We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still poor”
Review of Crinnions

Crinnions
Ranked #3 of 11 Restaurants in Lanchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Still poor”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our third trip to this place will, I fear be the last. The service in the bar area is just appalling, the staff seem much more interested in talking between themselves and their mates at the bar rather than serving thirsty customers ...... not the best intro. The restaurant is well laid out but not very clean, our table was very sticky. The table waiting staff were pretty good, the menu was ok but the food was average at best. Cool scallops with undercooked fatty bacon followed by an average cut of lamb. It was not cheap either, average at £70 per couple. Not one of our party of six enjoyed the experience. I'm told it is better at a lunchtime but I for one won't be back to sample that experience. There are better places offering better service for less cash.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    58
    18
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a shame”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

nice place good menu but sooo slow over an hour and a half to get lunch staff forgot about us the food was great when it did come but we were then so rushed didn't have time to enjoy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The family had to meet for unfortunate reason and we had the wake here. This place is attached to a butchers which does all the cuts and supplies the meat. They do an amazing spread of sandwiches and cakes. They also have some nice ales on tap. Very friendly staff as well. Shame it is small but a beer garden and a bigger area for a largish marquee compensates. You have to find your own parking but I recommend just finding some where to give this place ago. Seen people eating some of the meals and they looked lush. I will go back but may have to stop somewhere over night as I like a few ales.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fireblazer2k7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local gem”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Food and service good. Specials are real value. Wine list reasonable. Have eaten here several times, coffee, lunch and dinner and is a favorite choice for a meal out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Springwell9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Clearly a popular venue, the bar area was very busy when we arrived. We were meeting friends who had pre-booked a table although I think we would have been ok without doing so. That said, it is clearly a well supported local restaurant so probably better be safe than sorry.

The menu was clear with a good choice - we went for the two course special at £11.50. A choice of 3 starters and 3 mains, I opted for the salmon and prawns followed by homemade steak pie. Both wee delicious and the chips were divine! My friend had ordered the mixed grill as he couldn't decide what to have. His plate came absolutely loaded and as he stood no chance of eating it all I helped him mop up! And very tasty it was. The owners pride themselves in sourcing local meats and you can tell by the quality of the food that this works.

The service was very good and we hade a great evening here. If I lived anywhere near this place I would most definitely return but a round trip of 700 miles would be excessive for dinner.

So in summary, highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeminplymtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crinnions also viewed

Lanchester, Durham
Lanchester, Durham
 

Been to Crinnions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing