We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic luxury thai resort with kind staff and very affordable food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Authentic luxury thai resort with kind staff and very affordable food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 8 nights around New Year's Eve in this lovely resort situated 15 minutes from Ao-Nang, near the Sheraton and the Sofitel.

We had a great experience right from the start. Being a member of Small Luxury Hotels, this hotel was an obvious choice for me and I had the amazing surprise to be upgraded to a Jacuzzi Villa (additional 25m² of living space + outdoor Jacuzzi). So, for people who wonder whether this property does offer recognition to SLH members, the answer is yes!

I also met the owner by chance and he was very attentive to my comments (mainly positive) and offered us to discuss around a meal. He is thai and that probably explains why you feel like this resort has a true authentic touch that the others don't (like the nearby mentioned hotels).

The atmosphere is intimate with not so many villas, a Spa, a semi-private beach (used by few people) and the staff is indeed very kind.

The restaurant was a good surprise since prices are around 3-7 USD for starters and 6-13 USD for meals. Not cheap in itself for Thailand but definitely cheap for a 5 star resort.

The only shortcoming was the beach that has a rough sand with a lot of broken shells everywhere but the pool is so lovely that it's not a real problem. You might want to think twice about a romantic walk down the beach though or take a good pair of shoes.

We were offered a 50-minute spa treatment for two and chose a massage that was delightful!

All in all, very good discovery and we will be back.

I enclosed some pictures so that you can see for yourself what this resort has to offer

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamasterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    291
    79
    19
    9
See reviews for
231
717
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We loved our stay at Nakamanda. I wouldn't say that it's a luxury resort, but it's great for the price you are paying. If you want a quiet place away from the crowd, it's perfect. However, if you want the option of hitting the bars and restaurants, this is not the place to stay. There isn't much of a beach in front of the resort, but a few meters to the south is about a km long beach. All in all, great place to stay to relax and get away.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katongkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Nakamanda is a nice size with individual buildings for rooms, spread out so you feel like you have your own space, with a peaceful pool area that looks out on the ever-changing landscape of the activity of the tide on the beach. Hong Island is in the distance, which you can view from the patio at breakfast (included).
Staff is welcoming, helpful, and aim to provide the best and most personalized service.
Spa services are varied and are good quality also.
Location is within walking distance & close to other restaurants along the beach and in the small town of Klong Muang.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a skylight in the shower area, but all are surrounded by tropical plants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at Nakamanda for one week over New Years in a Private Pool Villa. I don't really have any large complaints, but some suggestions the resort should heed if they plan on being a true luxury resort.

Keep in mind, star levels in Thailand are different than you will find in USA/Canada or most places in Europe. You can find true 5-star properties in large cities such as Bangkok, but 5-star around here is usually equivalent to a 3-star elsewhere. That being said, this property could truly be a 4 or 5 star standard if they paid more attention to detail.

-Resort, pool, grounds and room layout was nice. Great design and awesome bathrooms. However, everything seems a bit worn out. I think the resort should maintain wares a little better all over the resort and it would make a huge difference.

-Breakfast was included and tasted great and you can order eggs any way you like. However, there was not much selection like I am used to at Thai breakfast buffets. They should really expand this.

-The resort has direct access to the sea, which is great! You can hop right on and off a hired boat at the resort. However, they really need to do something about the water quality. Just around the corner, the water and beach is much nicer. There are a couple tiny streams that drain algae directly into their portion of the sea and it makes it murky and full of crabs.

-Spa: The massages are wonderful and they seem to really know what they're doing, I nearly had one every day. I had a facial, which was satisfactory. When it came time for my manicure and pedicure, I was completely let down. The facilities they have for giving manicures and pedicures is very make-shift and not that comfortable. They also did many things to my nails that should have never been done (I attended cosmetology school) like filing the tops of your nails, see-sawing the edges of nails, etc. What the employee did to my nails made them very weak and I informed her not to do this. The products they use are generic, as well, and chip off same-day. I would highly advise against getting your nails done here. Also, the magazines they have in the spa are two years old and ripped.

-The staff were great and did their best to accommodate in any way possible. They are very grateful for the guests and if you do happen to tip, they are ecstatic. A lot of them don't speak much English, German or anything but Thai...being an international resort, I believe this should be of concern.

-Wifi was free, but spotty. They should figure this out, it's 2012.

-Location: There are a couple small shops right outside of the resort. Dry-clean, convenience store, massage, tour and a restaurant. It's about a 20-minute car ride to Ao Nang Beach. Keep this in mind when you are thinking of the activities you want to be doing during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomnioAmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Nestled in a very scheduled bay is the gem that is Nakamanda. Excellent client service, helpful and professional staff, facilities to pamper your every need, spacious and comfortable villas complimenting a restful and relaxing stay as there is not much to do in the area. The open dining was a treat with wonderful views over the bay and the long tail boats on the horizon. Highly recommended if you need to gear down a couple of notches and want to be mesmerized by a beautiful sunset or two.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phokus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
162 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Nakamanda is a truly small luxury resort that provides amazing accommodation in a very beautiful setting.

Se stayed for three nights in the 2-bedroom pool villa and the stay was amazing. The pool villa is really a second home and makes you want to stay at the villa all time.

Service is very good, staff very helpful and eager to help.

Only negative point goes for the food which is not of the expected variety and quality. Breakfast is very average and the dinner we had once there was also below expectations.

Not to be worry about the food though because just opposite to Nakamanda's main netrance there is a very good Thai restaurant (Baanthai if I remember well, the one with the blue sign) that has very good food.

Overal Nakamanda is recommended for a relaxing luxury stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trip_Datum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Nakamanda is one of the best places we ever stayed in: peaceful, attentive, great beach/spa/pool. Small scale resort favors personal service and tranquility over too many amenities. Prices of spa treatments and food at the excellent beach restaurant are very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Property: Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing