We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as perfect as expect, but still loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

With the Ritz Carlton reserve brand, we have high expectation about this resort as this is one of the most reputable and expensive beach report in Thailand.

We stayed for 2 nights during local long weekend. It was a perfect gateway to relax from the Bangkok. No check in/check out line as they do directly in your room. Also, we got an upgrade from Resort pavallion to Ocean pavallion, so we have stunning view of the beach from our rooftop. Bed is 2 king sizes put together with lovely bathroom and tub. Minibar is free with water, beer, and softdrink. We have our own car, so we didn't use their airport pick up service including the package. Then, we requested to change into spa, and they were very kind to give both of us 1 hour massage from ESPA. This is the best!!!!

On the down side, butler was nice, but not good as six senses. Breakfast was very good, but limited choices. We did have dinner once, but the food was 3 stars at 5 stars price. The resort has non-swimmable beach, but they provided shuttle boat to nearby island as they have the staffs to take care of you there.

Overall experience, we loved the properties, our room, and spa.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kengkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

I have been traveling the world for over 30 years and have been fortunate enough to experience most of the world - but there are very few places that truly want to make me come back again and again.

This resort is so unique and special, as it is not only the very special villas - each unique and memorable, the food and the grounds, but the people. From the moment you arrive at the airport to the greeting at the grounds to the entire stay, they cater to your every needs - and every guest.

If you are looking for night life this is not the place - but if you are looking for service with a smile, a memorable trip and to be pampered, then this is the place. Thailand alone is a very special place on this earth, but to add the ambiance of the Ritz Carlton Reserve (the only one in the world at this time) the unique restaurants, great food and superb butler services - then I highly recommend Krabi Ritz.

The hotel is descreet, highly professional and treats everyone alike - another very special quality - they will arrange special events like speed boat tours through the islands, elephant visits and anything you'll need.

Each night they tuck you into your custom bedding (the largest bed you'll ever sleep in) with a personal note from your butler and some very special treats.

While the website does not do it justice, they are working on that - but this is a magical place and one you'll never forget and worth every penny!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOfliesglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. It was without a doubt one of the nicest places we've ever stayed. The landscaping and service were top of the line. Because it was the low season, we were even upgraded two levels and provided a butler!

The pool, the sunset views and breakfasts were unforgettable. Not to mention the "lobby" (I won't say anything more to avoid ruining the surprise!)

If I have any complaints:
-Some of the restaurants were not very good, especially considering the Ritz prices. Ironically, we were not impressed with the seafood and Thai restaurants.
-The spa was overpriced for the quality. We had much better massages elsewhere in Thailand.

That being said, we would go back in a heart beat. The breakfasts are outstanding and the service was the best you can get. Hats off to our fantistic butler Judy who went out of her way to set up events and drive us to the restaurants in her golf cart (the resort is on 32 acres).

The resort is truly a landscaping masterpiece. 32 acres of carefully designed Thai eco-architecture makes strolls through the place quite enjoyable. And you'll definitely pass the time in the beautiful pool. Again, amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed at this resort back in July 2010 - Sorry guys my review is long over due.

All I can say is from the minute we checked in to the minute we checked out we were blown away. You would be hard pressed to find a hotel with better service than this.
Lets see.......
Rooms...Amazing comfy large with bathrooms to die for.
The beds........ Amazing, comfy and huge.
The indoor and outdoor showers....... unbelievable.
Pools........ both the private pools and the main pool awesome.
Restaurants.......while yes they are overpriced, the food and service couldn't be beat.
Service........ Top notch - JB was our butler but all the staff contributed to an amazing Birthday.

JB - Thank you, thank you, thank you......you made this one amazing birthday. I can't say enough but decorating the room with candles, the hot bath waiting with flower petals and moving our rooms when the air conditioner leaked whilst we lounged at the pool, wow. For all of this I can not say thank you enough. If you stay here you will have a great experience with JB as your butler.

The air conditioner, well not a big deal it leaked in our room, we informed the staff. It's funny we had such an amazing time we weren't even upset. But the manager insisted in upgrading us to a bigger suite. Who were we to argue.

To my private Muay Tahi instructor thank you - a daily workout before pool time was awesome.

The pool and spa staff AMAZING - All I can say is wow, you guys really set the bar for service, nothing is too much.

To Estelita (General manager) thank you so very much for making this a truly amazing vacation.

As a foot note we were there in July and even the on and off rain didn't bother us with service like this.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldAvi8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My wife and I live in Phuket and recently spent a holiday touring Koh Lanta and Krabi booking accommodation as we went. Generally we stay at Four Seasons or Sheraton hotels but having heard of the Phulay Bay we decided to stay there on 7/8 June availability permitting. Unthinking we simply turned up for lunch with the hope of securing a room for two or three nights.

We arrived at the gated entrance and were faced with what can only be describe as a hostile security guard who didn’t speak English and who seemingly had no wish to let us in. Having tried to explain (in broken Thai) our reason for being there he perhaps understandably called some distant person(s), presumably reception, on his walkie talkie whilst glaring at us. No exaggeration it was a great glare. So after 10 minutes of talk, glare and silence we headed off to another hotel where we were welcomed in the expected manner. I’d add that we were well dressed and drive quite an impressive car (but obviously not impressive enough).

Oh well in the future its back to the good old Four Seasons and Sheraton and never again try to cross the threshold of a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank Johntoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed here for only 2 nights for our honeymoon and were blown away by the beauty, the service, the villas, food and service. I will say service twice, because they will meet and exceed any want, wish or desire. When we pulled up, we were greeted in the beautiful lobby of Phulay Bay with cold towels and Phulay Bay tea, which is amazing. We were greeted by a team of workers and introduced to our personal butler Judy. Due to the resort being half full, we were upgraded to one of the biggest villas on the resort. It was huge to say the least. Private meditation garden, outside and private pool and bath tub. The bathroom, changing room, shower. Everything was amazing and Judy made sure that we instantly felt at home. Judy even prepared a romantic candle light bath for us upon leaving us. This is the resort that is the entire Hangover 2 movie, and if you havnt seen it, you should to get an idea how beautiful the islands are in view from Phulay. The pool is huge! We had excellent service pool side and the drinks where some of the best we had during our 2 week stay in Thailand. The food was excellent at each of the dinning options, again with wonderful service. Here's one of things I liked the best, the free trip to Hong Island. I have heard people stat that the beach is bad at Phulay. Really who cares, you are staying at the Ritz and have one of the nicest pools at your disposal. The free trip to Hong Island is a must, it was one of the best days we had. The beach on Hong Island is arguably one of the nicest, most scenic beach's in Thailand. I swear, we went to Phi PHI , Koh Tao and other beaches and the 25 min ride to Hong Island was up there with any beach anywhere. Sorry for jumping around with this review, but I can assure you we did not hold back while at the Ritz, and the price we paid for everything wasnt cheap. It was completely worth it. Judy and the rest of the staff were incredible, as far as being creepy. I believe that Thai service is second to none, and anywhere you stay you will feel overwhelmed with how much they want to help you and serve you. Here's my pro's and con's
-Pool- huge pool, great pool service, one of the best views anywhere in the world Hands down.
-service-anything you wish within reason will be done or gotten for you. My wife was very picky with her food and they delivered results, every time.
-hong island trip- absolutely amazing, if you stay at the Phulay you must go for the day.
-villas- impecable, top of the line bedding, bath robes, towels and amenities.
-spa-was an incredible service. We took advantage of 2 for 1 specials
-bars- wonderful places to have drinks at sunset.

We didnt stay long enough.

This was truly a great experience that we will remember forever. Having come all the way from USA, I can assure you it was worth the journey. We are thrilled to see that there will be a handful of other Ritz-Carlton Reserves opening up close to home that we will for sure visit. This is a must stay if you can afford it, it is truly and incredible place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkijewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

This Hotel is sensitive to and respectful of its natural environment - from building materials to lighting and furnishings. Our villa was luxurious surounded by gardens with native plants and trees and magnficant views of the Sea. The beach is not really swimable, but the hotel's complimentary boat transfer to Hong Island for snorkelling and swimming made up for it. Our Butler Patty was wonderful - she was available anytime and attended to our every need.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Reserve Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rozminl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
0.6 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,591 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort Aonang- Thailand
7.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
8.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,002 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve

Address: 111 Moo 3, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#2 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: £311 - £676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve, invites you to experience your own secluded oasis at our luxury resort in Krabi, Thailand. Beyond the limestone mountains that rise from Thailand’s Andaman Sea, the virgin rainforests, and the ethereal beaches and crystal clear waterfalls, you will find a paradise that awaits - Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve. Our luxury waterfront hotel is one of the world’s most spellbinding destinations and one of the most glorious resorts in Thailand. Stay with us and embark on a voyage of discovery, at our retreat in Krabi, where the natural splendor and charm of the island blends blissfully with an aura of luxury and serenity. Guests access our luxurious sanctuary from Krabi or Phuket Airports, and they at once experience the thrill and convenience of our exotic Phulay Bay waterfront resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phulay Bay, a Ritz Carlton Reserve Hotel Nong Thale
Ritz Carlton Krabi
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing