We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average!”

The Coconut Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 53 Restaurants in Nong Thale
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very average!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

After reading the signs near our hotel(Sofitel) about apparent reviews of this place I was expecting something impressive.. Instead we were left wondering if the hand written reviews are genuine or not! The staff are nice, however atmosphere and tasty food is lacking.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    27
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai Food but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were staying at Sofitel Krabi which is a bit of far from the town. So it was kind of difficult to find restaurant outside the hotel and we found this Coconut Restaurant which is about 400-500 meters from the hotel. We went there by 'informal' taxi outside the hotel. We paid 300 baht round trip from the hotel to the restaurant by Toyota Fortuner since we were 7 adults and 2 children. The restaurant is not a big or fancy restaurant, in fact it's just a small restaurant with the owner and his wife (our guess) are the only employees. But, never judge the book by it's cover, the food is surprisingly delicious. The tom yum soup, pad thai, chicken satay, and morning glory are very delicious. The price, we think it's a bit pricey for the kind of the restaurant. But since it's difficult to find another restaurants and the fact that they have great food, we still love and recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sudarto Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
köln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good place”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We visited this restaurant severel times and sometimes the food were very good and other times not so good. The service are very freindly and the owner is there all the time and also cook the food himself. Not a bad place to visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank caro98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
231 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphare - the food OK”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

In Coconut Restaurant you can sit nice in a good atmosphare.

Good is that they do not display the fresh fish outside on ice but keep it cold in the fridge in the back. The owner buy the fish in the morning.

The service is friendy.

The food was sometimes good but sometimes disappointing. so we can give only 3 stars for the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Had a Really Good Time”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Went there with my Wife, we had a really good time, the food and cocktails are great.... prices are also reasonable. The restaurant staff is helpful. Would definitely recommend for anyone visiting Krabi... or staying in the nearby resorts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sayandeep N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coconut Restaurant also viewed

 
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 

Been to The Coconut Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing