We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Copper Horse Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husbands parents booked the palladium cottage for the family over the Easter Bank Holiday. The accommodation was perfect. 6 adults & 2 children stayed. The room sizes were very good and all the required amenities. Everything was to a high standard & clean. Seamer itself is a nice village, but not much else there other then 2 x pubs, small park, mini supermarket & a fish & chip shop. It's a great base to get out & explore North Yorkshire. We had a meal & the copper house & our experience was not great, but we did get the impression that this was a one off as the restaurant was very busy. The owners could not do enough to rectify this and if we'd stayed longer would have certainly gone again.

Room Tip: It can get a little noisy when people are leaving the pubs... Either pick a room at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
30
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in the 'grey room' in Palladium house this weekend. Simply fantastic, the standards in the bedroom and the lounge were amazing. We did not use the kitchen, but it also looked to be very well fitted out. Ate in the restaurant in the evening as well as breakfast and could not find fault with either or them. Can easily understand why this place only ever seems to get excellent reviews. If you could find fault with it, you would be better off staying at home. Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We had the grey room which is the only one of the 4 in Palladium House which is on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barryat5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

What a brilliant little cottage! Everything you could need was catered for, even the pets! Lovely and modern. Very large comfy bed and fantastic restaurant and pub on your door step. The pub is even dog friendly. Located just a 5 minute drive out of scarborough. We have raved about it to all our friends. Hope to return soon. Our only criticizium was that the sofa is very small so couldn't really snuggle up to watch tv and the shower was sometimes hit and miss alternating hot and cold! Which some of the other cottages were pet friendly as our pug loved his get away and we would love to try the other cottages.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We were given this treat from a bunch of friends who knew that the Copper Horse was one of our favourite local restaurants. We stayed overnight in Palladium House in a lovely, well furnished room with its own well appointed bathroom. The little touches such as the complimentary chocolates and crisps as well as water and champagne helped make the whole experience seem very special. Palladium house has four bedrooms and whilst we were sharing it with strangers and it was more like a hotel stay we are now trying to organise a night there with friends so that we will have full occupancy of the house and we are very much looking forward to it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just returned from a fantastic ! 7 Night Stay in "The Old Post Office" part of the Copper Horse portfolio of cottages.

The Old Post Office is situated in Scalby a beautiful village a few miles outside of Scarborough.

The day before we traveled I was contacted by Nicky to arrange a time for collection of keys at the cottage. On arrival at the cottage we met Nicky who is the perfect host ; she was so friendly and welcoming, Nicky showed us around the cottage in detail, pointed out the complimentary Wine Milk Bread Cheese they had left for us and as we had taken Buddy our dog she had even got him a chew as a treat ! This is customer service at a 5 Star Level.

The Old Post Office accommodation is fabulously decorated and furnished to a very high standard. The lounge(s) downstairs had 2 large TV's, Sky in one and FreeView in another a DVD player, the kitchen very well equipped with plenty of wine and champagne glasses which were used often, a washer, a drier, a dishwasher. Outside there was a lovely seating area with BBQ however it was a tad chilly for us to use but perfect in the summer months.

The three large double bedrooms were furnished as boutique hotel rooms with fantastic comfy beds and again TV's in each room and ipod docks.

I travel greatly in the UK and abroad as part of my job, and for pleasure, I have to say this is the best self catering accommodation I have had the pleasure of staying in.

On the Friday before we left we also went for lunch at the Copper Horse restaurant which had a great atmosphere and the food was delicious.

We will definitely be back ! Thank You for making our holiday memorable :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We visited this pub after reading reviews on here and have to say it is the best meal we have ever
We found the portions big but so tasty we would not hesitate to visit again. We have recommended this pub to people we know in the area and I hope they go to experience how lovely the food is.
All I can say is .... Go!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelesqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at the Lyceum Cottage so that we could take our dog along too. The standard of facilities and cleanliness were excellent. The decor is modern yet homely and was equipped with more electrical gadets than we have at home! The cottage had a lovely enclosed garden with beautiful patio furniture, so it was great to be able to make use of the outside space without having to worry about the dog disappearing! We were able to sample the tasty delights from the pub menu in the comfort of our own cottage, as meals were delivered to the door by the friendly pub staff. An excellent base for touring the Scarborough, Cayton, Filey, Flamborough area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mistervic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seamer
3.6 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 28 in Scarborough
1,502 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,836 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mayfield
The Mayfield
#73 of 183 in Scarborough
89 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Grainary
The Grainary
#3 of 34 in Scarborough
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper Horse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper Horse Cottages

Property: The Copper Horse Cottages
Address: Main Street, Seamer YO12 4RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Seamer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Seamer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Copper Horse Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Horse Cottages are 6 luxuriously appointed cottages situated around 4 miles from the beautiful seaside resort of Scarborough in the centre of the pretty village of Seamer. Just a few steps away from The Copper Horse, the award winning restaurant run by the cottage owners. These cottages have been lovingly designed using the finest quality fabrics and furnishings and each one is uniquely decorated to provide first class accommodation for a family or a group of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Copper Horse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Copper Horse Cottages Seamer/Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing