We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Will Get Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Magnolia
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnolia
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It Will Get Better”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The hotel has recently changed ownership and seems to be gradually in the process of renovation and upgrade. It's a good looking property on the outside, but there were not many people staying at the hotel during my sojourn compared with the Quality Inn just across the street. The rooms are decent and clean, although the door was sticking when you tried to open it and there was no coffee maker in the room and the TV was somewhat decrepit although usable. There was no plug for the bath tub and when I asked for one from the lady at the front desk she said she would have one brought over, but it was never delivered. My room fronted the main street which made it seem very accessible to anyone passing by and the lock didn't work well. The breakfast was meagre at best. But they knocked $10 of the published room price, so the cost was reasonable even though there is a lot of work still to be done to bring the hotel up to standards. I stayed there for 2 nights on 10 and 11 January 2012.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    6
    1
    10
See reviews for
7
3
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bullard, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband & I stay here one night a week each week on business. The price is very reasonable, and the staff are happy and bend over backwards to please! We also get free wireless internet, a refrigerator & microwave in our room. Some rooms have a sofa and coffee table in addition to the normal ammenities, and other rooms have a dinette. The hotel is convenient to anything in town. We highly recommend this hotel. By the way, it's under new management. There's a huge improvement from past experiences.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have stayed a fews times over the years at the Magnuson Hotel. It was getting pretty bad. But I heard there was new owners. I stayed there on October 9th 2011. I could see the changes. It was a very good stay at the Magnuson for the price. Friendly service, good beds, and clean. I will stay there the next time. Impressed in the changes the new owners have provided.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I don't know what happened to the positive review I wrote earlier and posted, sorry if this turns out to be a duplicate. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Magnuson. They are under new management and are completely remodeling the place; new furniture, new flooring, new bedding, etc. I read some of the other post but it is obvious from the dates they haven't stay here since it chaged hands. When I come back through Magnolia, AR, you can bet I will be staying here again, The rates were descent and the staff was great.

Room Tip: Ask for thier best rate, they will work with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malakoff, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I stayed in this place 10 yrs ago and vowed then, never again, however they have supposedly "updated"...what a laugh! I'll swear the same dirt, dirty trash cans, nasty dumpster, bed spreads, horrible mattresses,etc. were still there from 10 yrs ago. Continental brkfst was orange drink (mostly water), Fruit Loops, Cheerios and Little Debbie Snack Cakes!! Gag me!! If this place is absolutely the only room in town, get a tent! Every guest I spoke to, had the same low opinion. One man had changed rooms 3 times and finally gave up, bought some Lysol and sprayed everything in the room to get by. This place should be bulldozed!

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medbay184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magnolia hotels

Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I read scary reviews of the hotel, but it was only one of 2 places to stay in town. It was much better than expected. It has been remodeled. They are not quite done yet but it is looking better. Room was clean. It had mini fridge and microwave. Updated bathroom, plenty of hot water. Tv with cable. The price of the hotel seemed a little steep but after calling around the price they are charging seems to be the going rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR-BRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My parents and i stayed here and it was just terrible....the floor was nasty, it had spots on it. The couch had tears and holes in it..it smelled like ciggarets. To top it off my housekeeping did not clean my room for 1 day...rediculous. The manager had an attitude with me....it looks dirty on the outside of the building. It was horrific...please do not stay there..it should be closed down.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tj1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Magnolia, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
We are so sorry to hear of this situation. We purchased this hotel in June of 2010. We have spent a large amount of money renovating and improving this hotel. We welcome you to come and try us again please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magnolia hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 5 in Magnolia
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Magnolia/Lake Columbia
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Magnolia
Hampton Inn Magnolia
#1 of 5 in Magnolia
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Dollar Save Inn
#2 of 3 in Magnolia
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loft on the Square
The Loft on the Square
#1 of 2 in Magnolia
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Magnolia

Property: Magnuson Hotel Magnolia
Address: 420 E Main St, Magnolia, AR 71753-3638
Region: United States > Arkansas > Magnolia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Magnolia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Magnolia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near the yearly Magnolia Festival, Eastside Park, Southern Arkansas University, Mulerider Stadium, Columbia County Fairgrounds, Magnolia Country Club, Logoly State Park and Lake Erling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing