We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in early November 2011 for 3 nights. It is a little bit further away from Ao Nang, but we wanted to stay somewhere quiet and relaxing. This is exactly what we got. The staff were incredibly nice and helpful, and there was always someone available with good enough English to communicate. The pool is beautiful, but there isn't much of a beach. This didn't bother us because we spent the days doing tours around the area. We did a full day Koh Phi Phi tour, which was amazing and gave us enough beach time. We also did a full day rock climbing tour at Railay Beach, which was tiring but fun if you're adventurous. You don't need to be in great shape either.

The food at the hotel was good, and breakfast was unlimited. There's also a couple restaurants right outside the resort that were really good and cheap. Mother's House is the one we went to every day. Massages at the hotel were really good but on the expensive side for Thailand (~$28 an hour), and you can get a massage for about $8 just outside the resort. We both loved relaxing at a quiet resort without any touts. We were perfectly happy with our stay here!

This isn't the hotel for you if you're:
- looking for a busy night life
- not very mobile (there are a lot of stairs as it is located on the hillside)
- looking to stay at a large resort with a wide beach
- looking to meet people

Room Tip: Email in advance to ask for a 2nd floor room, which has more privacy and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VT4684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    287
    78
    19
    9
See reviews for
225
711
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Having just returned from a 16 night stay at the Nakamanda I had to write with a report. Yes, it may not be 5star in the "true" sense of the word if you look at the chain hotels, but the people, the location, the rooms certainly made up for it. We just loved it, and while we did pop in to the new hotel which is due to open next door in January - we came back to an oasis of calm, smiling people and just heaven. I have seen comments that the level of English of the staff is not good - perhaps they should try learning a little Thai and trying to communicate with them. The staff were just delightful and couldn't do enough for you. Yes, breakfast sometimes wasn't quite right - but that was the fun of it, and the staff did their utmost to accommodate to all our requests. We cannot praise this result highly enough and Mr. Eric and his team do all they can to ensure everyone of their guests have a wonderful stay. We will certainly be returning

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We were very disappointed to find that they are building a huge complex next door. Lots of noise and disruption. Also, the photos on their site are carefully framed to disguise the fact that there are only rocks in front of the hotel, no real beach of their own. The beaches on either side are second-rate, with plenty of broken glass. Far from the five star experience they claim. You can do a lot better by going to one of the hotels on Tubkaek beach, 4km to the north.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Elgin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at The Nakamanda in early November for 4 nights. It was a perfect start to our Thailand trip as we were both in dire need of a wind down - we didn't leave the resort for the 4 days!....Great food, friendly staff, spotless room, my wife enjoyed the spa facilities, kayaks to borrow, pool, sea, snorkelling etc.

Room Tip: We had a 'basic' room, but this was lovely with large bed, a day bed, his and hers changing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

For a five star hotel one would expect the staff to have a good level of English. Well this is not the case. The breakfast is nowhere close to a five star hotel breakfast. The first day because of small number of guests they offered alacarte option with very limited options. The second day there was a buffet as more people have checked in. However if you wanted to have eggs you had to order and even this was a challenge as the staff on the restaurant have a very basic knowledge of English. Overall I am quite disappointed with this hotel. It deffinaty did not meet my expectations. Obviously one should be very carefully to trust the recognition by the "SMALL LUXURY HOTELS".

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosta_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Five of us stayed in two villas back in April and we all loved the Nakamanda. Thailand is called 'The Land of Smiles' and this is never more true than here. We have travelled extensively and stayed in the broadest spectrum of accommodation you can imagine and the Nakamanda rates up at the top with the best!
The accommodation is very good and yes, if your being pinicity a little dated.
Breakfast is a large range and anything else you want can be supplied.
The pool is large enough to have a good swim and play games within.
There isn't a beach but there are plenty of loungers which overlook the tidal sea and your own island to which you can either walk or swim depending on the tide.
The restaurant food is good but we ate at Big Mama's which is fabulous due to her freshly cooked to order food, incredibly friendly atmosphere and her son and friend who sign and play most nights.
The staff throughout the Nakamanda are the friendliest people you could ever want to meet and for whom nothing is too much trouble. Yes, they don't speak great English, but you are in Thailand! We were fully integrated into their Festival of Water and had a huge water fight with both them and guests alike.
If you want to use other services, the massage shop outside offer a great Thai massage for @£5 and the laundry opposite is handy too.
If you want an idealic location, with great accommodation, where you can walk for kilometres along clean sprawling beaches with some of the friendliest service you can imagine, this is the place!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbhall72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Loved our special weekend here. Treated like royalty, had the pool villa which was amazing, had our own kitchen, lounge, his and hers dressing areas and a sunken tub. The breakfast was good, a la carte as well as buffet. Lovely pool, great beach side location, watch out for the rocks though! There were not too many guests (or kids) and we liked the quiet! Would recommend to couples! The pool villa was good for a weekend, for longer stays it would be better value for four people as there is an additional room.

Room Tip: Free WiFi too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nvh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Property: Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing