We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

My Husband and I have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Nakamanda Resort, Krabi. At the risk of sounding like an overdose of superlatives, there really is only one word to describe our stay there and that is "flawless". From the minute we were picked up at Krabi International Airport by the wonderful, bubbly and informative Dao (Nakamanda's Concierge), our holiday truly began and the service upon which the Nakamanda prides itself really came into its own.

We had booked a Sala Vila (501) which was just lovely. We were pretty exhausted after our long flight and one of the things I really loved was having a bath and watching the rain fall on the glass ceiling above- an outdoor bath completely private and still undercover. The room is spacious and well-designed and the his and her bathroom areas are wonderful as well. The outside day bed is a lovely place to relax, read and chat. A couple of mornings, the staff served us breakfast on our verandah and I cannot tell you how pretty the whole place looks when you watch the rain over the trees and out over the water.

As part of the Nakamanda experience, a daily High Tea (which is included in the room rate) is served in the "Living Room". Every day there are different cakes and pastries and the Coffee is really good. On the first day, because we were still so tired, we wondered if we could take the cakes and coffee in our room. I was on my way to ask, when I was asked very nicely if I was lost? It was in fact the Owner, Eric who was supervising the planting of new garden undergrowth. We struck up a conversation and he said that he had studied his Masters at Bond University on the Gold Coast. We later had several conversations with Eric and really enjoyed hearing his vision for Nakamanda, his staff philosophy and how the resort has come to be what it is today. Eric, is to be complimented on his Staff (as well as the overall Resort Design,) as they are all wonderful and they are a genuine credit to him.

That night, we were still pretty tired, but went down to eat at the restaurant by the Pool that looks out over the little Bay and Island. The Chef and Restaurant staff take great pride in making their guests happy and the Chef even came out personally to ask what we would like. Being really jetlagged, we were more concerned that we were hurting his feelings as we were too tired to eat a feast, so we said just something small and we let me choose. What came out was lovely, one of the dishes was prawns wrapped in a type of dry noodle and fried- excellent.

The Breakfast too was awesome. During our stay it was served a la carte. Dao explained that she and the staff make a note on each guest of what they like and how they like their preferences served. Since I had said that I love red pawpaw, they went to the market and this was served everyday, along with the dry crispy bacon as requested and fresh guava juice. We give a genuine 10/10 for the breakfasts as they are very special and it is a wonderful way to start the day, looking out over the water of which the beachscape changes as the tides go in and out. We shared many a laugh with the staff each morning.

Rit, is the Head Concierge and on the third Day asked if we would like him to take us on a Day Tour. He took us to the Hot Springs, Emerald Pool and Tiger Temple. He really went out of his way to give us a lovely Day, and the flowing conversation was enjoyed as well. Thankyou Rit and we have since found that you also took some really great photos on our camera for us.

Dao, took us to nearby Ao Nang for dinner on the second night and we ended up having a great seafood dinner in one of the many restaurants along the beach. I also had two lovely silk dresses made, at excellent prices and quality at one of the Tailors there. The service was excellent and they even came out to Nakamanda for one of the fittings- Thankyou Royal Tailors, Ao Nang.

I cant review the Spa as we went to the little massage place outside the Nakamanda. This gave us more pleasure to do so as being low season the trade was very quite and the owners went out of the way to please us. One night we didnt leave until midnight as they gave us an extra long Thai Massage which was excellent too and very well priced. One night my husband was too late to buy cigarettes and one of the daughters just jumped on her motorbike and came back with a packet- out of nowhere! We explained to the Nakamanda that we wanted to give a little back to the shops outside the Resort and they understood. I am sure the Spa is great though as we did look in and it was very clean and smelt great. Another Couple said they had been and rated it as excellent.

I really want to give a heartfelt thankyou to Dao who will be in our hearts forever. She and the Nakamanda Driver, Nuk, came with us on a day trip to Phuket which is only about 2 1/2 hrs away by car. We had a lovely day and met up with some friends from home. Again, the conversation and general fun was flowing and natural and it was one of those great days. The next day our friends drove up from Phuket to see what Krabi was all about, and Dao and the staff put on a wonderful lunch at a table right next to the beach and all the Nakamanda staff went out of their way to make sure our guests had a lovely time. Dao then organised a long boat to take us to Pha Nang Bay and dinner in Ao Nang and again, I risk being accused of verbal overkill, the experience was so fun and has created some really wonderful memories.

ALL, the Staff at the Nakamanda are to be praised and if I have missed any I hope I dont give any offence. The Resort surroundings are truly beautiful but it is the staff with their lovely smiles and heartfelt genousity of spirit that make this Hotel stand out above any that I have ever stayed in before.

So, I must thank Rit, Dao, Num, Au, Chai, Made, Lik, Jig, Ya, Nut (Good Afternoon!), Fa, Chai (2), Bum (prounounced Boom), Nu, Anna-phut, and Apple for giving us a truly wonderful holiday and I hope that this review will encourage others to come and stay there as if you are looking for a "honeymoon", experience no matter how many years you have been married, then I can only recomend this hotel to the highest degree.

Most Genuinely,

Dianne & Stephen Tam, Brisbane

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank TamsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    291
    79
    19
    9
See reviews for
231
717
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

The Nakamanda is an incredibly beautiful resort. EXPENSIVE but worth it. Highly recommend it. Service is impeccable; rooms are large, well appointed with all the amenities one could ask for. With this said, the staff can be better trained to assist Western/European clientele whose expectations and demand for service is different than Asian visitors.The staff works quite hard to please but guests who misinterpret Thai hospitality, gentle presentation of service as inefficiency will get impatient.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LaFamilleAventureuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Beach, Qld
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2008

After a couple of stressful months, my partner and I decided to treat ourselves with 4 nights at a luxury resort. We chose the Nakamanda with some misgivings however we were delighted with the property, its location and its ambience. Our room was very spacious and well appointed with many thoughtful details (a beach basket was even supplied). The only 'gripes' were the temperamental toilet flushing mechanism and lack of in- room fan which meant a/c was necessary the whole time. The pool and restuarant area by the water's edge was very lovely. Other reviewers were disappointed by the beach but we enjoyed watching the tide coming in and out, the longtail boats and various activities. Breakfast served by the beach was truly indulgent with guests having carte blanche when ordering their desired meal. Afternoon tea in the lounge area was also very indulgent and thoughtful.
We found the staff extremely obliging in all our dealings with them (although we never did spot the boss). The pool attendants were fantastic and were always at hand with fresh towels, icy cold glasses of water or suggestions for activities.
It was with heavy hearts that we checked out to move down the road to a less extravagent hotel for the remainder of our stay in Krabi. The Nakamanda staff were very sweet and arranged for the hotel car to take us to the new hotel and encouraged us to use their internet in the Library while we were waiting for check in time both of which were free of charge.
For dinner we ate several time's at the Mother House which is located next door to the Nakamanda and it was consistently good. Also, the beach-side restuarant near the Sheraton was fine although it is advisable to check your bill.

  • Liked — The style of architechture and spaciousness of the rooms
  • Disliked — Needed 2 day beds on the verandah!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank banyula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2008

Unless the management has changed the last few years, I would advise against staying at the Nakamanda. While the facilities are first-rate, we found the management very venal, and their attitude quite poor. They ruined the last night of our vacation by very indelicately following us back to our room, demanding that we pay on the spot for a meal we had taken that they had suddenly discovered was not in our package. Also, the beach at the hotel is not very nice. It's possible the management's attitude has improved since our stay, but I would check this out before booking the Nakamanda.

  • Liked — Room was terrific and the general staff service was fantastic
  • Disliked — THe management's attitude was very venal and they ruined the last night of our stay
  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank easytoplease5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2008

We last visited in 2004 shortly afer the hotel was built.

Our stay was probably sumed up by breakfast on the first morning:

As we say down under the natural shade of the trees our backdrop was the picture perfect little bay, longtail boats at anchor and limestone stacks off in the distance.

2 or 3 staff floated round taking our order (hot food cooked to order), whilst chatting to our 7 year old daughter. A leisurely breakfast was being finished off with a 2nd cafe latte when Rit, head of the small concierge team came by and chatted to us (he was the hotel driver when we first stayed). Asking of our plans for the day we told him we were thinking of having a Spa treatment. He sugested one of the Spa staff pop over to our table with a Spa menu.

The treatment turned out to be devine, yes - there are people on the beach round the corner who will give you a rub for less money but not with a blend of essential oils and a private bathroom to shower off in afterwards. This is one of the leading small hotels of the world group and 35 pounds sterling isn't exactly daylight robbery. In fact for the treatment offered I'd say it was a bargain. During our joint treatment the staff occupied our daughter and she came back with hair plaited and toe nails painted, she'd clearly had fun.

Our stay wasn't without it's stress. The descision over which of the blends of essential oils to be marinated in was hard, no honestly it was and if I'm being fussy the sea temperature was just a touch high in places, but hey - we soldiered through. (Just in case it's lost in typing that was meant as humour).

Communication is always an issue in Thailand and this is rural Thailand (check out the scenery!) not Bangkok. I'll let you into a little secret they all speak perfect Thai, sadly we are limited to a couple of words and a few numbers but where there's a will there's a way and the staff are definately willing.

Hotels mean different things to different people but this is a very unique and individual property created and run with vision. It's ideal as a place to relax but at the same time children are both welcome and loved. The pool staff have water toys for them and keep a watchful eye out.

We will definately be making a return visit and would recommend you try it out. Their 3 day birthday package (don't worry it doesn't have to be your birthday and you won't get a cake!) is a great taster.

As a final little note: we drove from Krabi to Phuket and about 40 minutes north of Krabi we came accross a sign for "Pet Cave" on our right side (also signed "Phet Cave"), a bit of a drive down a minor road and a trip down a dirt track later we came accross a deserted shrine with a sign to the cave on the right. There were torches available to borrow for a donation to the honesty box. Wow, I spent over an hour in the incredible maze of underground tunnels and vaults. I felt like Indianna Jones. Totally un planned but a memory for life. I'm still in Thailand at the moment but on my return I'll try to post up some photos.

Henry

  • Liked — The staff attention to detail and thinking what you might like
  • Disliked — We only stayed for 3 days this time
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Henry901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2008

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Nakamanda where we have just spent two heavenly weeks. The staff are simply lovely, courteous, smiling and efficient and the hotel has everything that we needed for a luxurious, relaxed and mindless holiday. The situation is idyllic and its local ownership means there is no sense of the sterile internationally owned battery farm resort that are becoming increasingly common throughout the world. The beautiful and tranquil pool area with its olympic length pool running parallel to the ocean, is a visual treat and immaculately run. Altogether, a perfect place to recharge - your only decision is whether to eat at the romantic ocean side hotel restaurant or to stroll out of the gates to one of the two superb and cheaper family run restaurants immediately adjacent. Here, you can also hire a motorbike, have a massage, have your laundry done and buy provisions.
There are two kilometres of lovely beach each side of the resort both with restaurants serving super fish.
To be recommended - a hotel organised longboat trip to your
choice of local attraction.. Do not come here if looking for a wild nightlife or if you have difficulty with stairs.

  • Liked — Individual villas and beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ARRIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

Having stayed for six nights at the Tubkaak prior to here, my expectations were perhaps somewhat higher and therefore I was inclined to be a lot more critical than if I had come here first. The Nakamanda is a lovely hotel, but it is lacking that extra something that differentiates a very good hotel from something that is truly great. The hotel grounds were all well maintained, although probably in need of a some paint touch ups soon as this place is around 4 years old now. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, so no complaints there, although again the service was lacking that extra something that sets a 5 star place apart. The rooms were lovely and well kept, and we loved the pool and surrounds and the super cheery pool attendants. The beach at the Nakamanda unfortunately is not the best, especially when the tide is low.
The food in the restaurant is not very good for the prices charged, but luckily there is a wide variety of places outside the hotel grounds so you can wander out in the evenings for drinks and great food at very reasonable prices. Having a range of places to go to outside the hotel was actually something we really enjoyed. Turning right onto the beach, about a 10 minute walk is one of the best seafood places we encountered during our trip to Thailand!

  • Liked — The location and the pool area
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Property: Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing