We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere, good for carnivores and veggies alike”

Albergo Ristorante Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our Restaurant is renowned for the preparation of pappardelle pasta, soups including the traditional ribollita, panzanella salad, game, and fish, dishes that have always been part of traditional Tuscan cuisine. We are very much linked to our territory and we also transmit our passion here, in the homelike preparation of the dishes, the homemade pasta, the desserts, and the care with which we choose genuine, top quality ingredients. To complement the dishes prepared directly by us, our menu includes the good cheeses and delicious cold cuts produced in the area. We also offer special celiac or vegetarian menus. In this Hotel with Restaurant you will also enjoy having lunch here in summer because the rooms are climate-controlled; the restaurant can host approximately 50 diners. In the adjacent Bar, with the illusion created by the beautiful artistic fresco that resembles a window opening over Volterra, hotel guests may enjoy a delicious Buffet breakfast. We are well known for our cart of homemade sweets.
Bury UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere, good for carnivores and veggies alike”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We ate at Africa in August 2014. There were 8 of us, a mix of carnies and veggies. The food was excellent and satisfied everyone's needs. The fish stew was said by the people having it to be particularly good, ditto the sticky pork and tomatoes. The bill was about €20 per head including wine and beer. Service was attentive, fast, and friendly. We had a really fun night and I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glassedinbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful food and fantastic service”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The owners had just closed when we arrived, but they invited us to have lunch anyway and kept the kitchen open for us. They served us with a delicious meal that was by far the best we had during our entire vacation in Tuscany. They are unbelievably kind and friendly, always with a smile, and also helped us find a local place where we could watch a World Cup football match on pay-TV. The entire restaurant is clean and well-maintained, including the restrooms, and the lovely owner family is clearly running this restaurant with a passion. An affordable 5-star experience that you should not miss.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M3-911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Every dish was good, the whole family enjoyed this place and we wen't back a second time, very warm, homely feeling, and very tasty with reasonable prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alonsegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great portions of Tuscan flavours at non tourist prices”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our last meal here in Tuscany and after sampling some great food in other Tuscan towns the food is here is tasty and portion sizes fantastic. Puts other restaurants to shame. Come here and say hi to the sisters who run this delightful place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albergo Ristorante Africa also viewed

Saline di Volterra, Province of Pisa
 
Volterra, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Albergo Ristorante Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing