We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort, but certainly not the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elements Krabi Resort
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here for six nights just after New Year's Eve. The hotel itself is really nice, with relatively good facilities and friendly and helpful reception staff. However, the location is terrible - especially for a young couple like ourselves. If all you want from a holiday is to sit by the pool then this is probably the place for you (although a word of warning - get in quick for a deck chair, as they are seriously limited!!!). The beach is below average, with what a appears to be a quarry next door. However, there is a much nicer beach about 20 minutes away (on a push bike).
The restaurant and waitstaff do not meet the price or standard of the resort. Buffet breakfast is a joke. Dinner is average. No pool side service or service within the 'pool bar' as advertised.
Although we had a very enjoyable trip to Krabi, I would not be staying at the Elements Resort if I were to visit again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Hotel is very clean and has nice atmosphere. Personnel were very helpful. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel but location. There is really nothing around the hotel. If you are looking for a beach this is not your hotel. There is a small beach in front of the hotel (you have to go over the street). But that beach is really poor.

But back to the hotel:
-Rooms are very nice, spacious and clean
-Hotel area quite and clean
-Pool very nice and very clear water
-Decent gym and pool table for those who want to play
-Food in restaurant was good and decently priced
-Breakfast was ok. Nothing special but above the average in Thailand IMO
-Daily transfers to AoNang fo some action...

I can recommend this hotel for short visit but I would not spend longer period here. Nice place so settle down and relax.

Room Tip: Rooms beside the pool are good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteKau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed in 3 nights. This is a basic resort with everything that a resort should have. But the standard is just very average.
Food: not recommended. Basic buffet breakfast with limited choice. Food is warm for room service and taste so so.
Swimming pool: look nice, but sun desks and chairs are limited.
Room: spacious. Housing keeping service is not up to standard. They provided 2 pairs of slipper, but 3 in small and 1 in large, tricky!
Gym: recommend to go, because seldom have people there. Suggest to install a TV instead of CD player.
I believe there should be better choices in Krabi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Location is not great, very secluded and beach is not great. Hotel in itself is ok, We had a pool room, which was nice and not too expensive. Food ok, as we had dinner in the hotel several times and breakfast ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Me and my wife had a lovely stay at this hotel end of 2013. We stayed for as long as 10 nights. Breakfast very good however lunch/dinner varied in quality, some dishes very good and some to be avoided. Not a problem though as free shuttle service will take you to Aoo Naang and there is a plenty of places to eat a few hundres metres from the hotel although you need a bike or tuk-tuk to get to though.
THere is a lovely beach about 1km away, the one at the hotel is pretty average.
Hotel is very fresh and the room we stayed in had sea-view and fitted to very nice standard, we were very impressed with the room standard.
The hotel also have a nice modern gym, a chill-out TV room with karaoke system, computers that can be used for browing, free Wifi and a Free pool table.
Staff is superb, not a single time were they not friendly with a happy smile. We communicate in English and some of the stay had poor English, but comparing to rest of Krabi their ENglish skills were well above the norm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Pros:
- Great private longtail boat to Hong Islands, less people and our longtail boat driver was amazing. The packed lunch (at additional cost and highly recommended to get as there aren't many/any stalls around the 3 stops) was great and came with a bunch of fruit. Our driver even ran after us at our last stop to give us a plate of watermelon and pineapple. Love.
- Hong Island has lots of little jellyfish breeding though.. Stung us a bit. Owie!
- Rooms are really nice (we got the premier pool access ones).
- Private, if that is what you are looking for.
- Airport transfers are great but they do need a bit of help with following up your flight details. But loved that they organised a taxi from here to our second hotel. Our driver even carried our bags up to the concierge of our second hotel - was very impressed!

Cons:
- Away from Ao Nang/main area. As a first timer to Krabi, this is gave us a negative first impression of Krabi. We moved to Mercure after 2 nights and really enjoyed our time there a lot more as we were able to walk to the main strip quite easily and experience street food etc.
- As all have said, beach was an industrial working one and lots of mozzies! But kinda nice to catch the sunset.
- Room service was crap (cold) and restaurant took over an hour to serve our food, claiming that there were two big tables before us. Food was so below average. I don't understand why other reviewers rave about the food here. So so average.
- They also initially messed up our rooms. Gave us a non pool access one but they rectified this. Which was fine I guess.
- Brochures in room was not up to scratch as they did not really highlight what each tour/package included.

Would I recommend this place? Not to a first timer in Krabi. I'm sure there are better luxury hotels in the Ao Nang area.

Room Tip: Premier Pool access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

THE RESORT.
We just got back after spending Christmas and the New Year 2 weeks at this hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the food is well presented and tasty although service is a little slow. The rooms are beautiful and clean with great finishings making it easy to relax after a hard day lounging by the pool.

We stayed on the third floor and the views were amazing, along with the sunset each evening made it hard to leave. The more expensive rooms are set to one side and lower floor have access to private pools, yet they arent that private and are mostly in the shade throughout the day.

People wanting a quiet stay away from the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang will enjoy this hotel, make sure that you are prepared to walk or catch a tuc tuc to the local village though as the resort has no close restaurants.

All in all if I was ever back in this area of Thailand - this hotel would be at the top of my list. A big thanks from Nikki and Ange to all the staff that made our holiday a restful experience.

NEAREST VILLAGE
Klong Muang is basically one village split by a long road with restaurants in both sections, the part of the village closest to the resort has a handful of restaurants of which one or two were worth eating at. Certainly not Sabai ba bar - service was appalling and the staff had no idea what they were doing we left after 80 mins waiting for food.
The second part of the village further away from the resort had the better restaurants, certainly the Terrace restaurant and Le Cafe were the best eating spots we found there.

MAIN TOWN
Ao Nang is definately the place to go for night life and the Elements Resort provided a free shuttle 3pm, 5pm, 8pm with return on the half hour should you choose every afternoon/evening. This was helpful to save the 500baht taxi/tuc-tuc ride back to the resort. Nonetheless the ride was over 20km so worth the fee.

The Blue Dragon Caberet show was amazing here along with the bars near to it - SMILE bar was very friendly and welcoming. We only ate at one restaurant in Ao Nang called Lucky Yim and the food was amazing and cheap. No one hastling you to eat there made it all the more relaxing.

BEACHES
Beaches in Krabi certainly are not white sandy beaches as described in the holiday brochures and neither do they have an array of wonderful fish to snorkel with, but dongt let this put you off - they still need to be experienced.

The beach outisde the hotel is rustic and when the tide is out looks quite ugly,but when you are the only one on it and the tide is in with warm clear water lapping at your feet you forget that!
Klong Muang beach is much better and runs in front of the Sofi Hotel, its a 10 mins walk from the Elements Resort hotel or 100baht one way by tuc tuc.
Tub Kaek beach is 20 mins hard walk from the Elements Resort in the opposite direction and is a more exclusive beach with 3/4 hotels sharing the stretch of sand.
Ao Nang beach is very busy, with the noise of the boats every few minutes - Noptharat beach 1.5km around the bay is much quieter and with hardly any boats makes it an ideal beach to relax.
Railey beach has beautiful limestone cliffs but again you cant hear yourself think due to the constant longtail boats arriving with day visitors. to the east the beach looks more like mud flats, but take a walk to Phranag beach through a woodland path will take you to a quiet beach and cave.

TRIPS.

We took an elephant trekking trip which was amazing due to the elephants, but try to choose carefully as some of the treks look to have mistreated animals swaing from side to side on chains - not the best memory to go away with.

Ko Phi-Phi Maya bay (the beach) is a full day excursion and well planned with 2 great snorkelling spots - be warned of Jelly fish. Yet note that the film the beach is much more idylic than it is now - 100 speedboats and a lagoon of petrol smoke each day sees to that. The trip itself is a great day out, but dont expect to have the experience of a lifetime with over a thousand other people on a narrow stretch of white sand.

All in all Krabi is raw Thailand but is growing quickly due to tourism exposure so be prepared for the future and what will come with that - busier/more trash etc. For those travellers willing to explore though - you certainly will find great little places around those corners where nobody else has been.

Room Tip: Top floor - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
1.5 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,432 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#9 of 12 in Nong Thale
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
388 reviews
5.6 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,340 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elements Krabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elements Krabi Resort

Address: 189 Moo 3, Klong Muang Beach, T. NongTalay, A. Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nong Thale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#9 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: £68 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elements Krabi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a beautiful Klong Muang beach, Krabi, The Elements Krabi Resort casts a spell of serene enchantment. The elements of nature—earth, fire, wind, and water--have been woven into the resort's architectural design to let every guest experience the pleasures of the distinctive surroundings. Our landscape with rare tropical flowers and abundant foilage set the mood for a relaxing getaway in comfortable atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Elements Krabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elements Krabi Hotel Nong Thale
The Elements Krabi Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing