We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best white sandy beach in Krabi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best white sandy beach in Krabi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Staying 3 nights at This resort. The first impression was it is a bit old and under poor management. There was only 1 receptionist around. She was also in charge as concierge and house keeping too. LOL.. The resort is remote, need 20 mins to go to Ao nang town. Taxi charge will be 1200 baht round trip. It is recommended to buy some supplies on the way to this resort cause everything is over charges. We tried the restaurant and food were not good. Luckily, there is a small restaurant named Tup Kaek Seafood restaurant. We had a good lunch n dinner, spent 1000 baht for 4 pax each meal.

Tup Kaek beach is beautiful. We came with our 2 toddlers. They had a blast. They got to experience many wildlife. We caught crabs, hermits, starfishes, seashells during low tide. When it is high tide, it is beautiful to swim. Tomorrow we plan to hire a long boat to Hong island. Costs around 2000 baht. We can snorkel and enjoy the underwater world with the kids.

Depends on your preference, Tup Kaek Sunset resort is perfect for us. Cause we want to have a laid back holiday and seek outdoor/wildlife experience for our young kids. If you are looking for a busy party or shopping holiday, don't come to this resort.

Room Tip: Go for a beach front bungalow. Very nice. Easily accommodate 2 adults and 2 children
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    149
    49
    14
    9
See reviews for
66
197
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I am not an authority sunsets, but the ones I witnessed at the Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort & Spa truly blew my mind. Stayed here 3 nights and every evening was a different spectacle!

The resort is fairly small but tucked away from the sleepy Nong Thale town - it's almost like having a private villa on the beach. The check-in was brisk and we were offered a villa that was assured - facing the ocean. There was some expansion work going on, but didn't affect us much since we were toward the far end of the resort. The villa wasn't spacious, but was cozy enough for a couple. The restaurant and service wasn't a standout experience. But the big disappointment was the spa - the massages we had was very average and we made our point heard to the management.

In all, it was a very quiet, rejuvenating sunset holiday that we had hoped for.

Room Tip: The villas closer to the ocean are more expensive but offer unobstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

You really have to see the views for yourself to really believe they exist. The best view in Thailand (maybe the world!?) by a mile.

All positive and only minor niggles:

Cleaners sweeping/making noise outside a little too early for our liking (8.45am).

Most Sunbeds put away for low season (they got them out for us when we asked in fairness).

If you don't have transport (car/bike) you may feel a bit isolated. We had a car and drove to the 7/11 to buy food/drink more cheaply than they sell at the hotel. A lot more cheaply! May be worth getting a taxi at the beginning of the stay or bring supplies. I'd never recommend renting a bike in Thailand. Ever!

Apart from that all perfect. They even gave me a free plate of fruit and a card when they found out it was my birthday. All in all highly recommended and A LOT cheaper than all other hotels on the same beach. They even gave us a free room upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreynolds84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Having hopped off a long flight with little sleep this resort was like heaven!

We stayed in a beach side villa with a spa! The rooms were amazing and clean, spacious and the showers were amazing!

The cocktails and beers were amazing, cheaper then normal
Prices but expensive for Thailand but what can you expect when staying in paradise. The food was also well priced, buffet breakfast was plentiful and staff wonderful!!

Left feeling so relaxed and calm! Fantastic break from the hustle and bustle of normal life with breathtakingly amazing scenery on the beach!!

Highly recommended and worth a few nights stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Austraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Firstly let me start off by saying that I am someone who obsessively searches for the perfect holiday! I look at the reviews on trip adviser both negative and positive, as well as look at websites and you tube vids.

Every person/family has different requirements, and for me in this instance it was to find a beautiful beach, a room that had a beach view, and with the amenities that would satisfy our family. We were not looking for shopping or restaurants or hustle and bustle, but just a few days of family time in a gorgeous location before heading to the more populous phuket where all of those items would be available to us.

So looking at this site and others, there were definitely some other resorts I initially leaned towards, centara grand, railay beach, sheraton etc but I have to say that I am so happy I chose this resort. So let me break it all down for you, and explain why this was my number 1..

Pros
1. The location. Wow what a lovely beach. Situated next to the more expensive Amari and Tupkaek resorts, the tup kaek sunset beach resort has a lovely quiet position, with beautiful shade on the beach to shade the kiddies from the sun and enjoy the harsh sun without burning. The water is crystal clear when the tide is in, and interesting when not (crabs on beach). I spent much of the 4 days taking photos and videos of the same view. It was lovely.
2. The remoteness. As many other people have specified, this resort is not really near anything, but that suited us perfectly. Everything we needed was on that resort, but if you require anything else it is only a small taxi ride to ao nong. This is a great resort to spend a a few days. There are no kids clubs, gyms or activities, but there is plenty of wildlife, amazing views, lovely pool, and quiet and solitude. There are hardly any people and definitely limited kids, but don't let that stop you as we had a 3 year old and 5 year old and they loved it!
3. The beachfront rooms. This resort says it is a 3* resort! but I have to say it is underselling itself. It may have been before the renovations, but now it could easily be 4. With some additions and further renovations it could even be a 5! The main lure of this hotel was these rooms which were right on the beach. Our deck was 5 metres to the sand and our kids played with bucket and shovel while we sat on the deck having a beer reading a book. We also ate on the deck at night watching the sunset.

The cons
1. I definitely think the resort has got the grand deluxe rooms wrong and would not recommend booking. The beachfront rooms are so much better! The grand deluxe rooms have crap vies and water around them that smelt like sewerage. My recommendation to them would be to take out water and replace with a garden.
2. The massage on beach was under-utilised. At double the price anywhere else I think either lower your prices or offer a more luxurious service.
3. The water pits in beach front rooms on beachfront? These are dirty and smelly and a hazard for kids. Get rid of them and add an outdoor shower I wash off sand from beach!

Additional thoughts for future enhancements to bring up star rating
1. Add beach bags in the rooms with the towels.
2. Add an oil burner in each room with various oils and ask which guests prefer. Light when the room is made over
3. Up your rates for the beachfront rooms and add in a health spa where the old restaurant was near the pool. Create a new health spa facility. Very rustic, earthy and retreat like.
Renovate the beachfront bar. It looks ok at present but with very little effort could be lovely.
4. Breakfast choices could be more extensive. Very basic but definitely adequate.

In summary, you will be very happy with this resort if it fulfils your criteria for your holiday. If you want a relaxing start or end to a greater family trip, if you are getting married and want an idyllic location or if you are a honeymooner and want time to yourself, then this is for you.

If you are a family that is looking for thrills, with older kids, if you want to party or be sociable, or need a resort with lots of facilities then this is not for you!

Thank you tup kaek I was impressed and will take away beautiful memories and given I am such a fussy and obsessive traveller, then this is high praise indeed!

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dansid33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort is located on a clean and quiet beach with sun chairs underneath big shady trees. On arrival, we received a welcome drink from the friendly and professional staff, who apologised for our driver not being at the airport and promised to reimburse us for the 800TBH taxi fare (which they did at checkout). The accommodation has been recently refurbished and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms for a 3-star resort; our deluxe garden view room also had partial views of the ocean. The food and beverages were good with a wide variety of choices on the menu - the included buffet breakfast was extensive. We enjoyed the beach and stunning view of the islands, kayaking (free), watching the sunset, relaxing in our room, a trip to Hong Island on a longtail boat (1700TBH + 200THBpp for national park fee) and a visit to the Krabi night markets (1400THB return in taxi). The location is a bit remote, but we didn't mind. We would certainly return to this resort and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others wanting a quiet, relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Try for a deluxe beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a destination if you only want to relax. Along way from town (Ao Nang about 15 minutes/Krabi town 20 minutes away by taxi). This region is more rural than Phuket but local area is developing. Taxis just outside gate can take you to sites, town & activities at a reasonable rate. Great place to just relax and take in the amazing breathtaking view or go for a swim at beach or pool. Went for great day out with a Longtail boat from beach. I just enjoyed sitting on deck watching the view. Nice to walk along beach at low tide. View from restaurant lovely, with big breakfasts of choice and other meals were good value - able to watch the locals, longtail boats and sunsets from our table. Stayed in a beachfront unit & the room was perfect for us and had everything that you need - room service available. The open shower was a great novelty (no one can look in & only a head gap). We really enjoyed what this resort had to offer us.

Room Tip: Beachfront deluxe room a must for views & good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiJones293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.5 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#3 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Nong Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
7.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 107 in Ao Nang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort

Property: Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Address: 109 Moo 3, Tup Kaek Beach | Nong Thale, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refresh your body - Relax your Mind The 80 unit tropical style which fully facilities in stand alone bungalows and building with natural beautiful landscape look out over the pristine beach, crystal clear sea and against the backdrop of the mountains which shelters the resort and provides its unique privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Hotel Nong Thale
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing