We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need to know in this review :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Nong Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything you need to know in this review :)”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at Sofitel for 11 nights. Here's the rundown!

1) The room.
We had a King Room and were very happy with the size of the room. It was far from outdated. Has everything you'd expect from a 5 star. The rooms are spacious, the bed was very comfortable and firm. My partner is not normally a firm bed person, but we both slept exceptionally well. Bathroom was big with bath and separate shower. The one gripe was the water pressure was pretty average. I have no comparison to other hotels so that may just be the area. The rooms were cleaned every day, and were spotless each time. The balconies are sizeable as well.

2) The food and drink
We travel a lot, and hardly feel the need to "eat in". I do not come to asia to eat Italian! The breakfast was brilliant - it has everything you want. There are some nice beachside restaurants only a short walk from the hotel which have fantastic food. I decided to create my own chicken red curry rating. Every dinner I had included a red curry chicken amongst other meals (I'm a big eater!). I called it the Red Curry Scale. Krabi sands on the beach (near the little bridge) had the best one in my opinion. It was hard to find one spicy enough for my liking, even in Thailand, this one did the job. We also recommend Busaba Thai in Ao Nang - ridiculously good Roti bread!!
For some drinks, the pool has happy hour every day for only an hour, and quite early in the day, so it's not really one that's easily taken advantage of. Speed of service is on "thai time", be sure to get their attention! Again, there are some nice places along the beach a short drive away that are great for watching the world go by with a beer.

3) Hotel Location and Surroundings
It is a remote hotel. Anyone who books this hotel should know the location! I don't understand why people complain about this?! The beach is fine for that area, but the pool is so nice there really isn't much need. If you want a beach, take a day trip to one of the islands. The mainland beaches aren't worth worrying about (especially for an aussie!) There are local stores a short walk away for any snacks, etc you might like. And nice bars and restaurants. The grounds are immaculate and plenty of spots to lounge around for the day. The piano bar at the hotel is a nice little night spot, very chilled and we found the bar staff attentive and friendly. Drinks/food at 5 star hotels are always on the expensive side. This is the same everywhere in the world!! If you want cheaper, you do not eat and drink at the hotels. From memory I *think* a beer was around 200 baht compared to around 120-150 baht off premises.
Note also that you might have seen mention of the quarry (or whatever it is). Yes it's true that there's truck traffic that travels down the (only) road, but we didn't find this to affect our experience at all. They are all travelling at slow speeds. Getting down to that detail in this review is splitting hairs really...

4) Staff and Service
Everyone is very friendly, and greet you whenever you walk by. As above, waiting and bar staff are on thai time. So set your expectation lower. Anyone who's spent time in latin america or perhaps spain would be used to this! If you want something, get their attention and ask. Don't wait to be served, and you will be fine. Everyone is there to serve you, they do not give attitude, they will smile and try to help.

5) Travel and day trips
We rarely used the hotel service. As you can tell by now, we like to explore, and like to "go local" A one way taxi from hotel to Ao Nang is 550 baht. Return is 900. Works better if you have a group of course. Heading out the front is a tad cheaper. We made friends with one of the drivers and used him regularly at a discounted rate. "Mr To" was his name. We also used him to arrange a private boat to Hong island and also a day trip to Phi Phi straight from the beach outside! This is important to keep in mind - most tours run out of Ao Nang, it's worth checking on this if you don't want to be ferried with everyone else into/out of ao nang before heading off (to phi phi, tiger cave, etc etc). FYI - We can recommend the kayaking in the national park caves. We did a half day, that's all you need. For the more adventurous, you can hire scooters from down the road too! (We didn't do this, but I would have loved to!)

In summary, the hotel is great, but it is a bit remote. That's what's great about it. You can escape and just have your resort holiday in the expansive grounds and a meal/drink in quiet little bars and restaraunts. It's very relaxing place. If you want to be in a more lively area, then stay in Ao Nang. It's a nice, chilled town, and far different from the harrassment of Phuket. It comes down to personal choice. If you don't want the hassle of extra transitting, look elsewhere. If you prefer want the quiet, relaxed remoteness with a brilliant pool, then this place ticks all the boxes.

Hope that's helped. We spent a lot of time researching where to stay in the area, and weren't disappointed. We went into ao nang a few times, but loved the smaller local vibe of the bars and restarants by the hotel!

Room Tip: We were in 321 if that helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tonka52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,436
    665
    256
    67
    47
See reviews for
847
1,019
88
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Dining: The actual food is excellent. Pest pastries I've ever tasted! Service is very poor for a 'luxury hotel.' For example one evening I went to enquire about the 'theme' for the evenings buffet. I waited 5 minutes to be told it was American theme. We returned for our meal and again waited 5 minutes to be seated, the buffet was actually Mexican food. The cost of our meal was 699 baht each for an adult. We received no cold water at the commencement of our meal. After 5 mins of flagging down wait staff we received a bottle of water and were charged 80 baht for this.

Shuttle Bus Experience: The hotel charges 199 baht per person each way to Ao Nang. You have to book which I did. I was 1/2 hr early for the pick up and waited 1/2 hour after the pick up time and no shuttle bus I then got a tuk tuk back myself. I did complain to hotel staff who were very apologetic, we did receive a fruit basket - but their is no knife in the room to cut the fruit which is an oversight. We were also offered a free return trip which we couldn't use as we were checking out. I was also told I would not be charged for the service (and rightfully so as the service wasn't provided). Lo and behold when we checked out it was charged on our bill! Luckily we checked the bill for it!

Location: I understand there is nothing Sofitel can do about the location but surely they were aware when they scouted locations. The hotel is located across the road from the beach. The road is a tiny highway which is frequented every couple of minutes by huge trucks. There is no pleasant beach sounds or holiday noises as the only noise is the constant rumbling of trucks soaring past. The lack of a footpath on this skinny road which has constant trucks careening past is dare I say downright dangerous!!!

Beach: The beach across the trucking highway from the hotel is pretty ordinary there are much nicer beaches in Ao Nang.

Hotel: The hotel looks impressive from afar with a colonial elegance that is glorious. However The TV in our room was a small box TV which was ridiculous in a 'luxury' hotel. The skirting board had come away from the wall and was being held back by the furniture in the room. I did like the fact that the rooms had fans and that their was constantly a room card inserted so that the room was kept cool and you could charge your devices whilst you were away.

Service: The kids club was great a really super facility and good staff. However on our last day prior to check up we did have to chase up the batik painting my daughter did as staff didn't send it to our room.

Golf: My husband thoroughly enjoyed the golf and was immensely impressed with Paul's assistance on the golf course.

And of course last but not least the pool is absolutely AWESOME!

I would have given four stars but the distance from Ao Nang, the shuttle bus service, the food service and most of all the big trucking highway out the front really only make this a 3 star stay at best.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

the hotel staff was very welcoming.one of our best holiday.we had our wedding anni there was the hotel had done a extra special bit.very comfortable stay and one of the best properties in krabi.the thai restaurant was very good.

Room Tip: room should be on the 2nd floor and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adititrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

hotel is kind of old in my standard
too far away from town
not much to do
no tour really you can order from hotel, except the phi phi
you may as well go to downtown for that

not so grand as a hotel either

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scheungyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here November 19th for 8 nights. On arrival after the 2.5 hour drive from Phuket we were pleasantly greeted originally here for 11 nights we were informed that would we move to Phuket for the last 3 nights, thus we were there for 8 nights.
We were showed to our room a superior pool room which was lovely opening out onto the private pool. Room was of a excellent size and well equipped.
Breakfast was good with a really varied choice something for everyone, buffet evening meal again was very good with a good choice and the restaurant was well managed. The hotel bar is really good with super service .
We had a cooking lesson in the hotel cooking school and chef Pak was excellent. this was the day of our wedding anniversary so we ate the meal we cooked as our anniversary meal, wonderful experience. The staff at the hotel offered a really personal experience and were very attentive - a credit to the Sofitel. The meals at all the restaurants were really good with good service but the white lotus went the extra mile thank you Pak and Mrs Pak!!
We used the shuttle bus to Ao Nong which was really good but I would pass on the trip to krabi town. Took a trip to James Bond Island what a great trip excellent value for money .
The only disappointment was that we agreed to move hotels due to the wedding without any disagreements but the hotel did not recognise our flexibility which was a shame. A complimentary spa treatment would have been appreciated as a thank you for our co-operation.
But overall great hotel wonderful spot as we just wanted a chill out time, super staff, very clean very good food and yes we would return.
We would recommend anyone wanting a chill out time to go , choose all inclusive with a superior pool room heavenly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miniwash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

A nice resort style property our deluxe room was good with a well sized balcony and the not too distant sea view with pool in the foreground was fine. The hotel is a little far from anywhere and with the transportation costs fixed artificially high (by Thai standards) I would strongly recommend a hire car to explore the area at leisure. The traffic is not crazy/busy like in some parts of Thailand so it is not a big problem. Service in the hotel was sharp and willing a special mention to the staff in the Explorer bar and the hard working Mr Du the music man and karaoke king! The staff generally were very good as you tend to expect in Thailand. The pool area is great.
There is a problem with this resort however which may well be ongoing. They seem to cater heavily for large Indian weddings and it does tend to swamp the resort and impinge on the plain old couples. I would not want to stay here again as a footnote to someone else's grand wedding, I do not generally holiday in wedding reception centres! That issue aside I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Deluxe top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel team i very welcoming, and the rooms are exactly what that you would expect from a Sofitel, BUT - Don't be mistaken by the pictures, the hotel is not on the beach, there is a road between the hotel and the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank eranarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nong Thale
2.1 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,370 reviews
6.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.3 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Krabi Ao Nang Beach
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,388 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Klong Muang Beach | Nong Thalay, Nong Thale, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Nong Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nong Thale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Family Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Spa Hotel in Nong Thale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nong Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort is renowned for its timeless elegance, luxurious rooms and suites, gourmet restaurants, outstanding facilities, and gracious Thai hospitality. Set in a lush tropical garden and just a few steps from the beach and Andaman Sea, the resort features a 7,000 sq.M. Lagoon-style pool, the largest swimming pool in Thailand. Guests can enjoy four restaurants serving Thai and international cuisines, a fully equipped fitness centre complete with steam room and sauna, So SPA with L'Occitane offering an extensive menu of rejuvenating spa treatments, and a Kid's Club. There is also an exclusive 9-hole golf course, and conference and meeting facilities and a unique 1,000 sq.M. Air-conditioned marquee for up to 950 persons. Designed to enhance the stay of every guest, our signature Leisure Butler service includes a VIP check-in and a personal assistant to arrange an unforgettable marriage proposal or special romantic moment, private dinner parties and celebrations, personalised excursions to nearby islands, and much more. Escape to Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort for a romantic getaway, a family holiday, a magnifique wedding, meeting or event in tropical paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf Hotel Nong Thale
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Golf And Spa Resort
Sofitel Krabi Phokeethra Golf & Spa Resort Thailand
Sofitel Phokeethra Krabi Hotel
Krabi Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing