We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa de la Playa Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Gold View Beach Resort(Siquijor)(Great Value!)
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Check Inn Pension Arcade(Dumaguete City)
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sta. Monica Beach Club(Dumaguete City)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Go Hotels Dumaguete(Dumaguete City)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tori's Paradise(Siquijor Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
37
49
35
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
49
35
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh tiderestaurant areathe beach is nicemotorbikeparadisecottageislandresortverandafanverdepagoda
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at the Casa for 2 nights with our 2 children. Great location, our room was just in front of the sea. The view is very nice, and the garden wonderful. The co-owner Terry was very helpful for us when our trip was modified due to a tropical storm alert.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Spent New Year's eve there with my mom for a little me-time. They had prepared a party at the restaurant for the night with a buffet and local entertainers. We opted to keep to ourselves since we were there for some quiet time--reading, eating and a lot of naps. Our cottage was adequate, comfy enough beds, spacious veranda, a little kitchen (which I loved because we brought our own meals), a hammock in the yard, and it has a perfect distance from other cottages for privacy.

The environment was beautiful ( a lot of trees and plants--a mini-forest) and I loved getting lost in it or getting lost in the moment. You can take a stroll down to the beach to watch the sunset through picturesque little paths. The white beach was okay for swimming but for those who love deep waters you may hire a motorbike or a van to get to salagdoong Beach in Maria, Siquijor for better snorkeling experience.

They have a restaurant for dining with free wifi access, and a little nook with a good selection of books to borrow if you wanna escape in a story.

CONS:The bathroom we had was a little small--quite a challenge for tall/big people to maneuver in. The place was a short distance from the highway and you are subjected to unpaved, bumpy roads. (NOTE: There may have been improvements so I just based my review on my experience).

Overall, good enough for local tourists like us...

Room Tip: Cottages near the beach have the best views
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

my stay was perfect. i was arriving late with LITE shipping, but had a reliable pick up free of charge from the pier, good to know in the night if you do not know the neigborhood, but there
was no problem anyway, very safe and nice people all around.
i got the a beachfront house with small kitchenette, which i did not need because i really liked the food in the restaurant.
my favored was a fresh melon juice which was no problem to get, if melons were on the market available.. i cannot agree with the other couple complaining about the instant drinks, you just got to ask, it is all possible, of course you have to understand that fresh drinks have a differend price.
i also had a massage with an excellent treatment like thai , swedish and shiatsu all together, i never had such a good all in one massage, also the healer carmen does a good job, but totally
different, all in all again you have to be aware that availability is not always accurate as in a city spa or in a big resort where everybody stayes put, also the healer is often taken out by patients from her home place so its good luck if you can get one at exact time... but this is just normal life in the philippines, however the staff is trying to do the best to please everybody...
i loved to go for a swim and snorkel, which is amazing once you find the right entrance.. yes you have to walk outside in low tide, but during my stay the high tide gave me a chance to swim right from the seawall.. all is mentioned and properly advised, so no surprise...
for boats to leave the island you really should get your tickets in advance ( 1 day) because there can be surprises... don"t rely on the internet it is not updated, old information like a boat named Weesam goes to the island, but it does not at all any more,, .(i heard since years)
i took a motorbike and toured the island, amazing lovely people and places, there was a hidden waterfall in the hillside above tubod, called lugnasan or so which was very romantic...you can also swim there. i was talking to a few travellers while doing my internet in the restaurant, they all loved this little nature paradise..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecile p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Wonderful Place to relax and get to know the friendly, caring nature of the people in the Philippines. The staff are eager to please, show you sights on the island, and cook excellent food!! I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the nicest! The geckos even speak to you!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorenaleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We spend 4 nights here with a 9 month old baby. The "Casa Romantica" was a good choice for a family with baby, as it has a closed balkony, so that our little son could crawl arround. The room is not to big, but o.k. but the bathroom is very small and old. The beach is not realy nice, as it becomes muddy with low tide and it is dificult to swim there. Even the snorkel riff we could not find as of low visibility under water. For us the beach was o.k. as the baby could play in the schallow water. The worse thing about this resort is the service. There was a fridge in the room, but it was empty with a sign indicating, that we should tell the reception what we need, so that they fill it up. A good idea, but when they delivered the drinks to put in the fridge, they told us that we will be charged a delivery fee! In the restaurant you have to order food in advance (lunch and dinner), as otherwise it will take 2 hours, even if the resort is not booked out. Some dished are very good, but some are not good at all. They say everything is very fresh and healthy, but I was given an instant formula orange juice that was named healthy fruit juice. When we wanted to have a body massage and made an appointment it was delayed and we had to wait two hours again, until an old lady arrived, giving a healing celebration while burbing all the time! The worst happened when we checked out. We asked them one day ahead, to arrange transport for us as we had to go to the airport to Dumaguete. They told us three times, that they checked the ferries and that we can go with the 2pm ferry. But when they brought us to the pear, the ferry schedule showed no ferry for that time. The ticket officer even told us, that he already told Casa Playa, that there is no ferry at that time of the day at this pear. So the staff of Casa Playa was not able to communicate among each other but instead telling us that everything is arranged. Luckily, there was a slow car ferry half an hour later at another harbour, so that we managed to get to the airport just half an hour before departure of our plane! So if you don't mind to wait for two hours for your food, if you don't need any service at all, if you don't want to swim, if you are fine with a burbing healing massage and if you don't mind a very esotheric atmosphere, you can check into Casa de La Playa, but we won't meet us there, as we definitely won't come here again!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with toodlers, take "Casa Romantica" as it has a closed balkony with nice views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews