We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Krabi.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“One night in Krabi.....”
Reviewed 2 April 2007

My wife and I booked for 3 nights and stayed for 1, which on the face of it says it all.
The room itself was small but adequate. I would not define it as luxurious. However, previous reviewers got it spot on with the "no privacy" comments. Whether in the room or the day area, it was like staying in a goldfish bowl. Were there people to look at us? You bet! The hotel was taken over by a film crew for 3 days, so apart from a view of their 3 bright red trucks parked alongside our villa, there was a constant stream of people back and forth. We had already mentally decided to check out next day.
To the restaurant. Attentive staff, fair quality food, nice choice of wines. Until, that is, approximately 2am when my wife finally succumbed to food poisoning from the seafood dinner. Doctor? Not possible. So, at 3am I drove her to Krabi hospital along with one of the hotel staff to show me the way. Returned at around 5am having checked her in, then back to the hospital at 9am.
In truth, the staff were as helpful as they could be given some of the constraints they are under, Kob (Guest Services Manager)especially showing a genuine concern for my wife. She also made a suitable offer of recompense which we accepted.
However, at the end of the day, we had a terrible room, a noisy and intrusive film crew on site and spent the night in hospital courtesy of the restaurant.
And no, we shan't be going back. Sorry Kob.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    298
    80
    19
    9
See reviews for
246
742
30
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

We booked into this hotel after turning up for our honeymoon at the hotel next door, the Andaman Holiday Resort. Our stay at the latter hotel was cut short as we were not happy with the rooms and service we were offered. We stayed at Nakamanda for three nights and it was the best holiday experience we have ever had. The grounds and rooms were beautiful and the position of the hotel looking over a shallow lagoon to Koh Hong could not have been better. The real highlights of the stay were the staff, particularly the guest services manager, Kobb, who did everything she could to make our honeymoon truly special. Without even asking we were given a complimentary honeymoon package, including sparkling wine, flowers and fruit. When Kobb learned that one of us was not well we received a personal "get well soon" card and complimentary fruit basket. The restaurant at the hotel, the "kitchen" was very good and located close to the beach. The breakfasts, which were included in the room rate, were first class, and high tea which could be purchased for 250 Baht was real highlight of the afternoon. Our room was spacious and featured a sala-style balcony which was perfect for pre-dinner drinks at the end of the day. In summary, we cannot praise this hotel and its staff enough. If you are looking for first class accommodation at reasonable prices, this hotel is a must. We stayed at the end of the high season when the hotel was only half full - it felt like we had the place to ourselves.....the perfect honeymoon.

  • Liked — whole package
  • Disliked — Hotel next door
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lmf1soton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2007

Really liked the location on a pretty beach at high tide. We had a good room with a lovely view but lots of rooms didn't. Pool was restful & nice to get chilled water as you sunbathe. Main downside was we felt the service was a bit obtrusive. We felt they tried too hard, topping up your glass after every sip of water at breakfast, but I think this was because the hotel was quiet.

Mother House was our favourite restaurant outside the hotel. Great laundry service opposite the hotel, dirt cheap & excellent quality. Went on a good trip bought from the travel agents across the road & left - canoeing around mangrove swamps where monkeys jump on the boats. Worthwhile walking down the beach to the Sheraton (left) to see the elephant swim in the sea at 3pm.

  • Liked — Location, peaceful
  • Disliked — Intrusive service
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank G&TLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2007

We stayed at this hotel following a visit to Bangkok and Chiang Mai.

The sala villas are really nice and appointed to the standard you would expect of a hotel in this category. However, most are built in individual two storey blocks the lower ones of which have walkways running past, this means that passer by's can see easliy and directly into these rooms. There is absolutely no privacy unless the blinds are down, which is absurd.

We asked for a change of room which was accommodated without fuss and were changed to an upper floor, only for this one to be overlooked by other upper floor rooms (and a horrible view of the staff accomodation and yard).

We were not lucky enough to visit whilst the place was quiet, it was full throughout. A real suprise was the amount of children in what is not designed to be a child friendly place... it became clear that many of the one bedroomed villas had inappropriately been let to families with 2 children...the pool area was therefore overrun with them.

Prior to our stay, we had, I suppose, been spoilt by the superb Four Seasons in Chiang Mai and so the contrast in service and quality was probably more marked for us. I happen to agree with the Parisien reviewer below who had not "missed the point" at all! The service was extremely erratic and really annoyed me to the point where, instead of being restful, it became stressful.

Given that this hotel is a member of the Small Luxury Hotels Of The World organisation, it should deliver just that. What it actually delivered when we were there was more holiday camp.

My overwhelming feeling was that the Nakamanda is trying to be something that it is not...

  • Liked — Nicely appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Service, lack of privacy, you need to be lucky to be allocated a nicely positioned room
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cliffandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2007

We stayed at Nakamanda for 7 days for the getaway. The hotel surrounding was beautiful and very well maintained (hotel staffs are constantly busy trimming bushes and trees). We also liked the villa that we stayed in: the ample sized room was well kept and clean with touches of small details that you would expect a 5 star hotel to offer. One of the first thing that you will notice is the beautiful Nakamanda pool. You can expect to spend quite a bit of time chilling out by the pool. However, if you are spoiled by those beautiful beach front hotels then you may be disappointed with Nakamanda's. It's definitely not your typical beach as there are way too many rocks. Despite the rocky hotel beach, the scenaries can be quite spectacular during sunset.

We also tried out the Naga Spa service and we found it to be just mediocre. The food service at Nakamanda was expensive and the taste was not up to par (other than breakfast) so dont' waste your money eating here if you have a choice. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and had a pleasant experience with Nakamanda and would return again: the service was great as the staffs are courteous and friendly. However for the top money that we spent, we expected a bit more from a top tier hotel/resort like Nakamanda.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank globetrekker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2007

This hotel is very exclusive and had very few other guests when I was there. I think one obvious reason is the high price. I had a special deal, but it still cost me US$225 per night. I've been thinking about our stay there since we came back from Krabi 3 days ago, but still can't make up my mind whether the Nakamanda was worth the money.
You have to value peace & quiet a lot to think this place is value for money. We stayed there for 4 nights, and for 2 mornings, we were the only couple at breakfast (maybe the other guests were early birds?) This was a first for us - all the attention of the 3-4 waiters were focused on us!
Our Sala room was big and nice. Only one complaint - there were many ants on some of our clothes on several occasions.
The food at the hotel was very good, and not too expensive. Baanthai just across the street cost half as much, my wife thought the food was not as good as the hotel's, but I couldn't tell the difference - both were delicious to me!
I enjoyed my stay there, but don't think I will return to the Nakamanda - unless I value peace and quiet during holidays a lot more as I get older...

  • Liked — Peace & quiet, stylish architecture
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 3306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.7 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,366 reviews
5.8 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
5.9 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,386 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakamanda Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakamanda Resort & Spa

Property: Nakamanda Resort & Spa
Address: 126 Moo 3 Klong Muang Beach | Tambol Nongtalay, Amphur Muang, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nakamanda Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nakamanda Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nakamanda Hotel Nong Thale
Nakamanda Resort And Spa
Nakamanda Resort Krabi
Nakamanda Hotel Krabi
Nakamanda Resort & Spa Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing