We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 in Krabi. A total must....but shhh...keep it a secret!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Number 1 in Krabi. A total must....but shhh...keep it a secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 3 days, and came back for another 7 nights!
Gary and Bua have created a paradise. This is a very special place indeed.
We were here in Dec 2013 for our honeymoon and my 40th Birthday so a double celebration! I'm so glad we found this wonderful place.

The rooms as other reviewers have said are beautiful and comfortably appointed. Boutique style I would call it.We had air con, our own patio, it was very private and the sounds at night of the frogs was sublime. So relaxing!

The food?...OMG! Amazing. When the locals come here to also eat, you know this is THE place to be. We ate here every night that we stayed and cannot fault the stunning food served by the kitchen. Thank you so much! (do try Buas' Cheesecake...yum yum! First class, we can see why it sells out as soon as she bakes it!)

The atmosphere? ...Gary and Bua you have done yourselves proud. This place is magical. Picture a pub in a jungle...sums it up for us.
My husband didn't want to move from the bar...a challenge indeed! And when we did go out venturing in the day we couldn't wait to come "home" in the evening and that's how we honestly felt...like it was a "home from home". Again a reflection on Gary, Bua and their team. So welcoming.
Although this is not a nightlife hotspot, (but should you wish its only a short taxi ride to either Krabi or Ao Nang) For us this was a positive as we wanted total relaxation, and the Frog and Catfish gave us this.

The location is good for the sightseeing, and given the locals knowledge we were able to be directed to the best places to go. Gary and At organised transport for us, nothing was too much trouble.

For a couple of our days we just wanted to veg out at the Frog and Catfish. With their own pool a cooling dip was always available and the cocktails? At certaily does do a mean Mai Tai!

A previous reviewer said they cried when they left. I did the same, this place stays in your heart. It's magical, and the people here really made our honeymoon for us.
We will definately be going back for an anniversary!

Watch out Gary..Keith will be returning with equally bad jokes next time! We will give you warning so that you can take the valium before we arrive!

(Oh, and if you go and are from the UK...take some Chocolate with you for At!)

This place is special...keep it a secret!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladydrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for a week and cried when we left - what a special experience! Gary and Bua have created a uniquely beautiful and welcoming corner of paradise. As other reviewers have already said the rooms are beautifully and comfortably appointed and the food rightly putting the Frog and Catfish at the very top of restaurant choices in the Krabi region. Dishes like the catfish salad and the tubtim with Bua's special sauce are unlike anything else you will have tried in Thailand. And At does a mean MaiTai! The cascading water gardens have been beautifully designed and surely deserve some sort of award - whether you are in Krabi for just a day or for a month you have to experience this special place.

But it is so much more than simply a great place to stay and eat - it is the welcome that will live longest in the memory. All the staff are simply lovely - full of smiles and jokes and looked after us like royalty. It is like staying with old family friends. We were lucky enough to be there during Loy Kratong and became part of the preparations for this special festival. The whole staff and families worked all day to create stunningly beautiful floral offerings and we were privileged to be asked to judge and award prizes for the best ones. A tough call knowing that everyone had been working on them all day long! We then joined Gary, Bua and the gang to launch the kratongs on the Krabi river and join in the raucous fun of the festival in Krabi where the streets were thronged, the bands were playing and the beer was flowing!

We can't recommend this place highly enough. We hope to return soon (with lots of chocolate for the staff - don't worry we haven't forgotten!). Many, many thanks to Gary, Bua and the gang for giving us so many special memories to sustain us through a cold and wet London winter.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

we stayed at the frog and catfish as we had seen a video on you tube and it looked gorgeous and my gosh it really was more than we expected. we were made to feel at home straight away the owners and the staff made it feel more like we were staying with friends it was amazing we soon realised that it was a lot cheaper to arrange any trips we wanted to do through the owners as they knew the locals and so didn't have to pay the traditional tourist rates. We had planned to stay here for two nights but ended up there in paradise for a week. we had checked the restaurant on trip advisor and it rated very high and we can see why we tried a number of different dishes both off the thai and western menu we was not disappointed at all the food was delicious. the grounds and staff are amazing and could not do more for you, the rooms were cleaned and fridge restocked everyday gary sorted us a pack lunch out for one of the day trips we went on this too was gorgeous, this place and the people were perfect we liked it that much we are going back next year with our three children we cannot thank both gary and bua enough they made our holiday thanks and to everyone of your staff/family see you next year.

Room Tip: we had a villa suit it was gorgeous outside sitting was nice with running ponds inside was very clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Panwa, Thailand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

As a destination expert for Krabi this is my home from home. I now stay here when ever I come to Krabi.What more could you ever want it is so beautiful, with all the individual salas and dining areas and ponds. 5 star villas ,and the food a gastronomic delight. Breakfasts in the morning are the best I have had in Thailand.Gary and Bua perfect hosts who go the extra mile. The villas are so comfortable you do not want to leave them. The worst part is having to leave and go back to Phuket. I highly reccommend if you want the best place in the whole of Krabi to stay then look no further. I finally found my little bit of paradise here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent 15 nights at the Frog and Catfish this August and I can honestly say that it is the most beautiful place that we have ever stayed. Gary and Bua were excellent hosts, and they and their wonderful staff couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome and at home. The accommodation was both spacious and luxurious. All the facilities were of a 6 star quality but at economy rates. There are currently 4 separate rooms to stay in. All are self contained and separated by ponds and walkways. Every room had air conditioning and fans, a definite must whatever the season. A fridge in every room was always well stocked with cold drinks. The rooms were always kept clean, and the bedding and towels were changed daily. Breakfast was included in the price, and the quality, variety and amount was outstanding. The on-site restaurant and bar was excellent. We ate at the restaurant several times and were never disappointed by what we were served. The food is of an outstanding quality, as was the the service. The bar was always open. The afternoon swims in the beautiful pool, with an ice cold melon shake to hand, was a memory I'll treasure forever. I honestly cannot convey in words the sheer delight of the Frog and Catfish. From the way it looks, to the level of service, to the hospitality of the staff. Everything screams luxury, but with a real sense of homeliness. I came with my family (wife and 2 kids) and my parents. We would all like to thank Gary and Bua, and their staff, for their friendliness and kindness. We will not hesitate to recommend you to our friends and family, and we will definitely be coming again. See you all again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms were of the same high quality and standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed at the Frog and Catfish in April for 4 nights..... I wished we'd have had more time there because I loved it; peaceful, quiet, beautiful gardens and THE best food ever!
It makes a great base from which to explore the region and it's only 10 miles from the main beaches..... through fantastic countryside and natural scenery. Great for exploring by bicycle too! There are beautifull quiet beaches much closer that that too.
Bua is an amazing woman. I don't think there is anything she doesn't put her hand to....... and she does everything brilliantly; from building the apartements, crafting tables, chairs and bridges to cooking the tastiest food in Thailand!
Gary and Bua are also the friendliest hosts I have ever had the pleasure of staying with and I hope to return VERY soon guys.
Thank you for such an amazing few days.

Room Tip: as there are only three..... every room is special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Frog and Catfish is located near the village of Nong Thale, just 20-25 mins from Ao Nang and Krabi Town. It is a getaway like no other as it has everything you could want for a brief or extended stay.

You have to start with the ambience created initially by the absolutely beautiful gardens and ponds through to the secluded but extremely comfortable rooms nestled amongst the greenery and water. The restaurant is five star quality and the seating areas (salas) are scattered around the ponds so you can pick and choose the outlook and level of privacy. They have a swimming pool for those so inclined conveniently situated near the bar.

A place like the Frog and Catfish doesn't just happen, it is the fulfilment of a vision of 2 people (Gary and Bua) who care enough to create an oasis of calm that guests such as myself are privileged to be allowed to share.

I'm an unashamed fan of the Frog & Catfish, I've visited on many occasions and stayed 3 times and will stay a fourth time in the coming weeks. Whether you are a first time visitor to Krabi or a long-term resident, I highly recommend you take the time to experience the charms of the Frog and Catfish.

Room Tip: The bungalow at the bottom of the garden is bigger with a comfortable couch...but all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.6 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 106 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn

Property: Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn
Address: 76 Moo 6, Din Daeng Noi, Nong Thale, Krabi Town, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Frog and catfish country inn is a small boutique resort set in tropical tranquil gardens containining many fish ponds nestling at the foot of a national park with mountain views. Our rooms have both garden & mountain view.We are 3 KM from the nearest secluded beach and jetty where our guests embark for VIP long tail boat trips to the islands such as Koh Hong Poda island. We are 15 minutes away from Thalene bay which has some of the most beautiful Kayak tours in the world. The tourist centre of Ao nang is 15 minutes as is elephant trekking and the world class beach near the Sheraton hotel.In house massage is available,free WiFi,car & motor cycle hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Frog and Catfish Restaurant and Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frog And Catfish Restaurant And Country Inn Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing