We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Holiday Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Holiday Experience”
Reviewed 16 August 2006

Just returned home following 10 nights at the Tubkaak and what a wonderful place this is! On arriving in Thailand we had 2 hectic days in Bangkok as we wanted to cram in as much as we could, so we were quite exhausted when we arrived at Krabi airport.

The driver from the hotel was waiting for us and drove us the 50 min journey to the Tubkaak. The road just before it is appalling - they are awaiting the completion of the new hotels around there before it is surfaced, and it takes you past a gypsom quarry which is not a pretty sight!! However don't let it put you off - the place is well worth the rocky ride!

In reception we were welcomed with a cold drink and an even colder cloth which had been infused with eucalyptus - so refreshing and very welcome in the heat. We were given a tour of the resort prior to being shown to our room. We chose one on the ground floor overlooking the pool - it wasn't spacious but adequate. The natural materials used throughout the Tubkaak give a real calming effect to the whole place. Our outdoor bath was supersized and the shower area big also. It was very well equipped with oils and lotions, comb, shower caps, and all the usual refinements you would find in any top hotel.

Everywhere was spotlessly clean and well kept. The staff are absolutely wonderful and can't do enough for you - so very oblidging. The restaurant staff are lovely as are staff in reception and at the Spa. Food was mouth-wateringly delicious the whole time we ate there. They work on a system whereby each person has 600 bahts each day which is taken off your bill at the end of your stay. Everything is signed for including transport, Spa treatments etc.

The beach and the views are very beautiful - the sea is quite shallow for a good way out and the sand is cleaned mid day every day. We spent a lot of time on the beach because there was alovely breeze from the sea and although we were there in the rainy season it hardly rained at all!!

Ao Nang is about 20 mins away and 1200 bahts return using the hotel transport. This compares favourably with the local taxis who also charge the same. Its a lovely little resort with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. We ate in the Thai International Cuisine a couple of times - the food was delicious and very, very cheap.

Krabi town itself (40mins away) is not as nice we didn't think. It's a market town and quite grubby and rather smelly! We didn't stay there long.

There was a wedding while we were there and the preparation for it was excellent - I would highly recommend the Tubkaak if anyone was thinking of marrying over there.

On leaving we were presented with a lovely gift from Pech the manager who walked with us to our car. She is a very caring individual who responds to any comment personally both at the resort and by email.

All in all we would highly recommend this accomodation and would have no hesitation in returning there one day. I just hope that the new hotels under construction do not spoil what they have there.

  • Liked — Its seclusion, great location and excellent staff
  • Disliked — The road leading to it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go and try it for yourselves, you won't be disappointed
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Linisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,344
    250
    73
    21
    14
See reviews for
186
1,227
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

The mood for a relaxing holiday with my fiancé was set from the moment we were waiting to board our Thai Airways flight to Krabi. There were several domestic flights departing from the same departure gate, including a few to Phuket. Throngs of tourists boarded for the planes to Phuket, but easily a third of that number left for Krabi. Krabi is geographically close to Phuket, yet it has largely managed to keep the rampant commercialism of its popular counterpart at bay. With its breathtaking limestone landscapes (great for rock-climbers) it is very scenic and charming. If you venture slightly off the beaten track (as you will do if you decide to stay at the Tubaak), you will find that it feels more 'rural' with lots of little wooden Thai houses and shacks dotting the rubber tree plantations and fields of tall palm trees. Krabi is also home to a small Muslim community so we passed a mosque on the journey to the hotel. The main tourist area, Ao Nang, is touristy but not overly so when compared to other Thai resort destinations.

The Tubkaak is approximately a 45 minutes' drive from the airport, with the final 3 kms of the journey being on unpaved, potholed dirt roads. As the other reviewers have said, you do pass a quarry and several construction sites to get to the hotel, but never once did we encounter any noise or disturbances during our holiday. The hotel was an oasis of tranquility at all times. I suspect they are constructing new (huge) hotels near the Tubkaak, so if you want to experience the unspoiled charm of the hotel before those hotels open this would be a good time to do so.

The hotel is much smaller than one would imagine from viewing the website, but it was extremely well maintained. You are surrounded by lush green vegetation. This is by no means a resort for families with young children because they will probably be bored. I believe the hotel will arrange a babysitting service if requested, but there are no activity clubs or a creche. When we were there, the guests were all (dating, married, honeymooners or engaged) couples above the age of 30. The hotel itself does not discourage guests bringing young children, but I imagine the other guests might not like the noise!

We stayed at the Tubkaak for a total of 4 nights in July, which is supposedly the rainy season in Krabi. Don't let that put you off because it rarely rains the entire day; the rain showers tend to come in the early mornings and at the end of the day before giving way to sunny/clear skies. It cools down the temperature to pleasant levels. Even when the skies are overcast, it's possible to get a decent tan! July is also the low-season so this is the time to get a good deal. During our stay the hotel had 50% occupancy.

We stayed in a Deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the lovely free-form pool. It was very comfortable and clean. A nice feature of the room was the outdoor shower and bath. The deluxe room came with a DVD player so you can bring your own videos to watch should that tickle your fancy. The TV also had the major international satellite channels. Our only gripes about the room was that it was a little dark (even during the day) and the floors could have used with daily vacuuming to get rid of the sand that one inadvertently transports to the room after a day at the beach.

The pool (with jacuzzi) was small but you'd never know it because there was hardly anyone at the hotel. It was also spotlessly clean and well-maintained. Most of the time, the pool was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. We loved the beach which boasts 2 hammocks and brown bean bags and a beautiful view of the Hong islands. The hotel also provides use of 2 kayaks for free- that was fun. Again we more or less had the entire beach to ourselves...it was extremely quiet.

There was only one restaurant in the hotel but the menu was extensive. The hotel manager also told us upon our arrival that his staff would do their utmost to meet any special food requests- this they did. We ate only Thai food during our stay and it was very good. Tip: the spiciness of most dishes has been toned down to suit Western tastes, so if you like your food spicy then ask them to crank it up a few levels! The food prices were slightly higher than at most other Thai hotels (even the ones in Bangkok), but it wasn't exhorbitant and still cheaper than in Europe. The service was excellent, efficient and always accompanied by a smile. The staff's grasp of English was very good so you shouldn't have any problems communicating with them.

The buffet breakfast was basic, but good. Definitely not on par with five-star hotel breakfast standards.

If you want to venture out to Ao Nang to eat, ask the concierge for recommendations. Ao Nang is about 20-25 min away by car. They were spot-on when we asked. The hotel's limo service into town was rather pricy for local standards (approx. 1600 Baht one way).

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank Trustfundbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 July 2006

This was one of the nicest places i have stayed in. We spent 6 nights there in May 2006 and cannot fault the place. The hotel was spotless and the food superb and the staff the most friendly and helpful people you could imagine.

yes - there are reviews which grumble about the quarry which you need to go through to get the the hotel - but once you are in its worth it. The Spa treatments are great and well priced and the restaurant - although there is only the one - has a vast menu which meant we ate different types of food for the 6 nights we were there!

The poolside is great and well maintained and the hot weather and endless sunshine helped!

All in all i would highly recommend this place !!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2006

We had booked a week at the Tubkaak, but left after 4 hours.
First, our travel agent had made a mistake and forgot to tell the resort, that we had a five year old child with us. the room was terribly small and smelled musty and damp, and there was no room for our daughter. They offered that she could sleep on the floor, cramped in between our bed and the balcony door! Or we could have a bigger room, but the room they offered had no balcony, and we didn't want to spend a week in a room with no possibilities of sitting outside at night... after all, sitting outside at night with a cold drink is what we had looked forward to!
The trip was prepaid, and the hotel manager refused to give us our money back, even though he agreed that this was a very bad resort for our child (the Tubkaak is mostly for older couples), but our travel agent managed to persuade them to give us 50% of the amount back - but if you go, please be aware that this is not the normal policy of the Tubkaak.
Can't comment on the food since we didn't eat (but, as we had actually paid for it, we joked about coming back for dinner for half the week!). Instead we went to the Central Krabi and had a wonderful week, despite the contruction etc.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 July 2006

Just returned from 2 weeks in Thailand and our first week was spent at the Tubkaak and can i say what a charming Resort this is. Yes you do drive through a Quary and a building site to get to it but you don't hear any noise what so ever from either.
This resort is secluded and exactly what my wife and i were looking for to relax from our hectic London lives.
The rooms are nice and certainly large enough the facilities are great and the Outside bath is very romanic.
The view from the beach over looking the Hong Islands is truely amazing while your lying back on your Giant Bean bag sun bathing or swinging the hammock, and its even more magical as the sun sets.
The restuarant is nice and yes its a expensive for Thailand but not for what you'd pay any where in London ! and certainly a million times better thats for sure.
I noted other people saying that the staff's english wasn't to good but there English is better than my Thai and we had not problems getting what we wanted during our stay and always with a smile on there faces.After 10 the bar shuts so there isn't much to do other than enjoy the company of the person you went with which for me is the whole point of a holiday !!
Don't go here expecting a lively resort because it isn't and you will need a taxi to travel any where you care to go, however if you want to completely relax and enjoy the company of your loved one there is no better place to go.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
0.2 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,342 reviews
7.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
7.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
8.6 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,796 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort

Property: The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Address: 123 Moo 3, Tumbol Nongtalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very chic boutique resort with just 59 stylistically finished rooms and pool villas located at Krabi's most pristine Tubkaak Beach. Offering utmost privacy, spellbound tranquility with friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Hotel Nong Thale
Tubkaak
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing