We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Amari Vogue Krabi(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Elements Krabi Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$457
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beyond Resort Krabi(Nong Thale)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Klong Muang Inn(Nong Thale)
US$16
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$10
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,857)
Filter reviews
1,857 results
Traveller rating
1,468
272
79
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,468
272
79
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor shower and bathour honeymoonpremier pool villathe beanbean bags on the beachboutique resortthai restaurantresident managerdi marehong islandrotideluxe roomflip flopsprivate beachhappy hourphi phithai massage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,857 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We are taking very long journey from Phuket to here. And we are so sad that our holiday is too short and only stayed 2 nights here because the hotel and their beach are really awesome!!

Staff: Super!
Friendly and helpful staff and all of them are very professional.

Facilities: Perfect!
Nice and simple decorate,but clean and comfortable. Their shampoo and bathing gel are very good smell and relax! And our room is facing the swimming pool, the environment is very nature and you would find frogs everywhere at night, but not scary, it's a nature!we like!

Day tour they offer: Highly recommended!!cheap and PERFECT!
We never expect we can rent a guide and a small boat for 2 and visited 4 small island with such cheap rate. you would find many jelly fish around(safety) and the time he sent us to the island, there's no one there and you can enjoy the whole island. When some other big tours came, you can go to the next one or come back again later. the tours are SUPER value of money and relax.

Restaurant: Nice music, fantastic food!
good taste and many choices. Facing the beach with listening the music and the sea. It was so impressive and romantic.

We definitely recommend all our friends to stay here and we would come again!!
Thanks all the staff in The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort. You are the best.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We haven't even left the walls of the hotel, but couldn't leave soon enough. Heeding the positive reviews, my wife and I decided on this hotel for the mainland Krabi leg of our honeymoon.

While there are admittedly positive aspects about our stay here -- the staff is friendly enough, the premises are somewhat idyllic and the breakfast buffet is well equipped -- there pluses are just not redeeming enough to pull this place out of purgatory and don't hold a candle to the kind of service we got at other hotels in the region, like Layana on Koh Lanta.

To start, the food is absolutely atrocious, while also being ridiculously overpriced. We had our most expensive meal to date in Thailand in this hotel, and not because we'd ordered any more extravagantly than we had anywhere else. Everything from the $8-French fries to the insipid Thai dishes were surprisingly bad. It's almost as if their small serving sizes were an admission of its shoddy quality. My wife had a craving for a hamburger and the meat was grey, rubbery and unnatural looking. Think of a waterlogged cadaver.And it tasted about that good as well. We know that hamburger isn't a traditional Thai dish...but really?!?! And good luck finding other eating options close by; this is sadly all there is.

The rooms are basic but nice, but the bathroom is moldy ( see pic) Yes, mold. And lots of it. And when the cleaning service came to make our bed, they literally threw the sheet back up over the bed (see pic) and put the dirty dishes (from room service) off to the side, limiting their effort to the bare minimum. Our room service remains spent more than 24 hours waiting outside our door. Coming back after a long day out, we saw that at least the hordes of ants outside our door were well fed.

The beach is eh -- falls far short of elsewhere in Krabi and very far short of the islands' nearby. And the hotel services here are far more expensive than those offered elsewhere.

Construction next door for the hotel's expansion is both loud and unsightly. 'Boutique'? Try corporation. It's as boutique as Macdonalds, both in philosophy and atmosphere. When we were forced to cut our honeymoon short due to a family emergency, the manager refused to reimburse us for the days unspent -- even partially. Profiting from misfortune; more of the same. 'Boutique'? Try having some class and compassion first.

Stayed: April 2013
16  Thank JJB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagamount, Manager at The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

To JJB2003

Thank you for your comments about our food and room. However, the non refund matter that happened, was agreed by you since you booked the room via your .com travel agency. We understood that you are upset but the terms and conditions have stated that way. And these terms and conditions are set by your .com travel agency. We accept all facts but your action that you made on 16 April 13 was totally unacceptable and illegal in our country. You sent a fraud email to your travel agency, to inform them that we will refund money to you for your unspent 2 nights. We have the prove that you used an unauthorized username to create this fraud email.

Our hotel is open for 11 years and we never reply any comments on Trip Adviser because we fully believe that all people who read the reviews can judge all pros & cons that list on our page by themselves. However, this is our first reply as you are trying to ruin our hotel reputation by making fraud evidence. We never had guest said curse words as you did to me. You said "I hope such family emergency will happen to you then you can understand my situation." But the worst part that you said "I'll do whatever action to ruin your hotel reputation."

Sunyadech Srimanee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Fresh off the ferry from Phi Phi and ready for some pampering...and we were not disappointed! It's a beautiful boutique/small resort in a stunning part of Krabi province. We had a very charming welcome from the concierge & reception staff and shown around the resort and into our room. The deluxe room has the added benefit of being on the second floor of the pool facing 2-storey bungalows, extra privacy and also a balcony with lounge area. The room was very well appointed with lots of small details that made it just perfect. An outdoor bath and shower, free minibar (incl 2 beers), Nespresso machine, anti-mosquito plugs, nice amenities, and the before mentioned balcony were nice surprises.

We fully enjoyed the pool, beach and cocktail happy hour during sunset. The restaurant we tried for both lunch and dinner and, although expensive for Thailand standards, it was well worth it. Can recommend the lobster pasta in white wine sauce! One of the waitresses kept being very persistent in filling up our wine glasses (didnt take a repeated no from us) but guess it added to the memories :)

Would highly recommend this resort to anyone and can't wait to go back myself. Big thank you to all the very kind staff!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the deluxe room with the balcony and views from the 2nd floor. The downstairs (superior?) didnt have much privacy
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jurganito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This resort is the ideal place for relaxing and soaking in the gorgeous beach all day! They have an excellent pool and all the amenities are well thought of and cared for. Rooms are a great size, clean and serviced well. One aspect I absolutely loved was the outdoor shower - in a humid climate it is lovely not to be perspiring when one gets out of the shower. It is amazingly private and clean. The only negative aspect about the spa bath was that it was in the middle of the pool, and unless one could swim, access was difficult to get to, whereas most hotels have the spa in a separate or adjoining location, so maybe they should re-locate this. All the extras were excellent, e.g. breafasts, massages, beach bag, towels, insect repellant, so one did not have to bring anything. I am not sure how they did it, but even being outside in the evenings/night I did not get bitten by insects once.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogheathertrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Traveled here in March with my college-age daughter for sun and relaxation in the midst of whirlwind tours of Chiang Mai and Bangkok. Tubkaak is off the beaten path, but worth it. It's an exquisite small boutique hotel in one of the most unspoiled areas of Southern Thailand. No big chains for me.

Why Krabi? Do your research. Many of the islands in Thailand become tourist nightmares during the Thai summer. My daughter had been to Koh Phangan during the Full Moon Party and believe me, staying up all night with 20,000 people is NOT my thing. Honeymooning friends also stopped after Tubkaak at Koh Samui, and said that Krabi was far and away the better experience. We went on a tour to Phi Phi, and I was SOOOO glad we didn't stay there, though I'm sure there are some lovely secluded spots somewhere?

Ao Nang town was much more lively than I expected, so it will satisfy your desire for souvenirs, nightlife, and additional restaurants. I do wish they had more regular, less expensive shutttle service into town.

Tubkaak is lovely and well-laid out. The rooms are spacious and our was right next to the large pool. Not sure you need "beach-front" rooms here...you're always just steps away from shore, as I had thought before booking. Our bathroom had both an outdoor shower and tub -- heavenly. They supply beach bags, towels, robes and flip flops. I appreciated the espresso maker in the room and the refrigerator. All small amenities were in the room: toothbrush, comb, cotton etc.

The restaurant is an unequivocal highlight. It's right overlooking the beach for spectacular sunsets. Breakfast options were plentiful: fresh fruit, yogurt, omelettes and rotis made to order, rice, bacon and sausage, pastries. Fresh juices include mango, orange and there are also many smoothie options. Meals, especially the nighly prix-fixe, including the vegetarian menu option, are superb. They use coconut, mushrooms and other healthy ingredients profusely. Every meal was outstanding and service excellent. Soft guitar and vocals most evenings. They have a koi pond right next to the restaurant and kids can feed them. However, this is NOT a kids resort...it's a quiet, romantic, retreat.

We had very nice Thai massages in the spa. Please note, however, that couples can book private suites in the spa for FREE for an hour with a hot tub, cool plunge pool and steam room or sauna. Take advantage! Great after snorkeling!!

There is also a gift shop and library with beautiful photography books of Thailand and Internet service. We had absolutely no problem with WIFI service in our room.

We took two tours: a speedboat with a group to Phi Phi islands (crazy and very crowded beaches at this time of year, but very good snorkeling) and a private long tail to the Hong Islands -- spectacular, but get there EARLY as it is not fun when dozens of other longboats arrive. The Phi Phi trip was fun as we met people from all over the world on our speedboat. You visit several islands, including Maya Bay -- which was PACKED. The lunch on that trip was mediocre on Phi Phi Don. On the latter trip to the Hong Islands, BRING YOUR OWN MASK AND SNORKEL if possible as the one provided by the guide was kid-size and IMMEDIATELY filled with water no matter what we did. The Hong Islands have small, gorgeous beaches and little else, but you will greatly enjoy the views and the water!!!! At the first stop, fish swarmed all around us as we swam.

Kayaks are provided free of charge. Do NOT bring your camera or cell phone. I did and...well, you can guess the rest of the story. Salt water is NOT forgiving on circuitry. Lost ALL of my fantastic Thailand photographs.

I agree with another reviewer that the lobby/front desk is a bit cool. The space is large and very pretty, and they are efficient, but a bit more warmth might be a better fit for the intimate loveliness of TubKaak.

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vineyardlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews