We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beyond Resort Krabi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beyond Resort Krabi
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and found the whole experience a little unsettling. We got a rude vibe when we arrived and were not sure why. We stayed in the sea view deluxe room overlooking the pool. It felt like we were AT the pool the whole time as our balcony was only a few feet away. People at the pool would look over into our room, so we never could relax. I recommend requesting a higher floor. We tried to move to a cottage, even without a view, but they were full. The staff at the restaurant were rude bordering on mean though we tried our best to be good guests. Also look out if you charge it to your room...they've already included a 10% tip and left a blank line for a tip. Food in the restaurant was not great, but we found a great place up the beach called the Sunset Bar. This saved our trip. Because of the bad feeling the resort gave us we tried to spend as much time away from it as possible - beautiful as it was.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokFareast, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your room category booked did not match with your expectation. Actually those are our most popular rooms and many people wish to have a room close to the pool. We are always here to assist our guest and solve any issue on spot but at that time we were fully booked. We have noted your further comments and will look into any improvement. Just to clarify and for information regarding the “tip” on the bill you mentioned, this is a 10% “service charge”, not a tip, any hotel in Thailand applies this to the bill so as well the VAT tax (7%). Tipping is something different which is up to the guest to do so.

Thanks again and we still hope that you will return one day.

Warm regards
Rolf & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    498
    165
    67
    33
See reviews for
279
713
37
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were given a free upgrade to a room with a huge bathroom, near the lobby. Since I hate edredons, asked for blankets and a soft pillow and we were given right away. Thank you for friendly staff. The front desk girls in the afternoon were not really fluent in English; luckily the boy at the business center was and helped us print our boarding passes.
The lobby is in the fifth floor and the beach -1 (there is a lift), so it is a good hike from the beach or pool to the room. The beach is great for walking, and not crowded. Great for swimming with high tide, the sea was incredible calm while we stayed, and the water really transparent there are some corals right outside the buoys but not much to write home about. With the low tide the sea recedes more than 100 mts, and rocks surface (it was early in the morning and evening while we stayed so no problem), you can even walk dry to a nearby island.
Food in the hotel is expensive for Thai standards, mainly because the hotel adds the VAT, but is very good, we had the buffet Thai dinner Monday night, was very good but we spent more than twice –we ate more too- than what it cost in any restaurant down the road, within two blocks from hotel entrance.
If you want a good chair at the beach occupy before breakfast, they are not enough if the resort is full. Highly recommended if you go to Krabi area.

Room Tip: We were given a 2nd floor room, make it clear when booking if you mind stairs. It was no problem for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokFareast, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for your extensive and mostly positive review, much appreciated. Your information provided will definitely help future guests coming to Krabi. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and also took good note of your comments.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards
Rolf & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just came back from Krabi yesterday. Stayed at Beyond for 4 nites, it was great place for relaxed vacation. Away from the crowd, and great sea view. The morning buffet was ok, and my friend especially happy w/ the Happy Hour.. half price on the drink, lol. There were three restaurants across the street, I've only tried 2 of them. I highly recommend the "Long Table Bar & Bistro". Food was fresh and quick served w/ friendly staffs. Baanthai Seafood is closer to the resort, and it's always packed with people. Altho the food wasn't that great, and have to wait for a long time. Me and my friend were on the same page on this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar5869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokFareast, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time giving us your feedback. We do appreciate your kindness and love to hear that you had a relaxing stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards
Rolf & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at beyond for 4 nights. The location on the beach can't be beat. It's well decorated, clean, and comfortable. However our stay here was more frustrating than anything. The staff knew zero to little English. And though we tried our hardest to be patient and considerate in our efforts to translate so much was lost or not understood it gave us anxiety. Every meal, every question at the front desk was such a hassle. We were constantly annoyed. Also one of the waiters was so rude he hushed us and constantly told us to wait with no apology or smile. He was so arrogant and rude, I regret not getting his name and reporting him.

Also the food was horrible. We ate dinner here every night, some lunches, and all breakfasts. The breakfasts were amazing. Everything under the sun of food options. But as for everything else, don't bother. For a nice resort it was highly disappointing. Every meal was a let down. That and it took forever to get our food. We were thrilled to check out knowing we could find better food elsewhere.

Decent place for the money and the area. But pack your patience along with your swimsuit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stephonopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokFareast, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback and personal comments. We, the management have noted your comments and appreciate this very much as it will help us to improve our services further. Even some services did not match with your expectation or taste, we do appreciate to call our resort a decent place and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

warm regards
Rolf & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

After a few days of travelling we arrived at Beyond Resort. After a welcome drink and cool towels the assistant manager came to explain the hotel was overbooked. He offered 4 of us the use of one of the best rooms for 2 nights including private pool. We agreed to take a look but we had to say no because there were 4 beds in one room. We were good friends but sharing a bedroom was just taking it a bit too far. We were then given the opportunity to stay in the Nakamanda a neighboring hotel. My husband and I really liked this small traditional decor hotel but our travelling friends preferred the modern decor of Beyond Resort. After one night our rooms were ready and we moved back to the accommodation we had originally booked. We were also given one free evening meal (drinks not included) as compensation. We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful location and in general after the initial problem was resolved the hotel was as we expected.

There probably are a few areas that could be improved mainly being service from the staff. There were one or two exceptions of individual excellent service but in general the service was average. I wonder if this was due to a cash less environment all tips were added to each bill but it may not have gone to individual staff? There did seem a slight lack of motivation.

The food and drink was good but quite expensive, as you would expect for a large hotel, there are plenty of other options locally

The spa was expensive but you could have massages and treatments on the beach for much less.

Overall we had a good experience and enjoyed our holiday at Beyond Resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokFareast, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Cathy Steward

Thank you very much for taking your time giving us your feedback. We do appreciate your kindness and love to hear that you had a relaxing stay. Also we have noted all your comments and will look into any improvement we can make. Regarding the staff tip, just to clarify your question, any cash tip is distributed among the staff so also the service charge (not tip) which is included in the bill, yes it goes to the staff. As we have or are a pretty new management in charge, trust me that we are working on the staff motivation and staff team work in our never-ending efforts to improve our services and enhance our customers` experience!

We all look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Beyond Resort Krabi so you can experience the difference.

Warm regards
Rolf & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

The stay was full of ups and downs. It started a bit rough when the airport to hotel pickup was nowhere to be seen and we were left standing in front of the arrival area trying to figure out what to do. After 10 minutes of asking around, the driver finally showed up sheepishly explaining he was at the other terminal. Upon our eventual arrival, we were in struck by the beauty of the resort and we warmly welcomed with a cool towel and a cup of fresh fruit for the check in process. We were then shown to our clean and modern sea view room. We took a quick walk down the beach which was highlighted by a beautiful sunset before changing for dinner. As our first night was the first day of the Chinese New Year, the hotel was serving a Chinese buffet accompanied with a show. We were surprised when we were told that this was only the dinner option. Luckily we asked around and were told that there were several fantastic Thai restaurants outside the gates of the hotel. At 5am we were suddenly woken up to the sound of water splashing near the foot of our bed. Turning on the light we discovered a huge puddle on the floor and water pouring from the ceiling. We called the front desk for assistance but nobody answered the phone for 10-15 minutes. Right as we were about to give up, the front desk suddenly called us back and another 15 minutes later two maintenance men showed up to address the leak. An hour later with the sun rising, we were told they were leaving and they left us without telling us if the problem was permanently repaired. We spoke to the front desk about the incident and requested a room change. We explained our discontent at being woken early in the morning but was given no apology. At least we were “granted” our room change. Unfortunately, the breakfasts were another low point where every morning at least one of the staff gave us the impression that they did not want to be there at all. We caught one of the cooks at the omelet station rolling their eyes at person who could not order fluently in English and another constantly checking their watch as if to see how much longer it was until 10am, when their shift would be finally over. Generally, the service level of this resort is not up to par with any 4 star hotel. We would gladly stay in this area of Krabi but personally, we’d rather spend our money at another resort down the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hohistuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokFareast, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. We, the management have noted your personal comments and will investigate what happened and why. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not match with your expectation. The management is always here to assist any guest at any time and solve any issue on spot if told at that time, immediately, that’s what we are here for.
Well we will look into any further improvement we can make to meet the standards expected from our valued guest. Still, we do hope that you will return one day and we can show you our improvements made. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

best regards
Rolf & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

After a long few weeks seeing Thailand and being in "standard" accommodation we decided to have a little luxury on our last stop at the Beyond Resort in Krabi. Now, I understand people have different expectations and standards when it comes to holidays and hotels, these are my observations and experiences. After reading a few reviews before we went I was cautious to the language barrier problem, but did as i've been taught - 'do as the locals do' and picked up a few phrases which helped the situation along (aswell as the universal language of hand signals - this helped). The staff don't speak fluent English but we're ignorant to expect them to, even when in their country! You will get by and they wont look at you blankly when you ask them something.
The welcome at Beyond was a nice treat, a refreshing towel, fruit and a drink - much needed after a long journey, the lady dealing with our check in (Tanya) was more than helpful, explained the resort to us, times of meals, happy hour, planned themed evenings and all in perfect English! This wasn't going to be so bad after all! Concierge boys were helpful as helpful can be, delivering our luggage to our room, a nice smile and warm hello when we walk through reception.
The food is nice, we ate a few times in the resort, both lunch and dinner, a little pricier than "outside" but you expect that when in a resort. We also tried the restaurants outside, fair selection and you wont be disappointed. They do tend to get busy around 7-9pm and waiting should be expected! The restaurants will make sure you're looked after.
The location of the Beyond Resort is secluded, don't go expecting to find hundreds of tourists shops because you wont, you have a couple mini marts to get postcards, drinks, snacks and ice-cream, a taxi stop to take you wherever the heart desires, massage shop, foreign exchange and a cashpoint.
We had a villa room, all very cleverly designed so balconies aren't over looking each other! If you can get a top floor one i'd advise you do that - a bit more secluded. Very spacious, very clean and drinking water provided every day.
We went in high season and always managed to find a couple sunbeds, we'd go to breakfast about 8:30am- 9am and find beds afterwards, no bother! Staff will walk round seeing if you want drinks through out the day.
We used the tour shop in the hotel for a couple of excursions, this all ran smoothly and competitively priced.
The beach is beautiful when the tide is in, the sand like flour, the water is crystal clear! Take a walk round the right of the beach, more bars, restaurants and longtail boats - you'll love it!
One thing we didn't realise which may help - this is a cash less resort, everything you have is put onto your room and paid when you check out. You can keep an eye on what you're spending at reception if needed. For the week our bill (including, drinks all day, ice cream everyday, lunches, cocktails, beer and couple evening dinners) was £200, for the both of us!! The resort spa seemed really pricey so we avoided and went to the massage hut to the left of the hotel (from the beach).
We wished we could've stayed longer - truly relaxing, tranquil and what was needed from travelling around Thailand. Loved it!! Will be definitely recommending to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rospre22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BangkokFareast, General Manager at Beyond Resort Krabi, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and also for your very positive feedback. Your information provided is much appreciated and well noted. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards
Rolf & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
5.7 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
2.8 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
2.8 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beyond Resort Krabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beyond Resort Krabi

Property: Beyond Resort Krabi
Address: 98 Moo 3 | Klong Muang Beach, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#7 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#8 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beyond Resort Krabi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stands directly on the scenic Klong Muang Beach. Combining the modern comforts and tranquility of Krabi, the resort offers nature inspired setting together with warm Thai Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Beyond Resort Krabi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beyond Resort Krabi Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing