We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very impressive vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I really love our stay at Sofitel Phokeethra and would highly recommend especially for a family with young children. My daughter (2.8yrs) really enjoyed the big swimming pool and the kid's club. The room was clean and staffs were helpful. We had our dinner at an Italian restaurant in the hotel. The food was great at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deejai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are happy to read that your and your family had a pleasant stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,699 - 1,705 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2011

Highly recommend. There is nothing to complain about this place, apart the only downside, which is the distance to town (i.e. Ao Nang and Krabi Town). But that is solved by the shuttles provided by the hotel for a small fee that takes you to and fro Ao Nang, where the actions are at (i.e. shopping, food, massage). We didn't go for the massage in the hotel (LeSPA) because the ones in Ao Nang are much cheaper.

Everything else, however, is just under one roof, including the complimentary trips to Hong Island (You can get tours which can be arranged by the hotel, but definitely much more cheaper if you get them from Ao Nang). If you are looking for a retreat, and some sunburn, this is the place to be, not to mention the humongous pool. Come here, be pampered, and feel the hospitality of their ever friendly and helpful staff.

Our only regret was that we didn't spend as much time as we want in the hotel because we're busy exploring the whole of Krabi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DarenTLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We just had 9 nights at the Sofitel Krabi and overall, we really enjoyed our time there.

The Resort is nice but wasn't what we expected from a Sofitel (we have only ever stayed in Sofitel's in Australia and this wasn't up to the same standard). Also, before coming to the Sofitel Krabi, we had 5 nights at the Pullman King Power in Bangkok and it was far superior - so we were disappointed because we expected the Sofitel to be a standard above the Pullman.

However, having said that, we loved the time at the Sofitel. The pool is fantastic, staff incredibly friendly - although our 2 year old was way over the attention he was given - he was constantly being touched and watched by everyone - might have been his blue eyes, blonde hair and cheeky smile but he has been a bit freaked out by everyone wanting to touch him all the time.

The day trips to Hong Island that the Sofitel offer are awesome - we did 2 of them - so relaxing and beautiful.

Kids club is also great - we were surprised at how cheap it was for our 2 year old - only 150THB an hour for baby siting ($5) which was pretty good and the staff were amazing.

Most other things in the resort were overpriced. The internet was $70 for a week for wireless internet - having said that, there were 3 computers in the business centre with free internet access

We have an Advantage Plus Card but it's applied randomly - can't use it in some places and can at others. Also, our package gave us 20% off ALL food and beverages however ALL didn't mean ALL!! We weren't given discount on kids meals or on the food we bought for the day trips to Hong Island So that was pretty frustrating and disappointing.

As most other reviews have said, the resort is out of the way - if you want action - or interaction with other people/shops/activities - go and stay at one of the resorts in Ao Nang - the Sofitel was probably too quiet for us but we just kept going into Ao Nang to get access to other facilities. The hotel provides a shuttle service into Ao Nang (100Bhat return) which was good although most days we took a Tuk Tuk into Ao Nang and then got the shuttle back.

The Spa was also great - bit overpriced but was nice - but most of the massages we had were in Ao Nang - 300 bhat compared to 1,800 at the resort.

Our Luxury Room was nice - but wasn't what I expected from the photos on their website. I thought it had a cut in lounge room as per photos but it was just a bigger standard room. Was good though. Bed wasn't the Sofitel normal bed - was very hard and my wife (who is 30 weeks pregnant) found the bed really hard and uncomfortable.

The Gym was basic but ok. Had a nice steam room and Sauna.

Anyway, overall it was a good stay but we wouldn't stay here again - we'd want more action than here and there are better 5 star resorts around Thailand.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InkosiAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We regret that your stay did not meet up to your expectations.
We have taken good note of your comments and shall reinforce our Sofitel standards for which we are better known for.
By means of explanation only, local Thai people are extremely friendly and did not mean to upset you or your baby.
However, we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our luxury speed boat to Hong island as well as our kids club.
We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again to Krabi very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I'll start first with some of the unsung heros of a hotel this size and that's the staff. They we're incredible and couldn't do enough for us. We we're traveling with an 8 month old baby which obviously meant we got quite a bit of attention from all the staff anyway, but from what we saw they all worked very hard to make sure everyone at the hotel had a great stay.

Yes, there are a few 'issues' with the hotel that have been pointed out in other reviews, and here's my take on these:

Location - Anyone who has booked this hotel will have surely done their research and would know that it's not in the centre of a town, so I'm not sure why people then go on to complain about the location. There are nice restaurants and a few mini-markets just a short walk away along the road, the hotel also have a bus service to the nearby town of Ao Nang which has a lot of choice of bars, restaurants etc, although as many people point out this bus service is not free.

Cost of food and drink at the hotel - Ok, it is a bit steep, but again what do people expect. If you stay at a 5* hotel then you've got to expect to have to pay a bit more for things. If you go to a nice restaurant in the uk (or wherever you live) you expect to pay more than if you went to the local pub, so why do we think it should be different when on holiday? The food at the hotel restaurants is lovely so personally I think it's proportionate.

Too quiet - We we're there over Easter which isn't peak season anyway and yes it was a bit quite in the evenings but it never stopped us enjoying the nice quiet atmosphere of the hotel, and there was always plenty of free loungers around the pool, bonus ;)

Obviously everyone will have their own take on these points but we really didn't see them as major negatives at all. The only thing we have a real gripe about is the charge for the bus transfer to Ao Nang, I really can't understand why they feel they need to charge for this but not the speed boat transfer to Hong island. It just doesn't make sense to charge for one and not the other.

For us, the positives far out-weighed any gripes we had. The hotel itself is beautiful and very clean, despite it's size. It must take an army of cleaners to keep it that way. The pool and surrounding grounds are elegant and well kept.

The views out to sea with all the islands dotted around are incredible at sunset, and the complimentary speed boat to Hong Island is a must.

In our opinion though the hotel's biggest selling feature is it's staff as mentioned at the start of this review. Anyone that's been to Thailand before will know that they are some of the nicest people around, but the staff at the Sofitel are in a different league and made our holiday that extra bit special.

Sara, Andy and Alfie x

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baggy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed here in the British Easter holidays and the hotel was pretty empty most of the time. We had booked (through Virgin) interconnecting twin and double rooms for the two kids (aged 15 and 13) and us, but were offered two double rooms next to each other and they were a bit surprised my kids didn't want to sleep in the same bed! We were quickly given a twin room further away (177 and we were in 173), which the kids were happy with as the beds were enormous. We stayed two nights, went elsewhere for two nights, and even though we'd asked for interconnecting rooms next time when we got back, we were back in 173 and 177 for the rest of our stay (six nights). They were very nice rooms on the ground floor quite close to the pool but very quiet, so we didn't mind too much, but if our children had been younger it would have been really aggravating. The rooms were very clean, well serviced and had excellent air conditioning. Breakfasts were included in our deal and they were fantastic - huge choice of lovely food. One day we went back for a later coffee at the end of the breakfast setting, thinking it would be free, and were surprised to find 500 baht appearing on the bill (about £10) for two coffees. That was our main problem with this hotel - they were really keen to charge you a fortune for every drink and extra you had. When good quality meals a hundred yards down the road were 1000 baht for four of us, it was crazy to be charged 6600 for a meal in the hotel. All the hotel restaurants were almost always empty except at breakfast, so I guess a lot of other people noticed this too. You could go into Ao Nang if you booked the hotel shuttle bus at a cost of 100 baht per person one way. This was a bit restricting and it was just as simple for us to get a taxi from the road outside the hotel (400 baht set fee for four of us) and then a much cheaper (negotiable with the driver) taxi ride back later. There were lots of restaurants in Ao Nang - we especially liked one called After the Tsunami. We also had a lovely day in Krabi, again lots of good value restaurants and shops and we hired a boat trip into the Mangrove swamps for an hour, explored a brilliant cave and saw lots of iguanas. We went on the free shuttle boat to Hong Island for a lovely day (800 baht for four of us to land, although the boat was free!) with the hotel, but we arranged our own trips to Phi Phi Island and another one to Four Islands. It was 1200 baht each to do it ourselves, and the hotel was charging 4500 each. I imagine the hotel trips would be more luxurious but we were on speedboats with about 15 other people and there was plenty of water, food and attention to detail, so I would advise you to avoid the hotel trips unless money is no object. Same with the spa - it was gorgeous but they charged more for a massage than I would pay at home in Oxfordshire, whereas massages were freely available in Ao Nang and Krabi for 200 baht per hour. Lots of clean, non-dodgy places. This review sounds like I'm obsessed with saving money. Really I don't mind paying a bit over the odds but up to ten times more seems just greedy. The swimming pool was huge and really lovely, and they had a good fitness centre and a kids' club for younger children, which looked good too.

Room Tip: Lovely restaurants but much cheaper ones nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fionafreesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry to read about your unfortunate experience and room assignment. Unfortunately we do not have inter-connecting rooms in classic category which you booked for, however would like to apologise for your room allocation on your second visit. We investigated and there might have been an obvious misunderstanding. Rest assured that training for all our reception staff will be emphasized to prevent this type of incident from happening again.
We have also taken good note of your comments on the prices for our restaurants and spa. I am sure you will understand and appreciate the fact that we apply rates in line with other 5 star properties and also equivalent to the quality of service rendered.
We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again to Krabi very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We arrived tired and jaded to the warmest welcome and most beautiful surroundings. We were taken to our room which was very clean, spacious and perfectly equipped. Breakfast was excellent catering for all tastes. The pool is simply beautiful; no music, just calm and serene. Daily classes and activities helped break up the sun bathing. The spa is out of this world and definitely worth experiencing for ultimate relaxation. My only criticism is this: the food and drinks on the complex were VERY expensive. This meant that most guests chose to eat in the local restaurants (and there aren't many in walking distance), which contributed to a lack lustre and eerily quiet evening if you did choose to eat in one of the hotels restaurants. This is such a shame! Until the prices of the food and drink become realistic, I would certainly recommend a local, family run restaurant called Jos's. That aside, this is the most beautiful hotel we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tillymop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

We thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort.
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay.
Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

last year i stayed at the nearby sheraton, so after reading the reviews here-i usually find TA reviews reflect my own-i was expecting good things, perhaps my expectations were too high.
on arrival the staff were quick to take our passport and credit card, yet no welcome drink. yes, a cold towel was provided but after a long journey i would have hoped, indeed i did expect something however it never materialised, not a good begining we thought.

i stayed in a ground floor-garden-room, to be fair i did like the room although i could never get the air con to function, perhaps my stupidity however it was kept around 24c so no problem. the little decking balcony that led out to the gardens was a lovely spot, especially in the afternoon as it faced the sun. there was a little table and a couple of chairs so you could have some peace and quiet with a drink and a book should you wish.
other than that the room itself was quite good, a king sized comfortable bed and large bathroom with separate shower and bath.

much has been said about the size of the pool, well yes it is huge but perhaps unneccesarily so, it sounds like nit picking but how big does a pool have to be, especially as the layout means that despite it's size there was not really any opportunity to actually swim!
there is a small area that is sectioned off for children, that is quite handy although i felt this could have been somewhat bigger considering the overall size.

breakfast-i was disappointed here, and by the 3rd or 4th day also pretty bored. this is something that was miles better at the sheraton. the selection and variety here was just not up to scratch for this standard of hotel. the quality of the food was pretty average-to put it mildly-although the breads were very good (possibly due to this being part of a french chain). it isn't good enough to be offered a glass of real orange juice when you are seated, yet then be limited to various sickly sweet cordials masquerading as fruit juice for the rest of breakfast.
breakfast staff were extremely slow in clearing any plates, and not once in 10 days was i offered a top up of coffee, i had to ask every single day for my coffee to be replenished, not good enough!
the breakfast noodles were good, and the lady serving there was pleasant and cheerful, unlike some of the other staff cooking at the egg station.

what did i like? the gym facilities were good and totally underused. i visited the sauna on a number of occasions, this was free as was the gym. the tennis was good fun, despite the heat but although this was deemed to be free you had to pay for the hire/use? of the tennis balls which i think worked out at around £5 or so per time, however as i said this was enjoyable fun.
my 6 year old daughter visited the chldrens club for a couple of half days, there is a charge for this too but she enjoyed herself and we were happy with this.
i should say that both the staff at the health centre and also the childrens club were all friendly, helpful and cheerful.
i didn't use the hotels restaurants with the exception of the cafe where the cakes served were really delicious, and the coffee-as opposed to that at breakfast-was good, this was a pleasant little place with cheerful staff and i would recommend it for a visit.

getting around- the nearest places to eat are a fair walk, or short taxi or tuk tuk drive, and mostly outside the entrance to the sheraton. you can get a taxi just outside the sofitel and the rate to the plaza-the area by the sheraton-is 100baht each way, if you want to go into krabi town, for the night market, or else into the tesco locus (an excellent place to eat by the way) it is around 1000-1400 baht return, depending on your driver.

i shall mention one place in particular that is worth visiting for dinner-Jumba, which is in the plaza, previously mentioned. we visited this little restaurant last year and it became our venue of choice this time. the young staff here were extremely friendly and courteous, and the food was consistently good, as was the service. dinner for 3 with drinks never exceeded 1500baht and was always freshly cooked and delicious, do give them some custom they are keen and enthusiastic to improve their english and tell you about their lives, especially the young girl-sorry i forgot her name-who was so proud of her 3rd placed trophy won for her 7km race!

there are various places nearby that you can have your laundry done, this amounts to about 70 or 80 baht per kilo, we chose a place at the plaza but that was because we found it reliable last year, it certainly saves the hassle of having to bring back a load of dirty clothing and do it when back home.

so,in summing up..i felt disappointed with the sofitel but couldn't put my finger on what it was, however i think it was the fact that it seemed to be inconsistency, some of the staff were downright surly-ok not that many but enough to notice-but most were cheerful and/or friendly enough. i think that if anything it just seemed that there was a lack of leadership. i read previously about the manager being hands on etc, well i don't know whether he is still there, or perhaps was away during my visit, but we didn't hear anything from him, nor did we see anyone who seemed to be in charge.

on checking out i was disappointed, to say the least, that the charges we incurred during our stay (over £200) were not added to my privilige card, i questioned this and was told that because i had booked the stay through an online agency it was "company policy" not to do this. i stated that i didn't expect the cost for the accommodation to count but that surely our additional costs should be taken into account, yet this was greeted with a "sorry sir, it is company policy"-this was not the case at the sheraton!
so, in closing, would i stay here again, no i wouldn't given the choice between the sofitel and the sheraton there was just so much that the sheraton did so much better, and
i suppose a little thing that summed up my stay was a flyer, left in the room that invited us to a "get to know everyone" drink-this was left on the morning prior to our departure, and that sort of says it all..

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theabbotpostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelManagement, General Manager at Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We regret that your stay did not meet up to your expectations.
Welcome drinks and cold towels are served to the guest upon arrival, we apologise if you did not receive this special treatment. Please rest assured that training for all our reception staff will be emphasised to prevent this type of incident from happening again.
We have also taken good note of the points concerning breakfast, therefore I have taken the liberty to share your comments at length with our Executive Chef and Director of Food & Beverage so that we shall take necessary measures in the future.
We do regret the incident upon check out. Unfortunately, bookings through tour operators are not eligible.
We do appreciate your concerns and comments, and shall be looking forward to welcoming you again to Krabi very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,470 reviews
6.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.4 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,432 reviews
1 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range: £104 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing