We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sad to leave”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Turnditch, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scruffyma...
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Misleading and disappointing”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We started at Deer Croft Cottage last week. The cottage itself is ok but key points to note;

1. It's a venison farm rather than family herd of deer - the deer are all ear tagged and processed on site, discovered by the big sign offering venison for sale on site. This is fine if you are ok knowing the nice deer you are looking at are due for the dinner plate - I wasn't comfortable with that
2. The gorgeous dog Agnes is indeed gorgeous however she spent a lot of time in a small cage on the driveway when we were there. We welcomed her visits happy to see her out of a cage! But note, if you aren't keen on dogs (which we are so hard to imagine however...), you will get a visit and the owners don't intervene with this - we never saw the owners of the house despite the cottage actually being attached to their house - that's not mentioned either in the spec!
3. It's off quite a busy road so if wanting to walk anywhere bear that in mind especially if you have children
4 A travel cot and high chair and toys are there which are good but there are no stair gates which isn't great as there is the main staircase then small steps to both bedrooms
5. Kitchen could do with having a few basics - cooking oil, foil etc..
6. FLIES! Everywhere! We had at least 5 in the cottage at anytime, usually more. Not sure if there was a bin problem or if they were attracted to the waste tank next door to the driveway by the cottage
7. Wifi was intermittent - we tended to get kicked off in the evenings
8. Small detail.but the batteries in the to remote didn't work! And neither did the lamp in one of the bedrooms. Ok small moan but after all the other things it got a bit annoying!

If I'm honest, I'd look elsewhere if I were you!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. For the sake of future guests we'd like to clarify a few points that you raise.

The property is not on a venison farm, the deer around the property lead long and happy lives. There is venison locally farmed, but it not the deer at the property. The waste tank mentioned is in fact an oil tank for the central heating, the broadband at the property is up to 20Mb/s and there are always spare batteries left at the property, the owners make a stair gate available to all guests on request. Finally the property is described as semi detached in the advertisement, the owners are always very mindful of their guests privacy.

Following your review the owner of the property has replaced the lamps in the bedroom and they would like to thank you for bring to their attention.

We really do appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back to another of our properties in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra S
Blackburn
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sad to leave”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just had a wonderful holiday at Deercroft cottage,and didn't want to leave.The owners Jo and Rob have equipped the cottage with everything you might need,it is warm and comfortable and set in beautiful countryside.Every window had great views and animals wandering by.It was so wonderful to see the deer just a few yards away and we were welcomed by a beautiful stag grazing by the door.The two 2 week old fawns also came running and jumping by too.
We also loved the daily visits of Agnes,their young black Labrador dog who was mum to the 2 remaining puppies.I will really miss her because she was such a friendly,happy dog.
There are numerous places to eat in the area,the closest being the Tiger.Thursday night is "pie night" with a choice of no less than 100!
We also found Ashbourne to be particularly dog friendly,as lots of shops allowed them in as well as the pubs.
We found so many places to walk and villages to discover so wouldn't hesitate to go back.
We have already recommended the cottage to our family and friends.
It has been a real privilege to have stayed there.
Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Leaving all the animals behind!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible review, we are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Deer Croft Cottage. It sounds positively idyllic, and what a welcome with that stag grazing on the doorstep - fabulous! Don't be too sad that you had to leave, you can always return for another break, and hopefully very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy R
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We loved the setting and the cottage and our two rough collies settled in quickly, which is particularly unusual for one of them as he is very fussy about where we stay. The owners were helpful and meeting the deer, chickens, pigs and the Labrador Agnes and her gorgeous puppies was a bonus. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped and the local area was absolutely beautiful. Having never visited the Peak District before, this was a great introduction and definitely made us want to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill M
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What a lovely base for a holiday. Lovely and peaceful with plenty of outdoor space for the kids and dog to run around in. Eating breakfast with Deer wandering past the window was very special. The cottage is equipped with everything you need and whilst not huge, it was big enough for our family of 4. The owners dog Agnes was lovely and played nicely with our own. Chatsworth house and Gullivers kingdom were close by and we would highly recommend a visit to the Crich tramway museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review with us all, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at Deer Croft Cottage. Breakfast watching the deer certainly sounds like a magnificent experience, something not to be missed! We certainly hope that you return for another visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash-Fleet...
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quality!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have recently stayed at Deer Croft Cottage for a week with our two Basset Hounds. On arrival we were blown away by the setting. Within minutes the local deer had wondered past the window to the much excitement of the dogs. The cottage itself was immaculate and spotlessly clean and is short of nothing. It consists of a huge double garage to store all our walking and doggy gear. There is also the local pig, chickens and Agnes the resident dog to keep us amused. We were not bothered by anyone all week and left in the peaceful tranquil surroundings of this amazing place. The property is finished to a very high spec and decor. We would highly recommend and look forward to a future visit very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enjoyed the property itself and would have happily stayed another week.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
423SueC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful peaceful cottage. Ideal for visiting Derbyshire.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a week in July and had an amazing holiday. The cottage was close to numerous attractions, pretty villages and beautiful countryside. The deer in the field at the back of the cottage made each morning/evening a pleasure. The garage was ideal for storing our dogs 'stuff' and was great for shoes etc. Both bedrooms had great views on countryside. The cottage was clean and very comfortable. Enough space to cook a meal but I must say we never did as the pubs in the village saved us that job! Our own parking space was useful and our dog was very welcome. We would not hesitate to stay here again if visiting the area. THANK YOU for a lovely holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing