We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
London and Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This resort was sold to us as a 5 star. We have travelled a lot and in our opinion this hotel fell very below this standard.
If you look at good reviews they are nearly all from honeymoon couples .....they are usually young people with not a great deal of '5star' hotel experience.
We found the staff (with one exception) to be stiff and generally unfriendly. Money was the driver here and as you are so far away from any source of competition we were a captive audience.
Certainly the resort has a beautiful setting and sunsets are amazing. Worth the huge bill we paid? Definitely not!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevarrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    234
    70
    21
    14
See reviews for
180
1,171
38
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed and were married at the Tubkaak in January 2014. In short, the Tubkaak is the most spectacular hotel we’ve experienced. The ocean view is among the best we've seen in Thailand (or anywhere really). The property of immaculate and the service and care with which the staff you is unsurpassed. Within 24 hours, it seemed every staff person knew our names … even staff we didn't recall having met. We have never stayed at a property where we felt so much like family.
If your budget allows, I recommend upgrading to the Premier Pool Villa. It doesn't have an ocean view, but don’t let that deter you. It is the ultimate private getaway. Speaking of romance, the hotel seems to cater to couples. We greatly appreciated the hotel’s policy disallowing small children from Dec – Feb.
If you are looking for a destination wedding spot, look no further. Siraporn (the wedding coordinator), Pat (the property manager), Sunny (manager) and the rest of the staff provided us with the most beautiful wedding we could have ever wished for. No detail was left unattended. We planned to have a private ceremony with just the two of us but were touched and honored when the staff participated in our event. I can't imagine another hotel coming close to providing a wedding the rivals one at the Tubkaak.

We plan to revisit the Tubkaak for years to come.

Room Tip: Premier Pool Villa is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Tubkaak was the highlight of our 4 stops in Thailand. It is situated perfectly in Krabi to view the most gorgeous sunsets you'll ever see. The resort is very well manicured and they clearly pay attention to the details. The resort restaurant was very impressive with great views of the beach and sunset, plus the staff was fabulous. We didn't have a meal we didn't love and the buy-one-get-one happy hour drink deals were great too. Try the basil-pineapple slush drink! The rooms and outdoor shower/bath are very modern with a thai flair. Overall, a great experience!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are a great value! If you're looking at the suites with private pools or sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at the Tubkaak for 3 nights and were sad to leave.
The resort is beautifully landscaped and well maintained. Although it was fully booked while we were staying there, it never appeared crowded.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in one of the upper rooms with view on the pool and loved the room and the outside shower. Found the lounge area on the balcony very relaxing, too.
We liked the attention to detail, e.g. flip flops, mosquito spray and a beach bag for guests being provided for the time of their stay, coffee and tea in the room being refilled during the day.
The beach is beautiful, wide and clean. We loved the beanbags and the hammock. There is sufficient shade for everybody. During our stay, there was high tide in the mornings with low tide setting in on the afternoons. The water will get quite shallow then, so for swimming, it's best to go in the morning. The sunset at the beach was amazing each night.
The food was absolutely delicious. It may be a little pricey for Thailand, but then again this is a top resort.The set dinner is good value for money. What surprised us was how busy the restaurant can be in the evenings - after watching the stunning sunset at the beach, most guest will move on to have dinner. Therefore, it might be good to make an advance reservation to avoid having to wait for a table.
As mentioned in other reviews, the resort's location is relatively isolated which means that if you are looking for night life or shopping in one of the nearby cities it is probably not ideal to stay here because you will have to take a taxi each time to get there. However, if you are looking for some peace and quiet and just to relax this is the perfect place!
While we where staying at the Tubkaat the guests mainly consisted of couples, across all age categories.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FerrisXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We spent five nights at Tubkaak Krabi early this month. It was part couples vacation, part family reunion, and part frenemoon ("friends and family" honeymoon). Going into this, we knew it would be a nice property and that service would be good, based on what we'd read on this forum. The actual experience far exceeded our expectations on many levels:

Rooms:
The rooms were immaculately clean. The amenities were of good quality and the beds wonderful. The outdoor shower and bath were such lovely touches too.

Front desk and tours:
We had so many requests and changes from our entourage of about 20, but every single employee at Tubkaak Krabi took everything in good stride. In particular, everyone at the front desk was very gracious and helpful. We had a family trip to Hong Island, for which the hotel thoughtfully suggested and prepared lunch boxes (that came with the best fried chicken we had tasted in a long time).

Restaurant dining:
Both the Thai and Italian restaurant serve authentic cuisine. The Arundina was especially good. The restaurants are popular for evening dinners so consider making a reservation, especially if you'd like a table nearer to the beach.

Restaurant catering:
We had two family dinners. The first, on the beach, is best described as magical. Everything from the cocktails and canapés, to the floral and hanging light decorations, to amazing food and the sky lanterns, were amazing. Everyone had a great time and we couldn't have asked for a better nighttime beach experience. The second night was dinner on the upper deck of the Arundina. When we told the hotel the theme was chinoiserie night, they offered to have their waitresses dressed in traditional Chinese dress (cheongsams) and to hang Chinese red lanterns around the perimeter of the deck. The tables were stylishly decorated in translucent red organza sashes. With all the guests decked in 1920s Shanghai dress and the atmosphere to match, it was a fantastic sight to behold. The hotel really went above and beyond. We had so many compliments from our guests, and the Tubkaak crew deserved to share in them.

Individual staff:
Every single employee was pleasant and helpful. Special call outs to:
-- Siraporn, the event organizer for our frenemoon who attended to our every request starting from as early as a year ago. She even skyped us a few months before the event to ensure we felt comfortable with the progress of the preparations. The resort is very fortunate to have such a dedicated and professional event planner.
-- Pom, the food and beverage manager. He personally oversaw both our dinners as well as the food for our family trip. He also saw to it that we had everything we needed for the snack and tea table for the chinoiserie night.
-- O, the server at Arundina whose great smile and attentive service greeted us every morning.
-- Sikarn at the front desk, as well as two other gentlemen at the front desk/tours and transportation who were tremendously patient with everything we asked for. In fact, the entire reception crew was really helpful.

Lastly, kudos to the management. Warapetcharat, who overseas the property and Sunny, the hotel manager. Thank you for leading a top-notch team.

Room Tip: The superior and deluxe rooms are both very nice. If you plan to spend most of your time on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djglobetrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edson, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed for 9 days at this resort in January. It is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in an upper room by the pool with a balcony and outside shower and bathtub. I noticed on a review that someone posted a picture of the bathtub with leaves in it and asked "would you bath in that?" It's an outside shower and tub! Unless you had a maid in your room 24/7 to pick the leaves up as they fall from the trees...you will get the odd leaf in your tub! It was amazing! Our room was clean, the resort was clean, the staff were excellent. The only negatives were that if you want to take a taxi into Au Nang (or anywhere else), if you walk a block in either direction from the hotel, it is 300 baht cheaper to go into Au Nang than if the hotel dude calls you a taxi. 500 baht or 800 baht if the hotel calls. Walk a block. We had read on trip advisor about the massage ladies to the right of our beach, and they were fabulous, and a fraction of what the hotel charges for massages. We didn't realize until a couple days before we left that there is a beach menu and service on the beach. The restaurant only serves Thai food. If you want something else during the day while on the beach, you can get other food, just ask for the beach menu. It would have been nice if there was drink and food service all day on the beach. Beautiful, and romantic. If you are looking for any night life, this is the wrong resort. You'll have to take a Taxi elsewhere. Very relaxing. The mango margaritas are delicious at happy hour too!

Room Tip: I stayed in the top floor by the pool...loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This beautiful hotel is located on a gorgeous beach and has beautiful sunsets. Sunny is the most efficient manager I have come across in a long while, and if you for ask or need something, he will try his best to accommodate. We were here for our son and daughter-in-law's wedding, we were hoping it would be on the beach, but rain put a stop to this plan, instead we had it above the restaurant which was decorated with a multitude of the most beautiful flowers and candles, which made it very magical and special. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a huge comfy bed, and we loved the outside bathroom. The staff are very efficient and friendly and do all there chores with a smile. Loved the bid bean bags on the beach, found them really lounging on. It's also lovely to have table and chairs on the beach to.
The children loved feeding the Koi fish in the mornings, and our son and daughter-in-law got to release 2 young Koi into the pool to celebrate their marriage. We had a mixture of couples, family and friends. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Loved our brand new suite with the infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliedawnballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
0.2 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
7.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
7.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 105 in Ao Nang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
8.6 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort

Property: The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Address: 123 Moo 3, Tumbol Nongtalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very chic boutique resort with just 59 stylistically finished rooms and pool villas located at Krabi's most pristine Tubkaak Beach. Offering utmost privacy, spellbound tranquility with friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Hotel Nong Thale
Tubkaak
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing