We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cuisine in Kloof Hillcrest area”
Review of Quo Restaurant

Quo Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Gillitts
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cuisine in Kloof Hillcrest area”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The food at Quo restaurant is in our opinion the best in the Highway area which is Kloof, Hillcrest and surrounds. The ingredients are fresh, the meals light and healthy and delicious. The servings are generous. Dishes are an interesting mix of tastes. The service is excellent. Friendly and attentive staff. There is a good choice of wines from the wine list. The decor is fresh and uncluttered and most attractive. The owner Jonathan is a charming host and a marvelous chef who has had many years of experience. We strongly recommend this restaurant and advise you to book in advance as it is often fully booked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharlaevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    49
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ONE WORD * OUTSTANDING *l”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having booked a table for 8 friends last night we decided to meet a little earlier in order for us to have pre dinner drinks in the courtyard at Quo in the GIllitts Center. Not sure if " Less than the Best" commented on the Quo i went to as 6 of us ordered the lamb chops 4 requested WELL DONE and 2 ordered medium all were outstanding tender & delicious service was excellent waitrons well trained. Wine selection 5 star. Prices what you would expect to pay for quality service & ambience already planning our next dinner date at Quo can't wait . Bread & butter pud a must.

TO HAVE PRE DINNER DRINKS IN THE COURTYARD AT QUO IN THE GILLITTS SHOPPING CENTER. NOT SURE IF " LESS THAN THE BEST " COMMENTED ON THE QUO Î WENT TO AS 6 OF US ORDERED THE LAMB CHOPS 4 REQUESTED WELL DONE & 2 MEDIUM ALL WERE OUTSTANDING DELICIOUS & TENDER . SERVICE EXCELLENT WITH WAITRONS WELL TRAINED . WINE VARIETY FIVE STAR. PRICES IS WHAT YOU EXPECT TO PAY FOR OUTSTANDING WELL PRESENTED FOOD SERVICE & AMBIENCE. ALREADY PLANNING OUR NEXT DINNER DATE AT QUO

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Less than the best”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

In March of this year, my husband and two friends from overseas went to Quo to have a Sunday lunch. We made the choice to go to Quo because many of our friends had raved about the restaurant. The staff were attentive and helpful but that is where it ended. We waited ages, and ages for our food to arrive. One of our party wanted well-done lamb chops. There is a big difference between well-done and charred! Another member of the party wanted grilled fillet and he asked for a little sauce such as tartare sauce on the side - no tartate sauce so he had to be content with mayonnaise. Not our best visit to a local restaurant and won't be going back in a hurry. For what we got the prices rather inflated.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank harte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The restaurant, now that it has moved across the courtyard in the complex, exudes a lovely atmosphere. The menu, although not enormous, leaves you waiting in anticipation for your meal. The food is beautifully presented, well executed and Delicious!
The staff are very well trained on the various dishes and provide a fantastic service.
My only problem was with the bathrooms. They needed a clean and the lack of a hand towel left you trying to scrummage some pieces of toilet paper.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent venue, food and service”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I recently dined at this establishment for the first time, It was an awesome evening. Will certainly go back soon. During warm weather a table outside in the courtyard is best.

Helpful?
Thank Scorpion619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quo Restaurant also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Quo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing