We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“From the first time we fellt very welcome and had...”
other traveller has booked this property
Relax in the generous lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in the generous lounge
Front entrance with off road parking for up to 2 cars. Contemporary open plan kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
Relax in the generous lounge
Front entrance with off road parking for up to 2 cars.
Contemporary open plan kitchen/diner
Dine in style in the kitchen/diner, large table seats 4.
Plan your days adventures in the warm lounge.
Dining area leading out to the enclosed garden/yard.
The spacious master bedroom, with room for a travel cot.
Thoughtfully furnished throughout.
Comfy twin bedroom with garden views, full size twin beds with luxury mattresses.
Country living, relax in the supplied robes for your stay.
Enjoy a relaxing bath after a full day sightseeing, electric shower is over the bath.
Relax after a day sightseeing in the complimentary robes for use throughout your stay.
Lovely homely touches.
Relax in the garden where your four legged friend is welcome too.
Breakfast in the sunny secluded patio.
A welcome basket for your stay.
Amazing walks direct from the front door.
Plaques adorn the walls these are created by the owner.
Floral baskets at the entrance.
Millenium bridge, Newcastle - Gateshead.
Alnwick Castle and Gardens, fantastic day out.
Durham Cathedral, take a walk along the scenic river.
St. Mary's lighthouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lanchester, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kbewersdo...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“From the first time we fellt very welcome and had a good vacation!”
Reviewed 14 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

the house has a modern and friendly interieur , livingroom was great with the DVD on rainy days, bedroom had good beds for the back, the kitchen was very good for cocking , everything was nice and clean. We felt the hole week comftable.The area around was nice and quiet, the garden was our best place in the sunshine. There where a lot informations in the house for whats going on in the area, pub and stores . When we had questions , we got right away a answer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2018
Thank you Katrin for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the area, it would be lovely to see you all again.

Best wishes
Maccine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class home from home”
Reviewed 13 September 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We first stayed in this beautiful home in October 2017 whilst visiting my son (a student at the University of Durham). I can honestly say I nearly cried when I walked in, as it was just so beautiful. I'm a bit of a fuss pot when it comes to cleanliness (I travel with my own cutlery and cup!) but I just couldn't fault it. We had such a wonderful stay that we returned in May 2018. It's very hard to improve on perfection but, not to rest on their laurels, the owners had provided lovely slippers and robes, updates to the bathroom and a coffee machine.
We shall definitely be returning in the near future. It's not very often you get a 'holiday let' that's more homely than home. I can't recommend the home or the welcoming, friendly owners enough. Just perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2018
Thank you Lynette for your fabulous review, it made my day to know we are giving our guests a lovely time. I look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

Best wishes
Maccine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelW44...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in a great location”
Reviewed 4 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Millfield House and we had an excellent stay. We were impressed with the quality of the accommodation which was spacious, spotlessly clean and modern. It really did offer everything you would need for a self catering stay and it felt like a "home from home". The main bedroom is spacious and the added touch of dressing gown and slippers was appreciated. The location of the accommodation was great for lots of days out including Beamish Museum which is only 10 minutes away. If you are thinking of booking this accommodation then do it, you will not be disappointed. We will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2018
Hi Rachel, thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so glad you were impressed with the accommodation and it would be great to welcome you again.

Best wishes Maccine & Graeme
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geodiegy
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 29 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Not a place I would recommend. 1 star rating with 5 star pricing. Furniture throughout very old and dated, not comfortable. Curtains like tissue paper, wafer thin which allowed the sun to stream through into bedroom. 2nd bedroom had mattress with coiled springs which protruded, most uncomfortable and had no wardrobe. A mixture of cheap coat hangers and bedside cabinets of very poor quality. Bathroom had only a shower over the bath with no hand rail or safety rail. Quality of towels, of which there were only three, one hand and two small bath was very poor and hardly adequate for a 20 night stay. After 10 nights we checked out. No refund has been offered. We paid £1, 864.00 and stayed for half the time.
Would suggest to the owners that they visit other available cottages to let in the area and take note of the high quality.
This property need updating to compete.
All in all, a very disappointing experience.
Derek and Valerie McVickers

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2018
Dear Mr and Mrs McVickers. It is unfortunate to read that you were very disappointed with your stay back in July.

As you are aware none of your concerns were voiced to ourselves throughout your stay, even though we live and work next door to the cottage. The only time you mentioned anything was as you were vacating the cottage and informed us that your son would now be staying instead of yourselves. Had you mentioned anything previously we would have gladly rectified any of your valid concerns to ensure you had a wonderful stay as all of our previous guests have done so.

We had chatted via text messages as I had asked your permission to enter the cottage to close windows that had been left wide open in heavy rain, again nothing was mentioned about your issues.

To address your comments:-

The furniture throughout the property is a mixture of contemporary and antique which complement the style of the cottage. The coat hangers are solid wood and none of the furnishings are of poor quality.

The curtains aren’t ‘wafer thin’, as you’ll know there are black out blinds in the rear bedroom which we noticed you had used. The front room bedroom curtains are fully lined however not black out therefore a certain amount of daylight will come through.

The twin beds were sprung mattresses and following your parting comment regarding this, we did inspect the mattresses and none of the springs were protruding. However, as I had mentioned to you as you left these were due to be replaced and if you had told us about your discomfort earlier we would of happily replaced these whilst you were staying.

The description of the bathroom does mention a shower above the bath, so not sure why this was a surprise to you. The towels are high quality and had you stayed, you would have found out that these would have been changed along with your bedding half way through your stay. The cottage is self catering and there is a washing machine in the property if you felt the towels needed refreshed on a more regular basis.

Your issue around the cost is not something we would deal with because you booked through a booking agent and not directly. Any further queries please contact the said booking agent. Just to make you aware, we did inform the agent about your early departure and as you had not contacted them to cancel the booking, we were unable to re let the cottage as this had to be left available to you should you have wished to return.

I too was very disappointed with this booking, not only as I want all of our guests to enjoy their stay, but also with the condition that the cottage was left in, for example rubbish left all over the kitchen, food debris on the benches and floor, toaster broken and dirty dishes, not something we have experienced in 4 years.

Regards
Graeme and Maccine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kacraig
rochdale
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 6 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Just home from a lovely 3 day stay at Millfield house. Not so much a holiday let, as a home from home. The photos don't do justice to the size of the property. We were at a music event, so it was a lovely retreat at the end of the day, and what a comfy bed! Would definitely book again. Hosts were available but unobtrusive, so we could come and go as we wanted.
Great to have real space to relax. Would definitely book again. Want to keep quiet about it, so its available when I want to stay!!!
Definitely top of the list for our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2018
That is lovely Karen, thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we really hope to see you both again, shhhh just don't tell anyone else how lovely the house is so it's available. Thanks Maccine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hara N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent home in beautiful location”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Millfield House for a month and everything was perfect!We felt right away ..at home.Very clean,cosy and warm, superbly decorated and with all the furnishings one might need.The views from all rooms are fantastic and there is a lovely, peaceful garden at the back.The owners are wonderful, very accommodating,helpful and discreet people.We couldn't have wished for anything more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you Hara for your lovely review, it was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to Millfield House. We wish you all the best of luck whilst settling into your new home in the UK.

Best wishes
Maccine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coastal78...
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Highly recommended - fantastic accommodation and location! Thoroughly enjoyed staying at Mill Field House for 1 week. Warm, clean, comfortable and spacious cottage with superb attention to detail by the owners. Friendly and respectful during our stay - lovely to chat to upon our arrival. Easy to book and pay with prompt confirmation and communication from the owners too. Will certainly be booking again when next visiting the area next year- 5/5

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2018
Hello Neil and Diane.
Thank you so much for your lovely review I really appreciate you taking the time to write. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Best wishes
Maccine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing