We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb botique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb botique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nakamanda is one of the most beautiful and best managed hotels I have visited. Staff is plentiful and very friendly. Venue is stunning, with on a bay which fills and empties as the tide emerges and recedes. Food is excellent. Probably better for couples than a single occupancy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyh3a1w9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    291
    78
    19
    9
See reviews for
230
717
29
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

located at klong muang beach, Nakamanda is a great place if you are looking for a getaway from city life. it takes about 45 min from krabi airport depending on traffic condition. its is located further down after sheraton and beyond and i would feel that it is the most accessible in terms of amenities among the 3. you will not find city life around klong muang like what you find in ao nang. just a few mini mart within the vicinity to get the snacks and drinks you need for the trip itself. there is one right outside the Nakamanda. if you need to rent a cab/bike or book a ride for island hopping, there is also a stretch of shop opposite the entrance where u can do so. just deposit 2,000 baht or give your passport/driving licence if you wish to rent a bike.

the hotel room is great with bath tub and individual basin on each side. there a full length glassdoor over the room and i wish the blinds could be more opaque as i could see shadow overcasting into the room at night. they have spa with different promotions each day so keep a lookout. it closes at 10pm daily with last appt at 8pm. if you wish to go to ao nang beach,

there is also a shuttle service which you will have to pay say about 300 baht for a 2 way transfer. i think is on tues, thurs and sat where u will leave klong muang at 530pm and pick u up from ao nang back at 930pm. if you're quick and want to get some souvenirs from ao nang and grab a bite i think 4 hours should be sufficient.

Nakamanda has it own beach front right in front of the restaurant but you have to visit it at the right timing as it only appears where the tide is lowest. so its either early morning at 6am or evening at 5plus. there will be a small island where you can walk there to look out into andaman sea and hong island which is pretty amazing. Talking about their service, i actually requested for a surprise as it was my gf's birthday and they actually bought us a cake where they brought to the room upon cue which was pretty amazing.

in terms of food, there are a few restaurants nearby. we tried sabai ba bar which is of walking distance. a great place to go during evening where u can see the sunset with strong sea breeze. they have different setting for you to choose be it bar, chill and dining. we also went to coconut restaurant which is near to the hotel, not bad for the food but we chose to take away as it was dusty with all the trucks going in and out further down the road which is a deadend. probably more expansion to klong muang.

Overall its a fantastic experience. i will choose to come back to Nakamanda again if i am coming back to Klong muang next time.

Room Tip: 1201 for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This place is away form the hustle bustle of the city and Ao Nang beach. Stayed here for a week in Feb 2013 for my honeymoon. We opted for a Jacuzzi villa and wow! I fell in love with it.....
I liked everything right from the welcome drink to the complementary wine, exotic fruits collection to the way our room was made up. Also, do visit the spa, that's great too.
Restaurant had the best tasting Thai dishes prepared.
The only drawback is the private beach that this hotel owns - its too rocky and not suitable for swimming. BUT then you have the hotel pool for that :)

Room Tip: Choose one with a Jacuzzi, it's bliss!! The villas are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UBhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

A couple weeks ago i 've been traveled with my team to Chiang Mai, a beautiful city of northern Thailand. Just a few days before arrival we 've found Aimo travel agent on google search engine. Until we 're picked up at the Chiang mai airport. Pee he is such a friendly staff from Aimo . At first meet he started by saying sawaddee krub and blar blar blar to us in Thai that we'd not understand. But we just liked it and kept laughing about his greeting& felt like some thing amazing between us is going to happen. Next day we get started doing the wonderful trip by visiting a new discovered route, operared by aimo tours, we headed to north west of Chiang Mai to visit a wonderful tea&coffee plantation. Mr.dtong was our knowledgeable and lovely tour guide. He explained us a lot of thing , especially about living in the jungle and enjoy and harmonize the nature. We brought us to top of the new discovered mountain to visit the local hilltribe village. We're so impressive. The local people took us to the tea plantation and tought us how to harvest or pick the tea leaves. And they also showed us how beautiful their coffee plantation is. Then, they showed and tought us how to cook tea leaf salad in thai style. We really enjoyed it and the weather up there was like heaven . We're on 1400 meters from sea level. It's cloudy foggy but we breathe the fresh air. In the afternoon aimo took us to visit elephant nature camp in Chiang dao area,it 's great combination from top of mountain to elephant camp, which is located at the Ping river. We were so happy with this trip really recommended!! Aimo tour & all staff will be in our heart .we will definetely come back for ypu guys tong&pee&sarun...thank you very much for treat us like the king..thanks a lot.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nakamanda resort is a beautiful place if you are looking for absolute peace and quiet. It has beautiful accommodation, a breakfast buffet to rave about, a spa with treatment out of this world (honestly the best pedi I've had in my lifetime and the herbal drinks are to die for) and the most friendliest staff.

The resort is located about 40 minutes away from the Krabi town but there's convenient transport. The resort has a shuttle service facility at a fee that takes you to town and back if required. There are a few shops, restaurants and a convenience store just by the main entrance. This was quite convenient and allowed us to taste different types of food.

The setting is idyllic. It's away from the hustle and bustle of a touristic town. If you need to relax, this is the best. If you want entertainment and partying, then you'd need to go somewhere else.

The only flip is that there is no sea view from most of the rooms. The beach is about 3-5 minutes away but when you do step in, it's absolutely heavenly. It's also quite amazing to see the beach disappear with the tide occasionally, only to re-appear revealing the most mesmerizing landscapes. Early morning is best for a walk by the beach and to smell the freshest air.

Overall, beautiful property, ideally located for a hassle-free holiday and their staff is so friendly that they spoil you rotten. It's extremely child-friendly as well.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach and the restaurant are recommended. There are quite a few steps to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inoka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed in Nakamanda for 5 nights from June 18th to June 23rd in a 2-bedroom pool villa with family, including my 1 year old infant and was certainly not disappointed.

1. Service from front-desk to room cleaning etc. was exemplary. You just had to ask them something and they would always get back with a smile.

2. Our 2 bedroom pool villa was majestic, having our own pool and jacuzzi, in addition to the hotel swimming pool. In addition to the 2 bedrooms (in separate enclosures), there was a separate living/dining hall and a kitchen.

3. This hotel is at a certain angle to the beach, but other sections of the beach are within walking distance.

4. Long tail boat rides are available from right at the hotel beachfront. We took 2 long tail boat rides to Hong Island (around 45 min) and the majestic Railay Beach (around 30 min). Not advised to take long tail boat rides if travelling with very young children and old persons.

5. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday away from the hustle and din, this is the place.
We could hardly hear any sound during our walks.
However if you are looking for action with beach crowds like Patong or Ao nang, then this might not be the right place.
Hotel takes around 40min from the airport.
Since Ao Nang Beach was far, the hotel charged 500 Baht for 1-way transfer by car

5. Took additional 1 day jungle tour arranged by the hotel to Cave Temple (truly majestic), Emerald Pool (OK) and Hot Spring (nothing much) as well as the weekend night market.

6. The only likely drawback (if you are travelling with small children or older persons) are the stairs. It was a real bother travelling with the baby pram. Eventually we discovered a roundabout way that runs through the staff service quarters but could at least avoid the stairs.

7. Breakfast was OK, nothing spectacular. Ordered room service to our living room for 3 days and the food was good, but not extraordinary. Went out of the resort to look for other options. The portions at Gajanan Indian restaurant were really small.

8. Spa was very good with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmitMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Nakamanda in late May/early June and were extremely happy with our stay. The rooms are superb and the service is as good if not better. Everything from the pool to the spa to quality of rooms etc. are great. Part of the reason for that is that it's a boutique luxury hotel but at affordable prices. The only drawback is the angle of the hotel which connects to the beach. But if you walk 2-5 minutes, you can place yourself closer to a nicer part on the beach. This is a resort you want to go to for relaxation and down time - it's not on a beach where they have parties and the like. For that, you have to go to a more commercial beach. The breakfast is great but the one area where they could use some improvement is the Culinary experience especially for local fare. I think they intentionally have westernized the taste of entrees on the menu - ,y wife and I were wishing for more of local taste. Overall, highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 'top' for a better view of the water. Also, room 1202 and 802 seem to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rohanjuneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Property: Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing