interest only if you are travelling in a car as we were: they advertise parking. In July 2014, there was none, except on the streets nearby or in an "Otopark" for a few YTL or TL. I was annoyed about that. They are refurbishing a building across the street that has a large courtyard I assume will be guest parking, but that could be a few weeks or months away. I understand that people want to sell their place, so photographs often do exaggerate; but should paragraphs mis-lead? I don't think so. As I said, this only is of interest if you are travelling by car.
In general, the Ali Bey is as the other reviews have indicated: in the centre of the old part of town within easy walking distance to markets and sights.
Breakfast is very filling in the Turkish way and the small staff - three when we were there - are friendly. The Ali Bey also is just across the road from an ancient Hammam or Turkish steam bath: Men in the morning and women in the evening.
There seems to be air conditioning in all the bedrooms, but if you are in a suite, as we were, there is only a fan and, of course, windows to be opened. There are plenty of air conditioned hotels in Gaziantep if that is a priority.
There is a large blow up of Gamal Ataturk's citizen registration on the first floor corridor so I assume he must have stayed with the previous owners at some point.
If you are a light sleeper, this place may not be for you: it is in the centre and plenty of people live nearby, playing their music, walking and talking in the streets and using their various modes of transport. And there always is the Adhan or Muslim call to prayer.
If, on the other hand, you find such an urban soundscape stimulating and attractive, stay at the Ali Bey Konagi.

Room Tip: There really are no fully inside rooms, but try to find one with more wall than others. Or choose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
21
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I guess if you're into this kind of hotel, you could give it 4 stars. For us it lacked privacy and comfort.

Staff is very friendly, this sometines creates somewhat awkward situations.

Room no 4 is a suite with a sitting area, a sleeping area and a bathroom.

The sitting area doesn't have airconditioning (it does have a fan). This area was uncomfortably hot.


The sleeping area has no windows (except the one facing the hallway), therefore it's a bit like a dungeon. It does get cool though (airconditioning).

The bathroom was a bit damp and warm (like a sauna). The shower was not very practical.

Breakfast was very good (home made). Staff is very helpful.


If you like quaint and homestays, this is the one for you. If you're more into comfort and anonimity, pick another place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RLente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELGIUM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you want to stay in a romantic, historical and authentic place in Gaziantep, "Ali Bey Konagi" is your place!
This is the perfect old ottoman house which offers comfortable location (at the foot of the castle, bazars & main attractions, 25km from airport) and beautiful services.
We stayed for 4 nights in a room at the first floor, looking like a mini-suite. A large living room with a traditional wooden Turkish sofa, decorated with kilims. Walls are made of beautiful typical stones. The bedroom was perfect with good bedding. And the bathroom, looking like a small hammam with marble on the floor, was so nice. Even with a central location, the place is very quiet day and night.
The breakfasts were served outside, on the well decorated terrace, where we could enjoy the fresh air. Home-made jams, traditional cheeses, typical breads, fruits and baklavas with pistachios made our days! The personnal were very attentive and sweet, always there to bring you help or services.
Many thanks to you for your kindness and for having done our stay in your beautiful place an unforgettable one. <3

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xIssimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Best historical place Centre of the town.
Nice Desing Turkish Home style Konak
All people are very hospital
Rooms are quite good. Only worst thing Windows sound protection
All other things was excellent.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Orhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I and my friends stayed in this hotel only one night. It was clean ,comfortable staff was very helpful and friendly. It is in the center where the tourist atraction. The breakfast was very good. The only critism would be the pictures shows the place bigger than it is but we understand they are openning another small hotel nearby to this. Smilar idea but it looked bigger. If I go to Gaziantep again definetly I would stay there again.

Room Tip: the best room called "Doughter in-law"" Gelin Odası"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yuksel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was fortunate to spend 2 nights in Gaziantep in December when on a trip with Turkish friends to southern Turkey. They selected this place for me, as they knew I was lovers of all things Ottoman and Turkish with respect to architecture, culture, food and experience.

The inn was a beautiful former home that has been converted to an small pension. It has a quiet courtyard, comfortable rooms, modern bathrooms, antique furniture and touches everywhere. I was absolutely delighted to fall asleep in a Ottoman room with 15-18 foot ceilings at the foot of the ancient fort, with all the quiet street sounds of the area.

A special experience is the turkish breakfast. It was more than breakfast, it was an experience. The breadkfast was set up in the beautiful lit and appointed hallway on the second floor, just right outside your bedroom door. The owners prepared a beautiful traditional Turkish breakfast, including eggs cooked to order, pistachio sweets, tea, olives, bread assortment, cheeses, fresh vegetables and fruits. We sat on low chairs and ate off of large, decorated metal trays.

I had a lovely room with a queen-sized bed, and my friends had a suite that came with a large sitting area, complete with kilim covered settees and a coffee table.

The owners were very helpful as we planned our day, arranged for taxis to visit local museums and restaurants.

Just outside the door and a few blocks away you can enter the large covered markets, where you will find all the beautiful craft and food items you may have seen in Istanbul in the Spice Market and/or Grand Bazaar, but without the touristy spin and crowds. In this market, you are meeting with and interacting with the actual craftsmen, and can watch them as they blacksmith, make belts, and/or shoes right before your eyes. The prices were afforable and I returned with soaps, spices, leather slippers, a jezvah, and skarves. There was really no reason for me to deal with the madness of Sultanahmet in Istanbul after this wonderful shopping experience.

This might not be the right experience for everyone, but for me and other lovers of the history and culture of Ottoman Turkey, it was a dream come true.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dzeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffin Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Alibey Konagi was an experience in itself. An old residence turned into a pension. The rooms were small but comfortable. The staff super friendly and obliging. Breakfast in the courtyard was magnificent. All produce fresh and beautifully presented. Close to the bazaars and the castle. We were disappointed that we only had one night there. Definitely on our agenda if we go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geraldine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sahinbey
0.7 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Gaziantep
0.5 mi away
Sirehan Hotel
Sirehan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Gaziantep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaziantep-Sehitkamil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gaziantep
Hotel Ibis Gaziantep
#8 of 27 in Gaziantep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Divan Suites Gaziantep
Divan Suites Gaziantep
#5 of 27 in Gaziantep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novotel Gaziantep
Hotel Novotel Gaziantep
#2 of 27 in Gaziantep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali Bey Konagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Bey Konagi

Property: Ali Bey Konagi
Address: Tislaki mah. Kafadar Sok No 6, Sahinbey, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Gaziantep Province > Sahinbey
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sahinbey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is century-old mansion, decorated tradational style which is situated center of city near Gaziantep Castle. All historical places are situated near this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ali Bey Konagi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali Bey Konagi Gaziantep Province/Sahinbey, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing